Skip to content

Women’s History Month Reading

March 18, 2009

womenshistorySo, Lu came up with a fun Women’s History mini-challenge while I was in blogging purgatory. When I got back, I was all excited about it, and then I completely forgot to write a post. So, even though Women’s History Month is already half over, I’m still going to go with it.

My reads for Women’s History Month fall into two categories; books for other challenges that I chose to read this month because they were written by/about women and books I chose specifically for Women’s History month (you might have noticed that theme in my Library Loot post!). I have no clue how many of these I’ll get done: so far, I’ve read eight and am in the middle of two more. If I get through the whole list, I’ll end up reading twenty-one…I doubt that’ll all be in March, though! Oh, and if anyone can recommend a good book on the women’s suffrage movement, please do. I watched an interesting documentary on Susan B. Anthony and Elizabeth Cady Stanton, but I’d like to read more about it!

Books From Other Challenges By/About Women

  • I Feel Bad About My Neck by Nora Ephron an essay collection that definitely centers around womanhood.
  • Loot by Sharon Waxman: nonfiction by a woman journalist.
  • Zenzele by J. Nozipo Maraire: a novel by a woman written as letters from a mother to a daughter.
  • To the Lighthouse by Virginia Woolf: can you get more Women’s History than a Woolf novel? ;)
  • Finding George Orwell in Burma by Emma Larkin: nonfiction by another woman journalist.
  • Queen of Scots: the True Life of Mary Stuart by John Guy: written by a man, but a huge biography of a queen.
  • Dreams and Shadows: the Future of the Middle East by Robin Wright: nonfiction by yet another woman journalist.
  • The Tale of Mursaki by Liza Dalby: a novel written as a memoir by the women who wrote The Tale of the Genji
  • Lud-in-the-Mist by Hope Lirrlees: a fantasy novel by a woman.

Books Specifically for Women’s History Month

  • Jackie Ormes: the First African American Woman Cartoonist by Nancy Goldstein: a biography of an early woman cartoonist.
  • You’re Wearing That?: Understanding Mothers and Daughters in Conversation by Deborah Tannen: a book by a woman sociolinguist about how mothers and adult daughters communicate.
  • Freedom’s Daughters: The Unsung Heroines of the Civil Rights Movement from 1830 to 1970 by Lynn Olson: a history book about African American women activists.
  • Perfect Girls, Starving Daughters: the Frighteningly New Normalcy of Hating Your Body by Courtney Martin: a book by a woman about body image issues among younger women.
  • Secondhand Chic: Finding Fabulous Fashion at Consignment, Vintage, and Thrift Shops by Christa Weil: I thought it might be nice to have a lighter note in the nonfiction, and I love shopping! :D
  • Alligators, Old Mink and New Money: One Woman’s Adventures in Vintage Clothing by Alison and Melissa Houtte: see what I wrote for Second Chic. Obviously, men can shop too, and I don’t think all women shop, but for me and my friends and mom and sister, shopping is very much a social, bonding ritual.
  • A Mercy by Toni Morrison: the latest novel by one of America’s preeminent women authors.
  • Women by Annie Leibovitz and Susan Sontag: a photography book by America’s most famous woman photographer on women.
  • Out to Work: A History of Wage-Earning Women in the United States by Alice Kessler-Harris: a history book that I’m not sure I’ll enjoy or not, but I figured I’d check it out!
  • Well-Behaved Women Seldom Make History by Laurel Thatcher Ulrich: another history book that I definitely think I’ll enjoy. My roomie in college had a t-shirt with that quote, and I always coveted it. ;)
  • Fasting Girls: the History of Anorexia Nervosa by Joan Jacobs Brumberg: I read Brumber’s The Body Project in 2007 and loved it, so I really wanted to read her other book…even if it’s about a really depressing topic.
  • Girl Culture by Lauren Greenfield: another photography book. I’m a little wary about this one (apparently, the editorial slant is very negative) but curious all the same.
  • American Girls About Town: I almost never read chick lit, but I thought a short story anthology would be an interesting way to explore the genre. Darcie reviewed one of the stories and it piqued my interest!
7 Comments leave one →
  1. March 18, 2009 12:13 pm

    I don’t have a book to suggest, but I have an even better idea. Come visit! We can hit Susan B. Anthony’s house, and then head down the road a bit and hit Elizabeth Cady Stanton’s house and the Seneca Falls Museum. Sound good?

  2. abbie13 permalink
    March 18, 2009 1:57 pm

    Great list, thanks for posting it!

  3. March 18, 2009 10:42 pm

    You really do read quite a lot in a short period of time! I’m jealous ;) Thought we had a book around here on Susan B. Anthony, but it must have been something the college student had from the library…sorry, truly. And the only way to “get more Women’s History than a Woolf novel “is to read some Woolf essays; they are beyond wonderful…Meanwhile, I will be hittin’ up this list, for sure!

  4. March 19, 2009 1:52 am

    I’ve not been by here before, but I’ve been in blogging purgatory myself for quite some time so good to see I’m not the only one making a comeback! This is an impressive list will be great to see how many you can get through…I just can’t read quickly enough to get through even close to that many in a month!

  5. March 19, 2009 7:56 am

    Debi, ohhh-if I get to come back to NY any time soon, I’m totally taking you up on that offer!

    Abbie, thanks!

    DS, if all comes of having a chronic illness that won’t behave. ;) That’s true about Woolf’s essays-I’m planning on reading her London ones next month.

    Claire, well thanks for visiting! Since you’re new here, you probably don’t know that I’m on medical leave from grad school, and I live with my parents. So I don’t have a ton of responsibilities (I cook, that’s about it), and I’m often too sick to leave the house. SO, lots of reading time.

  6. March 19, 2009 9:30 am

    Wow, you are doing great with your challenge. Unfortunately I don’t have a book to recommend on the suffragette movement. I’m just taking note of some of these titles :)

  7. March 19, 2009 12:58 pm

    Good…and I promise next time I won’t be such a socially inept wimp!!! ;)

Thank you for commenting! For a long while, my health precluded me replying to everyone. Yet I missed the conversation, so I'm now making an effort to reply again. It might take a few days though, and there will be times when I simply can't. Regardless, I always read and value what you say.

