Skip to content

Hour Twenty One (Eva)

April 19, 2009

Read-a-ThonPages Read This Hour: 116
Books Read This Hour: The Likeness by Tana French
Total Pages Read: 1,631
Books Completed: 5 (I Am a Pencil by Sam Swope, Death and Judgement by Donna Leon, Twenty Something Manifesto by Christine Hessler, Witch Child by Celia Rees, Shakespeare Wrote For Money by Nick Hornby)
Mini-Challenges Participated In: 15
Time Spent Reading: 40
Time Spent Blogging: 20

I have LOVED reading everyone’s posts on Dewey, and you still have two hours to participate. She was such a special person, and even though she can’t participate, I love that her spirit is with us through everyone’s posts.

This hour’s mini-challenge is to write a limerick about the read-a-thon, and one just magically came to me. You have to say ‘weather’ and ‘after’ with a bit of an accent, but I think it’s worth it. ;)

There was once a girl named Eva
who got caught in really bad weath-a
but she grabbed her mom
for the read-a-thon
and lived happily ever aft-a

I focused much more on reading than cheerleading this past hour (though I did visit all of the participants in my mini-challenge), because it’s crunch time if I’m going to break 2K! (I was right on track, but then I kept dozing off for a couple of hours…) We’re in the home-stretch though, so everyone should be incredibly proud of themselves!!! My mom is still up, although it was looking touch and go for a bit. ;)

Off to read more.

Oh, and I am very much enjoying The Likeness. Although it’s not really scary…more intriguing.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. April 19, 2009 2:25 am

    Great limerick :D
    Going great

  2. April 19, 2009 2:34 am

    love the limerick – and I thought I was doing well to break 1000 – yo go girl – you can do it

  3. April 19, 2009 2:40 am

    Awesome job! The end is in sight. Yu can do it.

  4. April 19, 2009 2:53 am

    Good for you – the more the merrier…

    E.H>

  5. April 19, 2009 3:00 am

    Wow, I don’t know how you read as much as you do! Congrats, and nice limerick!

  6. April 19, 2009 3:08 am

    Excellent limerick, Eva! Congrats to you and your mom :)

  7. April 19, 2009 3:10 am

    brilliant! well-done! :)

  8. April 19, 2009 4:50 am

    I love slant rhymes. :)

    You go girl.

  9. April 20, 2009 2:31 pm

    Oh, blah! What an awful limerick! It’s wonderfully awful–so bad that it’s good!

Thank you for commenting! For a long while, my health precluded me replying to everyone. Yet I missed the conversation, so I'm now making an effort to reply again. It might take a few days though, and there will be times when I simply can't. Regardless, I always read and value what you say.

