Skip to content

Hour Four (Eva)

April 18, 2009

Read-a-ThonPages Read This Hour: 131
Books Read This Hour: Witch Child by Celia Rees
Total Pages Read: 351
Books Completed: 1 (Shakespeare Wrote For Money by Nick Hornby)
Mini-Challenges Participated In: 4
Time Spent Reading: 45
Time Spent Blogging: 15

chexmixWitch Child is awesome! It’s a really fast read too, which is great. :) Mary, our young protagonist, has to leave England and go to the New World with a group of Puritans, after her grandmother is killed for witchcraft. Once there, she has to try to stay on the good side of the preacher, while secretly going into the woods and making friends with Native Americans. I love how Rees portrays witchcraft as something that is real; wise women who are not only very knowledgeable about herbs and stuff but a little something extra. It definitely glamorises pre-Christian believes, especially compared to Puritanism, which doesn’t bother me in the slightest (even though I know it’s probably not realistic!). It’s not quite as good as Pirates!, but definitely worth reading.

As far as cheerleading goes, I love getting to visit all of these new blogs, and I’m so excited by how many people are participating!!! And thanks for all of the comments on my posts; right now, I’m not answering them so that I can use my computer time to visit other people, but I read and love them all. :D

I did Bart’s really fun ‘guess the cover’ mini-challenge this hour. I was awful at it, but I loved looking at the collage: he’s a great photographer! Thanks Bart! I also visited the readers of the hour, which is somethign Dewey used to do that I love.

Picture this time is of the Chex Mix I made last night! It’s definitely my favourite snack (even when it’s missing the pretzels because my mom forgot to buy them even though they were on the list…lol-j/k), and I’ve been munching away as I visit people’s blogs! :D (If you want to make your own, here’s the original recipe!)

13 Comments leave one →
  1. April 18, 2009 9:17 am

    WOW you’ve read heaps this last hour. You’ve got your grove going. Me? I’ve read a few pages. Been blogging, must get back to reading, afraid I will go to sleep though, it’s 2.16am!

  2. April 18, 2009 9:18 am

    Yap and I’m feeling sleepy right now, the book is so dull. Waaaa I need a cold water to wake me up.

  3. April 18, 2009 9:33 am

    Hiya just to say you and your snow woman won my mini challenge :) E-mail me with your address to collect your prize (package containing The Juliet Club, Changeling, Becoming Jane and a handmade bookmark).

  4. April 18, 2009 9:38 am

    Mmm, that chex mix looks yummy!

  5. April 18, 2009 9:39 am

    Wow, Eva! You are tearing through your books! Must be the good snacks. =)

    Have a fun read-a-thon!

  6. April 18, 2009 9:40 am

    Seems like there’s a *ton* of people participating in this Read-a-thon – I’m trying to cheerlead and feeling like my small commenting capacity is severely feeble in the face of all the people there are to visit! But that’s totally a good thing, and it’s fun seeing lots of new “faces.” I’ve got Witch Child on my Mt. TBR, so it’s good to hear that it’s a winner! :)

  7. April 18, 2009 9:45 am

    Congrats on finishing your first book! A lot of people are finishing books now! I still haven’t though :P I’m enjoying cheerleading too. I’ve never done it before. I’ve never left this many comments before

  8. April 18, 2009 9:51 am

    Go Eva! It’s my first time to check in the computer since the read-a-thon started, and overwhelmed by all the wonderful progress everyone’s made! Great job and more happy reading to you and your mom!

  9. April 18, 2009 9:51 am

    Awesome AWESOME! now tell your mother same.

  10. April 18, 2009 9:52 am

    Yum! That chex mix looks great. I’m getting hungry–will fix myself a quick lunch and read while I eat!

  11. April 18, 2009 10:04 am

    Chex Mix is my fave snack for times like this, too. Here’s the recipe I use – the Texas way!
    http://holdtheonions.picavulpes.net/2008/09/12/tex-mix/

    Somer

  12. April 18, 2009 10:05 am

    Mmmm..chex mix! I thought you didn’t have any this year because of the snow? Congrats on finishing your book! Keep em coming!

  13. April 18, 2009 10:47 am

    Hey Eva

    You’re doing great! It amazes me that you can manage to read so much and do all that cheerleading and blogging. Keep it up girlfriend!

    I have just had a can of coke at quarter to four in the morning and I think the buzz will spur me on for another round of reading!

Thank you for commenting! For a long while, my health precluded me replying to everyone. Yet I missed the conversation, so I'm now making an effort to reply again. It might take a few days though, and there will be times when I simply can't. Regardless, I always read and value what you say.

