Skip to content

Mid-Year Review

July 1, 2009

It’s time for a mid-year review! :) Rather than go through all of my statistics, I decided to just look at the goals I made on January 1st and see how I’m doing.

Translated Works
Goal: >13
Read so far: 19
I’ve already matched this one!

Classics
Goal: 25
Read so far: 8
I’m definitely behind on this one; I should have read 12 or 13 by now. But I just got several classics from the library, so I hope to catch up soon.

Short Story Anthologies
Goal: read anthologies instead of collections
Read so far: 2 (halfway through 3)
You know what, I think this resolution backfired. I’ve simply been reading less short stories this year. I guess I prefer collections to anthologies.

International Reading
Goal: more geographic balance
Read so far: I decided to do this one visually! I made no less than four maps: one for countries visited via fiction, one for countries visited via nonfiction, one for author nationalities I’ve read this year, and one that combines everything. I think I’m definitely balanced! However, I am quite embarassed that I haven’t read any fiction or nonfiction set in/about Canada. At least I’ve read some Canadian authors though!

First, I thought I’d post the ‘everything’ map: it includes 62 countries visited via fiction or nonfiction.
everythingmap

Getting into specifics, here’s fiction, which has brought me to 33 countries.
fictionmap

And here’s nonfiction, which has brought me to 48 countries (this is higher because of travelogues and all of the World Citizen books).
nonfictionmap

And finally, here’s the 33 different nationalities representing the authors I’ve read this year.
authormap

All maps were made at InteractiveMaps.org.

(For you Library Looters, Marg is hosting the Mr. Linky this week! My loot should be up later today; my vlog is delayed because of car trouble.)

24 Comments leave one →
  1. July 1, 2009 6:30 am

    I love the maps! I need to do something like that sometime, even just for myself!

    Lezlie

  2. July 1, 2009 6:34 am

    Those maps are so cool. I didn’t think about making goals for my reading except to read a certain number of books. I suppose that’s what I chose my challenges for. I don’t read as much nonfiction, though.

  3. July 1, 2009 6:38 am

    Wow, those maps are so cool! I don’t read nearly as much as you do, but I wonder how my reading would look. Not very diverse, I’m afraid.

  4. July 1, 2009 6:44 am

    I am doing ten challenges this year. The hardest has been World Citizen. I can’t seem to find a good book on economics and on politics and on world issues. Difficult.

  5. July 1, 2009 6:55 am

    Fantastic job! Keep up all the great reading.

  6. tuulenhaiven permalink
    July 1, 2009 7:14 am

    I’ve decided to start keeping track of where the author of a book is from, and then try to read something by an author from every country. I love your maps – nice work!

  7. July 1, 2009 7:47 am

    The reading maps are totally cool! How did you do that?!!!

  8. July 1, 2009 7:48 am

    I love those maps! It makes it so easy to see where your books are coming from. I think I might try to do something similar.

  9. July 1, 2009 7:56 am

    I take back the question – the instructions at Interactive Maps are pretty straight-forward. Still, kudos to you for putting it to this use! It’s great!

  10. stacybuckeye permalink
    July 1, 2009 9:27 am

    Your maps are very cool! It really does help to see it like that.

  11. July 1, 2009 9:48 am

    You’re making great progress on your goals, and I love the visual aspect using the maps.

  12. July 1, 2009 10:08 am

    Your map analysis is excellent; good work this year.

  13. July 1, 2009 11:33 am

    I love the inclusion of the maps! I’m hoping to read more international works (or at least track the nationality of the authors I read) next year.

  14. July 1, 2009 11:43 am

    I am just drooling all over your beautiful maps!!! I wish I could figure out how do something cool like that, though as I mentioned earlier, I’d probably just be depressed at how little of the world I managed to cover. Quick question…how did you deal with a book like Javatrekker, where each chapter focused on a different country? Did you count each country, or just not count the book at all?

  15. July 1, 2009 11:57 am

    My book club has a map where we mark the locations of books that we read… it’s fun to see where your concentrations are!

  16. July 1, 2009 12:12 pm

    so I feel dumb…what’s the difference between a short story anthology and a collection?

  17. July 1, 2009 12:53 pm

    Wow! Great goals! I don’t think I’ve ever set goals except to read a certain book or author. I’m more of a free-wheeling reader, I guess.

  18. July 1, 2009 3:25 pm

    Nice maps! I’m very impressed with your progress this year!

  19. July 1, 2009 4:05 pm

    Those maps are cool. You’re so well read.

  20. July 1, 2009 4:10 pm

    How fun to see the maps! You are doing so great with your goals – even the one you are behind on. I wish I was doing so well with classics :)

    Here’s hoping you can meet more of your goals as the year goes on!

  21. July 1, 2009 8:26 pm

    I’m looking at those maps with total envy! I try to get around in my reading, but my volume just isn’t high enough to qualify me as a world traveler. If you’re looking for a NF book centered in the nothern South America countries (and Brazil!), look into The Lost City of Z. I really enjoyed it–very easy to read.

  22. July 2, 2009 5:05 am

    Lezlie, you should!

    Amanda, I try to keep fic:nonfic to about 2:1, because otherwise I feel really unbalanced.

    Rebecca, I still think it’d be fun!

    Debbie, I’ve e-mailed you some recs. :)

    Jessica, thanks!

    Tuulenhaiven, good luck; there are some really obscure countries out there.

    Rhapsody, isn’t it a great website?!

    Jackie, you should!

    Stacy, I love maps. :D

    Lisa, thanks!

    Diane, thank you!

    Alyce, it takes a bit of planning in the beginning (i.e.: making reading lists), but it’s a lot of fun!

    Debi, you wouldn’t be depressed; you read widely too!

    Daphne, I want to be in that book club! I wish I could change the colour of the countries based on how many books I’ve read there; England would be the darkest after the States. In fact, since I lived in England so long, I don’t count it in my international reading.

    Melanie, don’t feel dumb! An anthology has lots of authors and an editor, while a collection has only one author.

    Kristen, I try to include some free-wheeling in my reading! But I’m a totaly goals/list person. :D

    Amy, thanks!

    Lisa, I’m cheating, though, since international stuff is one of my priorities. ;) If I had to list other things, I wouldn’t look well read at all!

    Iliana, thanks!

    Trish, thanks for the recommendation! Hopefully, soon I’ll be too busy to read that much. ;)

  23. July 3, 2009 5:28 am

    Hi Eva,

    I just check your blog now and then when i have any free time; i should say i m enjoying a lot when i am here…Hope you can catch up with your goals in all categories soon…but i should say so far so good:)

    Choti

  24. July 4, 2009 11:04 am

    Your maps = awesome.

Thank you for commenting! For a long while, my health precluded me replying to everyone. Yet I missed the conversation, so I'm now making an effort to reply again. It might take a few days though, and there will be times when I simply can't. Regardless, I always read and value what you say.

