Skip to content

Library Loot: July 1-7, 2009

July 1, 2009

library-lootLibrary Loot is a weekly event co-hosted by myself and Marg that encourages bloggers to share the books they’ve checked out from the library. If you’d like to participate, just write up your post-feel free to steal the button-and link it using the Mr. Linky any time during the week. And of course check out what other participants are getting from their libraries!

Want to share your loot? Marg is hosting Mr. Linky this week.

I promise I’ll add a vlog tomorrow. My car’s been in the shop (boo!), and my parents are on vacation so I have no other car to borrow, which means I haven’t been able to get to the library and grab the books waiting for me. It’d be kind of weird to do a vlog with no books, but the shop has promised it’ll be ready either later today or tomorrow, so I’ll be zipping over to the library and then happily vlogging about all of the great books. I even painted my fingernails in preparation (actually, vlogging has helped to break the horrible habit of biting my nails, which I pick up whenever I move and am therefore stressed), hehe. Until then, enjoy the short version via covers and links. As you can tell, I’ve once again gone into a library binge phase. I do have a defense, but I’ll save it for the video!

rowone
The Lightning Thief by Rick Riordan (originally for the OUAT challenge, now just for fun!), Black Juice by Margo Lanagan (because Tender Morsels was incredible), Tree: a Life Story by David Suzuki and Wayne Grady (for the Science Challenge)

rowtwo
Alphabet Juice by Roy Blount Jr. (for fun!), The New Moon’s Arms by Nalo Hopkinson (the Carribbean Challenge), The Future of Freedom by Fareed Zakaria (the World Citizen Challenge)

rowthree
Pemba’s Song by Marilyn Nelson and Tonya Hegamin (it’s a ghost story!), You Can’t Get There From Here by Gayle Forman (love travelogues, especially by women), Flygirl by Sherri Smith (because I really enjoyed Lucy the Giant)

rowfour
Scott Pilgrim Vol. One by Bryan Lee O’Malley (because of Chris), Betsy and the Great World by Maud Hart Lovelace (because of Kate’s shared excerpt), Ray in Reverse by Daniel Wallace (because I love him)

rowfive
In the Footsteps of Mr. Kurtz by Michela Wrong (the World Citizen Challenge), Freddie & Me by Mike Dawson (Dewey’s Books Challenge), The Picture of Dorian Gray by Oscar Wilde (GLBT challenge)

rowsix
Cranford by Elizabeth Gaskell (Classics Challenge), A Guide to Elegance by Genevieve Dariaux (for fun!), Agnes Grey by Anne Bronte (Classics Challenge)

rowseven
The House You Pass on the Way by Jacqueline Woodson (GLBT Challenge), Ella Minnow Pea by Mark Dunn (Southern Challenge)

28 Comments leave one →
  1. July 1, 2009 3:47 pm

    Great loot. As always I look forward to your reviews.

  2. July 1, 2009 3:50 pm

    Ella Minnow Pea is one of my favorite books of this year. It’s excellent.

  3. July 1, 2009 4:12 pm

    Oh I really liked Agnes Grey. I hope you’ll enjoy it and your other loot books. I would love to read Cranford. Did you see the PBS production? I missed it but will have to see about finding a copy.

  4. July 1, 2009 4:32 pm

    Wow, that’s quite the load of books. Enjoy.

  5. July 1, 2009 5:12 pm

    You have a great pile. I keep telling myself that I’m going to read Flygirl soon. Ella Minnow Pea and Alphabet Juice are on my TBR list. The cover of Tree looks great. Happy reading!

  6. July 1, 2009 5:17 pm

    Wow that is such a great set of books!!! I really want to read Black Juice…it looks fantastic. And I have The Lightning Thief here on my bookshelves…just have to read it. And um, YAAAAAAAAAAAAY for Scott Pilgrim :D

  7. July 1, 2009 5:26 pm

    Tree: A Life Story looks rather good, not something you would think would make a good book. I’ll be interested in reading your review.

    Alphabet Juice – I must search that out, I love books on language. Although I’m not to sure about the rejection of the idea that words and meanings are arbitrary. I don’t think he fully grasps the concept.

    You Can’t Get There from Here – Looks good. Have you read any Bruce Chatwin. I read on your about page that you studied in Russia so you might enjoy Susan Richard’s Lost and Found in Russia: Encounters in a Deep Heartland.

    Scot Pilgrim is a quick, fun read.

    Yes, Cranford was on the BBC or PBS in America. I didn’t watch it my mother, I think, enjoyed it.

  8. July 1, 2009 6:00 pm

    I hope you enjoy The Lightning Thief! I liked that series very much. I’m looking forward to seeing the movie of the first book when it comes out.

  9. July 1, 2009 6:57 pm

    Whew, you are quite the optimist!

  10. July 1, 2009 7:17 pm

    Big “BOO” on car problems. That was the story of my college life.

    But, I can’t wait until I hear your vlog. There’s some titles that look *so* good!!

  11. July 1, 2009 7:25 pm

    I didn’t realize how much I enjoy your vlog until it’s not here! I too think those titles look very interesting so I’m interested to hear about them. I’ve heard lots about the Lightening Thief. Seems like everyone is reading it now! And I too enjoyed Ella Minnow Pea, though it wasn’t my all time favorite.

  12. July 1, 2009 7:46 pm

    I’m loving seeing all these science-book challenge titles you mention recently (I’ll get the recent one posted soon, promise). They all look so fascinating. I’m a fan of David Suzuki from TV but I haven’t read anything of his yet.

    We did recently see the BBC “Cranford”. It was really quite nicely done. Made me think of reading the book!

  13. July 1, 2009 8:13 pm

    All those covers look so great! I look forward to your review of Cranford. I have only read North & South and Wives & Daughters by her. Both the BBC adaptations are excellent. Especially, especially, especially North & South with Richard Armitage…

  14. July 1, 2009 11:34 pm

    What a haul! Tree should be very interesting. I loved Dorian Gray, and have a copy of Ella Minnow Pea I should get to. I’m really interested in In the Footsteps of Mr. Kurtz, I’m assuming it takes place in the Congo. I just can’t imagine anyone writing anything like Conrad. I’d be interested in what you think of it. Enjoy your loot. My post is up.

  15. July 2, 2009 1:41 am

    Oh, this is so cool! I wish I checked books out at the library more, but unfortunately I’m obsessed with owning my own books.

  16. July 2, 2009 1:53 am

    *sigh*, I envy your library finds Eva. You always get great books.

  17. July 2, 2009 2:43 am

    I forgot all about Ray in Reverse! I love Daniel Wallace and now I have to beg my librarian to order this book. I have owned a copy of Ella Minnow Pea for a long time and haven’t read it yet :( I bet if I had gotten it from the library it would have been read by now, LOL.

  18. July 2, 2009 5:00 am

    Linda, thanks!

    Amanda, now I’m extra excited about it. :)

    Iliana, I loved Tenant of Wildfell Hall and declared Anne my favourite Bronte. So I hope to love Agnes Grey! I purposely chose Cranford because I haven’t seen the BBC production; I saw North and South and Wives and Daughters, so I wanted my first Gaskell book to be one I don’t know the plot of! If you have a Netflix account, I’m almost positive you can watch Cranford instantly.

    Darlene, I will! :)

    Vasilly, isn’t it a great cover?!

    Chris, lol!

    Uenohama, thanks for the suggestion on Russia! I’ll look it up. :) I love trees, so that’s why I’m expected to really enjoy Tree: a Life Story. I don’t know what kind of linguistic arguments are in Alphabet Juice yet.

    Charley, it’s super-popular at my library!!

    BermudaOnion, lol: I guess so!

    Christina, apparently it just needed a 30,000 mile tune up. So why does that cost so much money?! lol

    Rebecca, aww: thanks! I originally pick The Lightning Thief because I couldn’t find anything for the mythology category for OUAT. But it’s taken me months to get to the top of the waiting list!

    Jeff, I’m reading at least one a month, even though they don’t always get a full review. :D I need to review Dark Banquet; I loved it, but then I took a long blog break.

    Aarti, I’m totally with you on North and South and Armitage. :D I loved Wives & Daughters too, especially the ending (I know the book doesn’t have a full ending).

    Sandra, it seems like everyone has loved Dorian Gray, which is why I decided to get it right away! The Congo book is nonfiction, so that’s why she references Conrad. :)

    Sam, if I had the money, I’m sure I’d buy more books!

    Violet, I know; it makes me not want to move because my library’s so good!!

    Icedream, lol: I’m the same way!! My poor books sit on the shelves, while the library books get all my attnetion.

  19. July 2, 2009 10:25 am

    I always wonder how you carry all these books out of the library!

  20. July 2, 2009 1:01 pm

    That is an amazing pile of loot — hope you enjoy as much as you can! :)

  21. Vipula permalink
    July 3, 2009 5:13 am

    All these books look fascinating !! I loved Cranford and the Picture of Dorian Gray – I hope you enjoy them

  22. July 3, 2009 5:12 pm

    The two that stand out for me in your loot are definitely Fly Girls and Cranford

  23. July 3, 2009 6:09 pm

    You got some really good library books. I actually have a Gayle Forman book borrowed to.

    Here is my link to my library Loot:
    http://cindysloveofbooks.blogspot.com/2009/07/library-loot-2-july-3rd.html

  24. July 3, 2009 11:24 pm

    The Picture of Dorian Gray is one of my all-time favorites!! I also just checked out Black Juice. I’m reading Tender Morsals right now. Not really loving it like I thought I would. And that’s making me sad.

  25. July 6, 2009 9:13 am

    Holy yikes, that’s a lot of books! The only one I’ve read is Ella Minnow Pea, which is fantastic and fun and a fast read.

    I’m curious to see your review of Alphabet Juice, which I hear mentioned all the time on “Wait Wait Don’t Tell Me”, but which I’ve not heard much else about.

  26. July 6, 2009 2:48 pm

    Tara, I hobble, lol. I’m sure I look ridiculous, carrying half my body weight in books!

    Melissa, thanks!

    Vipula, I can’t wait for the classics. :D

    Marg, doesn’t Flygirl have the coolest cover?!

    Cindy, I heart my library!

    Stephanie, I’ve started Black Juice, and I’m really enjoying it. It took me 200 pages to start adoring Tender Morsels, fyi.

    Fyrefly, I think I’ll pick up Ella Minnow Pea next!

  27. July 15, 2010 1:14 am

    The most informative site I have visited yet, astripedarmchair.wordpress.com you rock!!

    folks with scrambled minds think like this:
    Completely I share your opinion. I like your idea. I suggest to take out for the general discussion.

Trackbacks

  1. Library Loot: July 8-14, 2009 « A Striped Armchair

Thank you for commenting! For a long while, my health precluded me replying to everyone. Yet I missed the conversation, so I'm now making an effort to reply again. It might take a few days though, and there will be times when I simply can't. Regardless, I always read and value what you say.