Skip to content

Pyongyang (Q&A)

August 19, 2008

Rebecca Reid asks: How was Pyongyang by Guy deLisle as a graphic novel? (The concept seems interesting but I can’t find it in Australia, so I can’t read it yet.)
It was wonderful! I loved the illustrations-they weren’t like traditional comic book drawings (which don’t really appeal to me)-they were more like sketches on a napkin. By a really talented artist. The the drawings and words both enhanced each other-I definitely felt like I got a little peek at Pyongyang. :)

Bybee says: I hope you’ll write a review of Pyongyang because of The Korean Connection, of course!
I loved this one, and it was thanks to you that I checked it out to begin with! I was a little leery of a graphic novel-but-is-actually-nonfiction, lol, but I thought it was incredible. I wish I could make a travelogue like that from my trips!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. August 20, 2008 7:50 am

    ugh….are you in SF yet?!

  2. August 23, 2008 1:31 pm

    Sounds great! I’m looking forward to reading it!

Trackbacks

  1. Pyongyang, Guy Delisle « Jenny's Books

Thank you for commenting! For a long while, my health precluded me replying to everyone. Yet I missed the conversation, so I'm now making an effort to reply again. It might take a few days though, and there will be times when I simply can't. Regardless, I always read and value what you say.