Skip to content

Read-a-Thon Mini-Challenge: Honouring Dewey

April 19, 2009

deweycolourWelcome to the next mini-challenge! This will run for the next three hours, so as long as you submit a link to me within those three hours you’ll be eligible for the prize, which is a box of Earth Day books and bookmarks from the wonderful and talented Nymeth!

As most of you know, Dewey of The Hidden Side of the Leaf began the read-a-thons. She passed away quite suddenly (at least suddenly to the book blogging community) last November, which is why the read-a-thon has been renamed in her honour.

So sometime in the next three hours, either share a favourite story/memory of Dewey if you knew her OR go to her blog and find a post that appeals to you (trust me, it won’t take long!). Then on your own blog (or in the comments here if you don’t have a blog), talk about why you chose it.

I have a lot of favourite memories of Dewey, but one of the best is interacting with her during the first read-a-thon. It was still really small then, and especially in the last few hours, there weren’t that many of us left. She kept teasing me about how chipper I still was. Like with this comment, on post in which I discussed Marked:

Look at you, still all upbeat and awake. I believe if those Wiccan vampires bit you, they’d find caffeinated blood! ;)

And then there was this comment, which she made on my first post of the second read-a-thon:

Here you are with your amazing energy again! What would the read-a-thon be without you? :) Hope you have a great time!

She was an incredible woman, with a giving, generous, creative spirit, who touched many people. And she will always be remembered.

Leave the link to your post here:

28 Comments leave one →
  1. April 19, 2009 1:07 am

    What a wonderful mini-challenge. I can’t wait to see everyone’s posts.

  2. April 19, 2009 1:09 am

    I put up a few words in my post here:

    http://rhinoasramblings.blogspot.com/2009/04/read-thon-end-of-hour-20.html

  3. April 19, 2009 1:13 am

    I’m going to do this before I go to bed. Hugs to you Eva…this last hour’s been really emotional for some reason for me.

  4. April 19, 2009 1:29 am

    i posted my response in my blog.
    http://jehara.blogspot.com/2009/04/end-of-hour-20.html

  5. April 19, 2009 1:32 am

    Thanks Eva.. I hadn’t read Dewey’s blog before…
    It was touching…

    http://priyankadreams.blogspot.com/2009/04/hour-21.html

  6. April 19, 2009 1:34 am

    I posted my piece here http://infogoddess54.blogspot.com/2009/04/hour-21.html
    I wish that I had known Dewey because I think we would have become great online friends

  7. April 19, 2009 1:38 am

    My posts here:

    http://www.whosabiblioaddict.com/?p=401

  8. klarusu permalink
    April 19, 2009 1:39 am

    Mine’s here:

    http://klarusu.wordpress.com/2009/04/19/remembering-dewey/

  9. April 19, 2009 1:40 am

    Dewey is greatly missed by many people around the world….
    Wish i had known her too…

    http://priyankadreams.blogspot.com/2009/04/hour-21.html

  10. April 19, 2009 1:45 am

    Thank you, Eva. Thanks so much for giving everyone the opportunity to do this. I don’t think I’ll recover enough to get any more reading done…but I can’t think of a better way to spend the last few hours than going around to read everyone’s posts.

  11. April 19, 2009 1:51 am

    I promise i will do this before the next two hours… after reading the post from her husband i was just finished…

    I am curl up wih a feel good book – and super tired…

    I promise i will go back and read her post. She sounded like a beautiful person..

    E.H>

  12. April 19, 2009 2:42 am

    http://trishsbooks.blogspot.com/2009/04/read-thon-hours-21.html I also put it in Mr. Linky…?

  13. April 19, 2009 3:37 am

    This is a great idea! My post is here.

  14. April 19, 2009 3:42 am

    A part of me regrets not having taken part in any of the Read-A-Thons Dewey hosted awhile back. But a part of me is more than happy that I’ve met her (virtually, that is).

    Here’s my post: http://lightheadedbooks.blogspot.com/2009/04/23rd-hour.html

  15. April 19, 2009 3:48 am

    hope to catch up.

    here’s my entry about Dewey.

  16. April 19, 2009 11:09 am

    Obviously I was sleeping during this, but thanks for doing such a great mini-challenge. I couldn’t help but think of Dewey all day yesterday.

  17. October 24, 2009 8:28 pm

    Dewey is greatly missed.

Trackbacks

  1. Dewey’s Read-a-Thon » Hour 21
  2. Dewey’s Read-a-Thon » Hour 22
  3. Dewey’s Read-a-Thon » Hour 23
  4. Read-a-thon: Hour 22 | Books of Mee
  5. A Special Thanks to Dewey #Readathon
  6. Read-a-thon Hours 21-22 | Love, Laughter, and a Touch of Insanity

Thank you for commenting! For a long while, my health precluded me replying to everyone. Yet I missed the conversation, so I'm now making an effort to reply again. It might take a few days though, and there will be times when I simply can't. Regardless, I always read and value what you say.