Skip to content

Library loot: March 18-24, 2009

March 18, 2009

library-lootLibrary Loot is a weekly event co-hosted by myself and Alessandra that encourages bloggers to share the books they’ve checked out from the library. If you’d like to participate, just write up your post-feel free to steal the button-and link it using the Mr. Linky any time during the week. And of course check out what other participants are getting from their libraries! Here’s my loot, and I think this might be a new record for books checked out in one week!! (That’s what happens when I can’t visit the library for awhile.)

rowone
The Bad Girl by Mario Vargas Llosa (for the Latin American Challenge), The Book of Night Women by Marlon James (for the Caribbean Challenge), Dark Banquet: Blood and the Curious Lives of Blood Feeding Creatures by Bill Schutt (for the Science Book Challenge)

rowtwo
The Noodle Maker by Ma Jin (for the Orbis Terrarum Challenge), Dreams and Shadows: the Future of the Middle East by Robin Wright (for the World Citizen Challenge), Perfect Girls, Starving Daughters: the Frighteningly New Normalcy of Hating Your Body by Courtney Martin (part of my Women’s History Month extravaganza)

rowthree
Shakespeare: the World as Stage by Bill Bryson (for the Getting to Know You Challenge), You’re Wearing That? Understanding Mothers and Daughters in Conversation by Deborah Tannen (part of my Women’s History Month extravaganza), Secondhand Chic: Finding Fabulous Fashion at Consignment, Vintage, and Thrift Shops by Christa Weil (when I was organising my wardrobe and closet, I was doing some internet research, and came across this book)

rowfour
Pathways to Bliss: Mythology and Personal Transformation by Joseph Campbell (for the Dewey Decimal Challenge), You’ve Got to Read This: Contemporary American Writers Introduce Stories that Held Them in Awe, ed. by Ron Hansen (for the 100 Shots of Short Challenge), Alligators, Old Mink and New Money: One Woman’s Adventures in Vintage Clothing by Alison and Melissa Houtte (the other clothes book I came across during my research)

rowfive
A Mercy by Toni Morrison (I finally got to the head of my library’s queue!), Women by Annie Leibovitz and Susan Sontag (part of my Women’s History Month extravaganza), Tales From Outer Suburbia by Shaun Tan (I loved his other book, The Arrival)

rowsix
Freak Show by James St. James (for the Dewey’s Books Challenge), Out to Work: A History of Wage-Earning Women in the United States by Alice Kessler-Harris (part of my Women’s History Month extravaganza), Well-Behaved Women Seldom Make History by Laurel Thatcher Ulrich (part of my Women’s History Month extravaganza)

rowseven
Fasting Girls: the History of Anorexia Nervosa by Joan Jacobs Brumberg (part of my Women’s History Month extravaganza), Fables: Legends in Exile by Bill Willingham and Lan Medina (for the Graphic Novels Challenge), I’ll Be Watching You by Charles de Lint (the next one up in my reading of the Newford series)

roweight
Girl Culture by Lauren Greenfield (part of my Women’s History Month extravaganza), American Girls About Town (part of my Women’s History Month extravaganza)

Want to play along?

31 Comments leave one →
  1. March 18, 2009 4:19 am

    You are quite the optimist to check out that many books! The Noodle Maker caught my eye.

  2. March 18, 2009 4:26 am

    Oh my. Why is it that I fear I’m going to have to purchase a new little wish list notebook by the time you review all of these? In fact, I’m not even going to wait for your review…I’m adding Dark Banquet to my list right now.

  3. March 18, 2009 4:29 am

    WOW>>> now this is “real loot”. Many of the titles are new to me, but I do have Mercy (audio version) from the library right now. ENJOY!

  4. March 18, 2009 4:56 am

    Are there any books left? That is a lot of loot!

  5. March 18, 2009 5:45 am

    I love your books. I’m going to have to add some to my list!!

  6. March 18, 2009 5:46 am

    There isn’t a cue for A Mercy at my library — it’s still on the “no reserve allowed” shelf and you can only check it out for one week. I have nearly bought it. But then, I still haven’t finished the books I have at home already! I guess I’ll just wait til I can reserve it. I look forward to your thoughts!

    I also love the idea of a short story anthology of people’s favorite short stories. Great way to read a variety of great stories!

  7. March 18, 2009 6:19 am

    There are some good books in your haul. I hope your library has a lengthy checkout period and allows for renewals. :)

  8. March 18, 2009 7:15 am

    You found some great reads and I agree with Debi…I’m going to end up adding half of these to my TBR list after reading your reviews. Gotta love it though :) Enjoy!!!

  9. Vasilly permalink
    March 18, 2009 7:27 am

    Great loot, Eva! I read the Ulrich book last year. I received Freak Show last week in the mail and Women is one of my favorite books. I hope you enjoy it. Happy reading.

  10. March 18, 2009 7:28 am

    Impressive haul! Hope you like A Mercy & can’t wait to read your review of that, and all of the others; there are a few there that I really ought to be reading…have fun!!

  11. March 18, 2009 7:36 am

    wow, that is a lot of great books! Happy Reading, i can’t wait for the reviews

  12. March 18, 2009 7:42 am

    Wow, you got lots of loot! I’m going to try to make a run to the library later today if I have time.

  13. March 18, 2009 8:01 am

    Love your loot this week! I especially have been wanting to read A Mercy and The Book of Night Women, also wanting to try out a Mario Vargas Llosa. And while that 20+ books might take me around 5 months to finish, I’m sure you’ll have all these done in less than a month, lol!

  14. March 18, 2009 8:03 am

    I read “Dreams and Shadows” and will be reviewing it this month for the World Citizen Challenge! Very readable book.

  15. March 18, 2009 8:22 am

    Wow! That’s a lot of loot!

  16. March 18, 2009 8:36 am

    Wow, that is quite the list. I love the cover on The Noodle Maker.

  17. March 18, 2009 8:44 am

    Wow, Eva, you ARE quite the optimist!

    Definitely pull Perfect Girls, Starving Daughters to the front of the list… I read it just a month or so ago, and it was fantastic. I can’t stop recommending it. Of course I may be a little biased because I love Courtney Martin but still… great book. :)

  18. March 18, 2009 9:17 am

    Lots of commenters have said it already, but I have to add another WOW! What a brilliant and completely diverse haul you have there. I’m sure you’ll have a good time reading!

  19. March 18, 2009 1:13 pm

    That’s a lot of books! I, too, know what it is like, though, to get more books than you can probably read. There are just so many good books out there waiting to be read!

  20. March 18, 2009 2:02 pm

    That’s a lot of great-looking books. I want to read Dark Banquet now.

  21. March 18, 2009 7:08 pm

    Good grief! Hope you had a large bag with you! And that it was reinforced.

  22. March 19, 2009 7:54 am

    Bermuda Onion, I’ve already read four of them! ;) The Noodle Maker’s cover is great.

    Debi, I knew you’d be all about Dark Banquet!! :D

    Diane, thanks!

    Marg, lol-I wouldn’t let myself browse in the stacks, because there were so many more great ones. ;)

    Staci, that’s my favourite thing about Library Loot-adding more books to my wishlist from everyone else’s piles!

    Rebecca, wow-that’s crazy. We have a ‘rapid reads’ section, where you have to read the book faster, but I think it’s mainly mysteries and stuff.

    Lisa, three weeks and up to three renewals. ;)

    Samantha, hehe-that’s what book bloggers are for!

    Vasilly, thanks! It’s so difficult to know where to begin, because the whole pile just looks delicious. :D

    DS, I’m so much better at reading than reviewing! I’ll try though. :)

    Erika, thanks!

    Alyce, library runs are the best!

    Claire, I’m curious about Llosa too-we’ll see if he lives up to the hype. ;)

    Valerie, I’m glad you enjoyed it!

    JenClair, sometimes I go a little crazy with the ‘hold’ button on my library’s website. hehe

    Darlene, isn’t it gorgeous?

    Heather, ok-I’ll put it as my next nonfic!

    Olduvai, thanks!

    Rebecca, I actually have way too much free time, so I usually get all of my library books read…unless I start them and realise I don’t want to finish them

    Jeane, I thought Dark Banquet would jump out at you. ;)

    Softdrink, lol-I got these on three seperate trips over the week. Otherwise, I might have died! I have noticed a rip in one of my normal canvas library bags, though, so I’ve been breaking out the heavy-duty woven one instead. ;)

  23. Carol permalink
    March 19, 2009 10:12 am

    Looks like a great stack.

  24. tuulenhaiven permalink
    March 19, 2009 12:20 pm

    I’ll be curious to see what you think about The Bad Girl. I want to read another book by that author, but haven’t decided which one. I also want to get my hands on the Bill Bryson book – he’s always amusing!

  25. March 20, 2009 6:21 pm

    I’ve noticed Marg’s contributions for a few weeks now, so decided to join in after I collected 15 books from the library this morning

  26. fleurfisher permalink
    March 21, 2009 10:58 am

    Another great haul and what a lovely array of covers! Lots that I want to investigate further …

Trackbacks

  1. Library Loot: March 18-24, 2009 « Related Reading
  2. Library Loot: February 18-24, 2009 « Related Reading
  3. Library Loot: February 11-17, 2009 « Related Reading
  4. Library Loot 3/19 « Carol’s Notebook
  5. Library Loot « Fleur Fisher reads

Thank you for commenting! For a long while, my health precluded me replying to everyone. Yet I missed the conversation, so I'm now making an effort to reply again. It might take a few days though, and there will be times when I simply can't. Regardless, I always read and value what you say.