Skip to content

Library Loot: April 15-21, 2009 (and Eva’s first foray in vlogging!)

April 15, 2009

library-lootLibrary Loot is a weekly event co-hosted by myself and Alessandra that encourages bloggers to share the books they’ve checked out from the library. If you’d like to participate, just write up your post-feel free to steal the button-and link it using the Mr. Linky any time during the week. And of course check out what other participants are getting from their libraries!

This week, I’ve decided to try out a new way of talking about my own library loot: vlogging! Please let me know what you think about the video: should I make this weekly? what should I change/keep the same? etc. I think vlogging is awesome and that more book bloggers should try it out. This site talks you through it, if you’re a complete newbie like me. :) (And for those of you with slow internet/who are at work/have no interest in seeing me ramble for eight-and-a-half-minutes/watched the video and want to check out a book I discussed, I’ve done my usual Library Loot style below the video.)

And the normal Library Loot format…
rowone1
Ysabel by Guy Gavriel Kay (OUAT Challenge), Elementals by A.S. Byatt (OUAT Challenge), Ain’t Myth-Behaving by Katie MacAlister (OUAT Challenge)

rowtwo1
The Drunkard’s Walk: How Randomness Rules Our Lives by Leonard Mlodinow (Science Book Challenge), Portrait in Sepia by Isabel Allende (Latin American Challenge), Franny and Zooey by J.D. Salinger (Classics Challenge)

rowthree
On Photography by Susan Sontag (My Year of Reading Dangerously Challenge), Javatrekker: Dispatches from the World of Fair Trade Coffee by Dean Cycon (World Citizen Challenge), My Name is Red by Orhan Pamuk (Art History Challenge)

rowfour
This Earth of Mankind by Promoedya Ananta Toer (Orbis Terrarum Challenge), The Sweet Far Thing by Libba Bray (read-a-thon), Human Cargo: a Journey Among Refugees by Caroline Moorehead (World Citizen Challenge)

rowfive
Shakespeare Wrote for Money by Nick Hornby (read-a-thon), Witch Child by Celia Rees (read-a-thon), The Book of Photography by Anne Hoy (read-a-thon)

rowsix
Death and Judgment by Donna Leon (read-a-thon), The Likeness by Tana French (read-a-thon), 20 Something Manifesto by Christine Hassler (read-a-thon)

rowseven
I Am a Pencil: a Teacher, His Kids, and Their World of Stories by Sam Swope (just sounded interesting), Tibet, Tibet: a Personal History of a Lost Land by Patrick French (part of my travelogue phase), Sugarcane Academy: How a New Orleans Teacher and His Storm-Struck Students Created a School to Remember by Michael Tisserand (just sounded interesting)

roweight
Boutique Knits by Laura Irwin (for the awesome cloche pattern)

Want to play along?

65 Comments leave one →
  1. April 15, 2009 2:50 am

    Although Ican’t see the video, I think you should do it, it would be so much fun to hear you talk about them

    Great books by the way.

  2. April 15, 2009 3:21 am

    What a collection of GREAT books! Do you mind me asking when you find the time to read them all ?!

    I love the vlogs that are showing up this week! It allows me to get to know the face and personality behind the words written on the blog. Thanks so much for sharing.

  3. April 15, 2009 3:59 am

    OMGOSH…you are even more adorable in action!!! I love your voice! In fact, I’m insanely jealous…it’s sweet, slightly sassy, fun, yet still totally sophisticated! Hey, your voice is just like you!

    Okay, okay, I should totally get around to the books here, but I’m just so excited about seeing “live”! I want, want, want so very, very, very much JavaTrekker…please, please, please, library have it! Actually looks like you got loads of fabulous books this week, but JavaTrekker jumped right out at me.

    Oooooh…just a few more days…squeeeeeee!

  4. April 15, 2009 4:21 am

    Fantastic haul! I’m also really excited about the Read-a-thon and have my own little pile waiting, both library and my own books. Can’t wait!

  5. April 15, 2009 4:29 am

    Absolutely adorable! You are a PRO. (and thx for the how-to link. I’ll think about it…)

  6. April 15, 2009 4:30 am

    That was awesome, love the vlog! You were fantastic, so completely natural, you seemed right at home in front of the camera.

    So many books! So many different types – fun. Drunkards Walk and I Am A Pencil look really interesting. I’m getting my read-a-thon pile organized so I will keep them in mind. I already have the 3 Hornby books and the first Libba Bray on that pile (lol) :)

  7. April 15, 2009 4:51 am

    Boy, are you ambitious! Happy reading!

  8. April 15, 2009 5:00 am

    Great job! That’s a lot of books. Good luck with RAT. I’ll be doing it too.

  9. April 15, 2009 5:09 am

    I love how everyone has been doing vlogs! It’s so nice to see you and hear your voice. I wish I were brave enough to do it myself, lol.

  10. April 15, 2009 6:01 am

    You found some great books and I can’t wait to see what you end up reading for the readathon. I have to work so I can’t be a reader but I think I will be a cheerleader and try to visit everyone and wish them well. Enjoy your finds :)

  11. April 15, 2009 6:21 am

    Wow! That is quite a loot! And all of it looks good too. Especially “Shakespeare Wrote for Money,” which is in my own tentative Read-a-Thon pile.

    I can’t watch the vlog yet, but I love the idea which seems to have been popping up of late. I’m not sure if I’m brave enough to do this but I’ll sure be thinking about it!

  12. April 15, 2009 6:29 am

    Great vlog! I enjoyed it!

  13. April 15, 2009 6:35 am

    You are totally adorable!

    I generally liked The Drunkard’s Walk, but I was an econ-math major and took a couple of statistic courses so I had a few “been there, done that” moments. I hope you enjoy it!

  14. April 15, 2009 6:42 am

    Delightful vlog! You really do sound the way you write (or is it the other way ’round?). Which is a good thing. Fascinating selection of books also. I’ll be very curious to hear your take on My Name is Red, as I began it a while back, but put it down & haven’t gotten back to it…And you have Shakespeare Wrote for Money (jealous growling). And asked the library to get it. Brilliant idea (gunshot to head)!!

    Best of luck with all of these. Oh, to have a “quarter-life” crisis again…

  15. April 15, 2009 6:58 am

    …and I thought I had a good haul this week ;-)
    Great books!

  16. April 15, 2009 7:34 am

    What a great haul! Eager to hear your thoughts on a number of these books!

  17. April 15, 2009 8:03 am

    Love the vlog! Javatrekker looks good! I hope you review that one.

  18. April 15, 2009 8:26 am

    Cool vlog, its strange having read so much of your stuff, now I have a voice and face to link to it. I certainly won’t be vlogging, I hate having even pictures taken of me.

    Great books, your 24 hr pile looks so much more ambitious than mine, I’ve stuck to all short books. I read Witch Child last week and really enjoyed it.

  19. lena permalink
    April 15, 2009 9:14 am

    22 books!? Goodness gracious! I love the vlog thing as well. I feel like that should be the new required format for library loot. It’s so much more personable that way!

    Happy reading Eva.

  20. April 15, 2009 10:08 am

    Eva, you’re so stinking cute! Plus, I love your semi-eclectic tastes in all sorts of great books. I’ve actually had Orhan Pamuk on my must read list for awhile. I’ll have to keep my eyes open for a review!

  21. April 15, 2009 10:15 am

    I couldn’t watch the video, (I’m at work right now and lack speakers), but you got some great stuff! FRANNY AND ZOOEY is amazing, and YSABEL is also pretty durned good.

  22. April 15, 2009 10:32 am

    Love the vlog. I’d say something else, but I can’t think of anything else to add. It was fun to watch. :)

  23. April 15, 2009 11:10 am

    I LOVED your vlog Eva :D It was fantastic and surprisingly, you’re exactly what I imagined! (See Debi’s description of you ;) Although, I’ve now learned that I’m pronouncing your name wrong too :/ This is the week of learning how bad of a linguist I am! lol…I’ve been saying Eeeeva, but I really like the way that it’s actually pronounced!

    Fantastic loot this week..you once again added a bunch to my wishlist…and yep, New Orleans is a cool place ;)

  24. April 15, 2009 11:18 am

    I enjoyed the video very much. I loved Franny and Zooey and Sontag’s Photography, I’m sure you will too. I’ve always meant to read Byatt and if you think highly of her she must be good. I recently acquired a copy of My Name is Red but haven’t read it yet. I look forward to your thoughts on it. I enjoyed his Snow very much. You’re like me when I was young, I read a wider variety of books than I do now. Have fun with all those books.

  25. April 15, 2009 12:10 pm

    It was great to be able to put a face and voice to your blog! It sounds like such a great haul, I’m sure you’ll have fun reading them.

  26. fleurfisher permalink
    April 15, 2009 12:36 pm

    What a great haul. And maybe you ‘ll wear the cloche in a future vlog?! Its lovely to see somebody so far away enthuse about books.

  27. April 15, 2009 1:59 pm

    Fun! I loved hearing your voice and seeing you in motion. Hopefully we’ll see you again on another vlog!

  28. April 15, 2009 2:37 pm

    Eva, you’re a natural on cam! You remind me of Reese Witherspoon. :D You should do this every Library Loot.

    I have the Orhan Pamuk and Nick Hornby on my wishlist. I’ve also read something by Pramoedya Ananta Toer before, and I would tell you how it’s pronounced except I know I will never vlog, ever, ha ha.

  29. April 15, 2009 2:55 pm

    I had been pronouncing “Eva” right because that’s exactly how you’d say it in Portuguese, lol. But Chris, linguistics is really not about pronouncing things in a standard way or not! That’s a common misconception about it, and I just can’t miss a chance to help dispel it. I’m leaving now, though… sorry Eva :P

  30. April 15, 2009 3:24 pm

    My God–she can speak! She can read! I don’t call you either Ayva or Eeva in my mind; for some reason, you’re always Evil-ah to me.

    You’re so cute–if I were younger (and a dude), I’d be heading your way in a nanosecond!

  31. April 15, 2009 4:33 pm

    Girl you totally rock. And seriously. I would love for you to blog a week in the life of Eva so we can see just how you get through all of the reading you do! :P

    Oooh and even though I’m been mispronouncing your name, I love your way of saying it so much better.

  32. April 15, 2009 6:47 pm

    Oh, crap! I’ve been mispronouncing your name in my mind! Sorry.

    LOVED your vlog.

    *Standing Ovation* *Whistling and stamping feet*

    If you can hold off till the readathon to read the Hornby book, you’re made of stronger and sterner stuff than I.

  33. April 15, 2009 6:58 pm

    Eva – I Love the vlog and what a great bunch of books you’ve got! Can’t wait to hear what you have to say about Elementals, My Name Is Red, On Photography and all the others.

  34. April 15, 2009 7:28 pm

    Eva! I love the vlog! You and Chris have made my week with your new vlogs and increased my TBR pile exponentially! Fun to see you and hear your voice. You’re a natural in front of the camera! Happy reading!

  35. April 15, 2009 7:57 pm

    You are just as adorable as I imagined! :)

  36. April 15, 2009 8:34 pm

    Violet, thanks!

    Molly, I actually just changed my ‘About’ page to answer this! lol Essentially, I’m just getting over a really bad illness, so I’m just starting to look for work. Before now, I’ve been unemployed and homebound, so that’s a lot of spare hours to fill! :)

    Debi, awwwwww: you’re just the swetest ever. :D I’ll read JavaTrekker right away for you and let you know how it is!

    Meghan, yay for read-a-thoners!

    Care, thanks so much! You should TOTALLY vlog as well.

    Joanne, thank you! I think it comes from being a debater in high school; I’m used to public speaking. ;) And I’m glad I’m not the only one who thinks Drunkard’s Walk sounds interesting!

    BermudaOnion, yep, definitely ambitious. :D

    Chris, thanks!

    Nymeth, you should DO ONE. I mean, you can do as many takes as you need-I think that one is like the 4th for me! And it doesn’t have to be really long…pppppllllleeeeeeeeaaaasssssseeeee… ;)

    Samantha, I’m glad you can at least cheerlead: I think they’re the most important part!

    J.S., it’s awesome that we both have Hornby in our pile. :D And you should definitely vlog too!

    Rhapsody, thanks!

    Lily, thank you! I took a few econ classes in college, and one statistics class, but with a horrible professor, lol. So I’m hoping that givs me enough background for it to make sense without boring me!

    DS, thanks so much! I’m a little nervous about My Name is Red because I didn’t like my first Pamuk book (The Black Book) that much. And yeah-I love that I can ask my library to buy books for me! hehe

    JoAnn, I definitely splurged. :D

    JenClair, thanks!

    Tara, I definitely will. :D

    Katrina, I hope it’s a good strange, lol! And I think the web cam is a lot kinder to me than still pictures. I’m glad you enjoyed Witch Child! I have a few shorter books already lying around for the read-a-thon; I like to have a ton of variety.

    Lena, I’d love it if everyone did their Library Loot via vlog! :)

    Becky, thanks!! I’m definitely an eclectic reader!

    Memory, oddly enough, those are the two books I’ve already started. :D I’m loving them both!

    Melissa, thanks! That’s more than enough for me. :D

    Chris, awww: thanks Chris! I’m glad that my blogging tone is similar to my actual tone. :D Once I have a job, I’m planning a trip to New Orleans, and you better believe I’ll be harassing you for advice. :p As for my name, I’m named after a great-grandmother, and that’s how she pronounced it, so that’s why it goes that way! But there are like three different pronunciation possibilities, so definitely don’t feel bad!

    Sandra, you’re the first blogger I know who’s read Sontag’s On Photography: I’m glad to hear a good review! I definitely think highl of Byatt: she just meshes perfectly with who I am as a reader. :D

    Olduvai, thanks!

    Fleurfisher, great idea! I’ll definitely try to get the right size knitting needles so I can start on it. :D

    Kristen, as long as y’all enjoyed it, I’ll definitely be vlogging again. I thought it was so much fun!

    Claire, thanks so much for the compliments! :D Can you type out a pronunciation for Pramoedya Ananta Toer? That’d be awesome!

    Nymeth, I’ll about tearing down prescriptive linguists, so feel free to hop on your soapbox whenever you want! ;) My great grandmother who I’m named for was an immigrant (from Poland), so I’m sure that has to do with the pronunciation.

    Chartroose, you make me laugh so hard!! ‘Evil-ah’!! And shockingly enough, Colorado dudes don’t seem to agree with you as to my cuteness…or they’re just cowards… :p

    Christina, thanks! But a life in the week of Eva would be pretty boring: reading, sleeping, cooking, trips to the library…lol. All veyr dull!

    Bybee, don’t worry about my name pronunciation! I’m just named after a great grandmother. :) I’m so glad you liked the vlog! And I’m just trying really hard not to remember that I have the Hornby right now, so that I can ‘rediscover’ it on Saturday!

    Gavin, thanks!

    Robin, thank you!

    Amy, you’re so sweet! :)

  37. Sarah permalink
    April 16, 2009 4:22 am

    I enjoyed your vlog Eva, and think it would be fun if you made it a regular feature. I’m too introverted to follow suit though.

    I’m a fellow fan of A. S Byatt and really enjoyed Elementals, so hope you do to.

    I thought The Likeness was good but its set up is unlikely, so maybe you should read it before sleep-deprivation crankiness kicks in during the read-a-thon.

    I’m looking forward to the third Hornby volume as well, I just have to find a copy.

  38. April 16, 2009 5:23 am

    Oh no, I’ve been pronouncing your name “wrong” as well. :( Man, this makes me wish I had a cool name that people could pronounce in a variety of ways…but I’m just stuck with a boring one. Oh well.

  39. April 16, 2009 6:14 am

    I read Witch Child a few years ago and really enjoyed it. Glad to see some Nick Hornby in there too! Have fun on the readathon!

  40. April 16, 2009 7:33 am

    You can count me in the slow internet camp, unfortunately – I think it would be fun to see and hear my fellow bloggers! I nearly borrowed Elementals yesterday but went for The Djinn in the Nightingale’s Eye instead – I felt in need of fairy tales.

    (And Debi – a name with a variety of pronunciations is a pain in the butt. Trust me. Mine has thirty-six.)

  41. April 16, 2009 8:18 am

    Ok, I’m going back to watch the vlog as soon as I post here and with Mr. Linky!

  42. April 16, 2009 8:32 am

    Great vlog! I’m really curious about the Hornby. I hope you’ll review it. Good luck with the readathon.

  43. April 16, 2009 9:39 am

    I’m at work, so I couldn’t watch the video, but I think it’s a great idea.

  44. April 16, 2009 10:23 am

    Very fun! You are even cuter than in your pics. 22 books! I’m surprised you didn’t need a forklift to get out of the library. I was thrilled to see (and hear) Once Upon a Time books there and am excited for you to be able to read Shakespeare Wrote For Money because it is very good. Look forward to checking in on you during the 24 hour read-a-thon!

  45. Vasilly permalink
    April 16, 2009 12:40 pm

    What a great vlog! I’m glad you’re just as bad as I am when it comes to checking out so many books. Happy reading!

  46. April 16, 2009 4:47 pm

    Love the vlog! I love your conversational style, and it is much more engaging than simply reading the titles. I definitely think you should continue. I may just try it myself. You’ve got me thinking also that as a librarian, this could be a good way to do short little book talks and post on our library website. Hmmm…thanks for the idea.

  47. April 16, 2009 8:48 pm

    Eva, I don’t really exactly know how Pramoedya Ananta Toer is pronounced the correct way. However, their words have the same feel as many of our dialects, so I’m basing it on that.. how I would naturally pronounce it in my native tongue as opposed to my English, as our dialects originated partly from Indo-Malay. So I’m guessing while not exactly correct it might be close. But if there’s an Indonesian reading this, correct me if I’m wrong, and forgive me. I hope I don’t butcher his name!

    prah-mow (as in mow your lawn)-ED-yah
    uh-NAHN-tuh
    tow-AIR

  48. April 17, 2009 10:20 am

    It’s totally cool to hear your voice :) And I was also pronouncing your name wrong! Good to know the correct way. You look so comfortable in front of the camera too! I’m not sure I would ever do a vlog (for one thing, I don’t have a webcam) – I sound like I’m about 12 in recordings :-/

  49. April 17, 2009 10:20 am

    Love the Vlog!! You’ve made me want to try it myself :)

    Great loot this week – enjoy the read-a-thon!

  50. April 17, 2009 1:54 pm

    Love the vlogging! It’s so nice to be able to see and hear you! You’ve got a lovely list of books this week. I’ve posted mine here:

    http://msbookish.com/an-embarrassment-of-library-riches/

  51. April 17, 2009 1:54 pm

    Oh my gosh – you’re SO CUTE!!

  52. April 17, 2009 2:01 pm

    Very nicely done! I would trip over my tongue if I tried to make a vlog, but I’m happy to watch any others you make! Have fun with your read-a-thon. :)

  53. scoutlee permalink
    April 18, 2009 5:01 am

    Here is my loot:

    http://memybookandthecouch.blogspot.com/2009/04/library-loot.html

  54. April 18, 2009 1:00 pm

    My post is up and I’m a very happy girl with my selections this week.

  55. April 19, 2009 1:59 am

    Ain’t Myth-Behaving is a good book! Enjoy your loot :)

    Here’s my pitiful pick-up this week

  56. April 20, 2009 8:55 pm

    I posted my library loot for this past week…buried at the bottom of my current review! :)

  57. April 21, 2009 4:03 pm

    Sarah, now that I’ve read The Likeness I totally agree that the set up is unlikely, but oddly enough that didn’t bother me too much.

    Debi, lol: it’s much better, imo, to have a non-variety name. At least people have never told you that you’re pronouncing your own name wrong!!

    Mariel, thanks!

    CoversGirl, I feel your pain…slow internet is evil. How does your name have thirty0six pronunciations?!

    Bookfan, thanks! Short review of the Hornby: it rocks. :D

    Carol, thanks!

    Carl, aww: you’re sweet. And forklift would have come in handy. ;)

    Vasilly, thanks!

    Lisa, thank you. :D

    Claire, thanks for letting me know!

    Sarah, I sound 12 too; I just embrace it. ;)

    Becca, I can’t wait to see yours!

    Belle, thanks!

    Natasha, you’re so sweet!

    Danielle, this was like the fourth or fifth take. It helps the fluency a lot! ;)

    Scout Lee, thanks for participating!

    Susan, I’m jealous of your selections this week. :D

    LadyTink, I’m glad you enjoyed Ain’t Myth-Behaving!

    Becky, great: thanks for participating!

  58. August 28, 2009 3:23 pm

    great first vlob about library books…Wow, that’s a lot. Happy reading.

Trackbacks

  1. Library Loot: April 15 - April 21, 2009 « Related Reading
  2. Library Loot « Fleur Fisher reads
  3. Library Loot - April 15-21st « reading comes from writing
  4. Library Loot 4/16 « Carol’s Notebook
  5. Library Loot 4/16 | botanist
  6. A Striped Armchair Turns 3! « A Striped Armchair
  7. One Thousand! « A Striped Armchair

Thank you for commenting! For a long while, my health precluded me replying to everyone. Yet I missed the conversation, so I'm now making an effort to reply again. It might take a few days though, and there will be times when I simply can't. Regardless, I always read and value what you say.

