Skip to content

Ten Reasons Why You Should Do Dewey’s Read-a-thon

April 14, 2009

(Don’t know what the read-a-thon is? Go to the official site to find out!)

As a reader…

    readathon

  1. I’ve read over 2,000 pages both times I participated. Think of the huge dent in your TBR pile twenty-four hours of straight reading will achieve!
  2. You’ll get a ton of supportive comments (during the second one, I got 181) that will make you feel loved.
  3. You’ll have a great excuse for not doing the chores/running errands/taking a shower(!)/interacting with anyone.
  4. There is a high likelihood you will win a free book or two. Who doesn’t want free books?!
  5. You won’t feel left out on Sunday, when you see how much fun everyone had! :p

As a cheerleader…

  1. You’ll probably make new friends!
  2. You can go to sleep, wake up, and become amused by the sleep-deprived ramblings of the readers.
  3. You’ll get to read about a huge variety of books, and live reactions of readers to them.
  4. You’ll be eligible for prize drawings too!
  5. You will inspire undying gratitude and love in the readers with your comments.
31 Comments leave one →
  1. April 14, 2009 2:42 pm

    Wow, you’ve read over 2,000 pages each time? That’s impressive. I need to step it up this week! Although I know I can’t read the whole 24 hours. For one thing, being pregnant = being tired and someone’s throwing me a baby shower on Sunday, so I probably should be able to stay awake during it. Still participating though! Maybe I should go home and make my book pile…

  2. April 14, 2009 2:55 pm

    I’ll have to remember to shower before it starts! Since I’m in the UK I’ll have Saturday morning to make sure I’m all set, but I doubt I’ll be awake by late morning Sunday …

  3. April 14, 2009 3:09 pm

    WOW — I was already excited, but now I can hardly wait!

    I do not expect to read anywhere near 2000 pages (nor have anywhere near 181 comments!!) — but I hope to make a dent in the pile and make a few new friends along the way.

  4. April 14, 2009 3:10 pm

    WOW I stayed up only half the time last time and read 417 pages!

  5. April 14, 2009 3:22 pm

    I’m pretty sure I won’t be able to do all 24 hours (with 3 little kids), plus we’re driving out of town Sunday before lunch. BUT: I’ll try my hardest and I’m super excited. And, you pointed out the most wonderful reasons, although I’m going to have to take that shower before we head out to see our friends, lol. :D

  6. April 14, 2009 3:38 pm

    I’m so disappointed that I can’t participate in this year’s read-a-thon. I’ll be kayaking all day Saturday & then have a housewarming party to go to. But…I signed up as a cheerleader!! My spare time I will be online shouting out my praises!

  7. Vasilly permalink
    April 14, 2009 3:57 pm

    You read over 2000 pages? I’m going to try to hit that number this weekend.

  8. April 14, 2009 4:05 pm

    My first time participating this year! SO excited!

  9. April 14, 2009 4:14 pm

    It sounds like fun, but our son is talking about coming home for the weekend, so I won’t be participating.

  10. April 14, 2009 4:15 pm

    You had me at “Read-a-Thon.” lol.

    I’ve been wanting to do this ever since it was started and this year I finally get to participate. *singing* “I’m sooo excited! And I just can’t hide it!”

  11. April 14, 2009 4:19 pm

    I don’t think I’ll be getting anywhere near 2000 pages but I should be able to put a dent in some of the stuff I have coming up though. It’s going to be fun to think of nothing but reading for a day.

  12. April 14, 2009 4:26 pm

    I loved this post Eva :) I can’t wait to not shower/not sleep/not eat healthy! Yeah! lol

  13. April 14, 2009 4:32 pm

    Great list! I’m pretty excited this year even though I won’t be able to stay up the whole time. Have fun!

  14. April 14, 2009 4:33 pm

    I would love to take part in the reading part but unfortunetly can’t as its my son’s birthday party with the family on Saturday. Hopefully the next one. Good luck to all that are taking part.

  15. April 14, 2009 4:40 pm

    Great list of reasons! I need no convincing, although #3 the excuse for not doing housework is fantastic :P Last read-a-thon I managed to read 1800 but I’m hoping to make it to 2000 pages this time. Good Luck and have a great time!!

  16. April 14, 2009 5:19 pm

    Reason #11 – your blog post stats will go through the roof! My biggest day ever was during the Read-A-Thon.

  17. April 14, 2009 5:38 pm

    Argh! Once again I am working on the Read-a-thon weekend. Next year I have to plan better and make sure I switch my weekend in plenty of time. I’ll be popping in on all the participants enviously, though!

  18. April 14, 2009 6:00 pm

    Well, some of us don’t come close to 2,000 pages (yeah, that may just be me who doesn’t), but I don’t care…I met you during the very first read-a-thon, and I can think of NO BETTER REASON to be grateful for the read-a-thon!!!

  19. April 14, 2009 6:12 pm

    Wow, that is a lot of reading! I’m really looking forward to the challenge!

  20. Katie permalink
    April 14, 2009 6:17 pm

    I really wanted to participate this year, but I’m going to Las Vegas for a girls reunion! BUT – since I’ll be spending over 10 hours on airplanes, I figure I’ll get in some good reading time. Best of luck to you!

  21. April 14, 2009 6:22 pm

    2000 pages! Holy caloley. I’m trying to figure out how I can manage 1000 pages. :) Looking forward to reading with you on Saturday!

  22. April 14, 2009 7:42 pm

    This will be my first read-a-thon, I can’t WAIT.

  23. April 14, 2009 9:36 pm

    I have been dying to participate in these read-a-thons but something always comes up. This time I am playing at an Adult Band Festival that lasts for most of the day. Maybe next time I’ll be more lucky with the scheduling.

  24. April 14, 2009 9:50 pm

    I’m all about getting “undying gratitude and love in the readers with your comments” as a cheerleader :)

  25. April 14, 2009 9:53 pm

    Great reasons, all, Eva!

  26. April 14, 2009 10:52 pm

    Devourer, being pregnant is definitely a good excuse for not staying up 24 hours! I’m glad you’re participating anyway though. :D I think the reason I get so many pages read is that I purposely choose easy, fast books to use during the read-a-thon. :)

    Meghan, I’ll be dragging myself out of bed at 6AM on Saturday! lol So I might or might not shower, depending on if I can bring myself to get out of bed half an hour earlier. ;)

    Molly, you’ll be surprised by all of the comments you’ll get!! I’m so excited that you’re participating. :D

    Sarah, I’m a genetically fast reader-I get it from my mom. She can read a 900 page book in two or three days, in between working, housecleaning, etc.

    Claire, well I’m excited you’ll be participating some of the time! :)

    Christina, aww-I’m sorry you can’t be a reader. But I think cheerleaders are the most important part anyway!

    Vasilly, yep-I chose easy books.

    Natasha, I love how much it’s grown! I’m sure you’ll have a ton of fun. :D

    BermudaOnion, too bad-maybe you can pop in for an hour or so. :)

    J.S., now I have that song running through my head, lol! (Good thing I like it.) So excited you’re doing it this year. :D

    Darlene, that definitely makes it fun. :D

    Chris, hehe! I have to eat semi-healthily, because last time I pigged out on salt & vinegar chips and it HURT lol.

    Shelley, glad you’re participating!

    Cindy, awww-I hope you can do it in October.

    Joanne, we should make a little 2K club, since it seems to be a goal for several people to encourage ourselves. :D

    Care, I forgot that one but you’re so right! My biggest day ever was during the read-a-thon too. :D

    Melanie, awww-next time! I look forward to you popping in. :)

    Debi, you’re so sweet!!! That first read-a-thon rocked; it was so small and cozy. Not that I don’t like seeing a much bigger one now, but stil…

    Kim, me too!

    Katie, at least you’ll get airplane time! And a girls’ reunion sounds awesome too. :D

    Trish, pick easy books! ;)

    Lisa, yay!

    Alyce, aww-that festival sounds like fun though!

    Kim, you’ll totally get it. :D

    Carl, thanks!

  27. April 15, 2009 1:23 am

    I’m gonna cheerlead. I don’t have time to do the whole readathon properly as I’d like, but I’ll cheer you all on with sprightly comments.

  28. April 15, 2009 2:53 am

    I so want to do this but if it starts on Saturday morning means it will be Saturday night here and would end Sunday night. Which would be really bad coz I have to go to work on Monday :(

    I might join in for half the time though, haven’t decided yet.

    Happy belated birthday Eva :)

  29. April 15, 2009 4:25 pm

    I’m so looking forward to doing this for the first time! Working on my book list right now!

  30. April 17, 2009 12:24 am

    I’m so disappointed that I won’t be able to participate AGAIN :( I won’t even be around to cheer you all on, so good luck in advance! I’ll read all about it when I get back..

Trackbacks

  1. Dewey’s Read-a-Thon! « A Striped Armchair

Thank you for commenting! For a long while, my health precluded me replying to everyone. Yet I missed the conversation, so I'm now making an effort to reply again. It might take a few days though, and there will be times when I simply can't. Regardless, I always read and value what you say.