Skip to content

Checking In

May 10, 2012


photo credit: me

Hi everyone! I didn’t mean to disappear for a month, but sometimes with a chronic illness that’s just what happens. ;) I was trying a new-to-me medication for my fibro, and it ended up being a little crazy, so that combined with a flare-up knocked me for a loop. Fortunately, I’m finally beginning to feel like myself again!

I did read a bit, but it was all comfort reads (aka lots of mysteries, gothic fiction, and fantasy by white US/UK women authors plus a bit of fluffy nonfiction) and I didn’t keep track. I’m not even sure I can reconstruct the list from memory; oddly enough, despite my detail-oriented personality, this doesn’t bother me too much. I’m still depending primarily on comfort reads at the moment and sticking with one book at a time rather than my usual rotation; I’ve got enough on my plate right now that reading needs to be a refuge rather than a challenge (I normally like it to be both). And that’s ok. These three weeks have reminded me how wonderful books are, in that there’s one for every mood, and while all of my usual interests and goals have gone by the wayside, I am still a reader who’s delighting in the written word. All of the diverse, challenging, and enlightening books will still be waiting for me when I’m ready for them.

I can’t promise I’ll be back to blogging regularly just yet. My mom and I leave for Mexico City on May 29th, and since I lost three weeks to zombie Eva, I’m more focused on studying Spanish and playing with photography at the moment. I’m also being very gentle with myself so that I’m as healthy and prepared as I can be for my trip. :) I miss blogging, though, so I’ll definitely be catching up with my Google Reader and posting here a couple of times a week.

Just wanted to write an update now that I’m feeling better in case anyone was wondering if I’d dropped off the planet. I’m excited to see what everyone else had been up to; I hope spring’s been treating you all well!

41 Comments leave one →
  1. May 10, 2012 9:30 am

    Don’t worry about your blog right now. Take care of yourself so you’ll be primed and ready for your trip.

    • May 10, 2012 9:34 am

      You’re such a fast commenter! :) I actually just edited my post and added a few sentences, one of which mentions that I’m babying myself to prepare for the trip. So that’s definitely the number one priority at the moment!

  2. bookgazing permalink
    May 10, 2012 9:46 am

    Take care of yourself Eva so that you have a lovely trip and come back with lots of great memories.

  3. May 10, 2012 9:53 am

    I’ve been worried about you, but I figured it was another fibro-flareup. It’s awful that you have to suffer like that.

  4. May 10, 2012 10:35 am

    Do take care of yourself, Eva. Your health and good relaxation are equally important.

  5. May 10, 2012 10:38 am

    And I’ll say too – take care of yourself, Eva. I know you’ve been looking forward to this trip and I so hope it will be wonderful for you. I love what you said about reading being a refuge and a challenge and it’s probably so many other things, depending on the person. Comfort reads are the best when you need them, aren’t they? Hugs to you down the ‘old IH35!

  6. May 10, 2012 11:01 am

    Thanks. I miss you and was worried. Take care of yourself so that you will have some energy for the Mexico trip.

  7. May 10, 2012 11:20 am

    I am glad you are starting to feel better. I was wondering what happened to you!

  8. May 10, 2012 11:38 am

    Glad to hear that you are doing ok after a few rough weeks and that plenty of books have seen you through the hard times! Can’t believe your Mexico trip is so close! Take plenty of pictures so we can vicariously come with you!

  9. May 10, 2012 11:54 am

    You always bounce back, Eva.
    We’ll be here when you resume.

  10. May 10, 2012 11:57 am

    Here you are! While I miss your inspiring entries and book reviews, it’s better that you take your time now, take it easy, and prepare for the trip. After all, I bet I am not the only one who will be awaiting wonderful pictures and stories of Mexico when you’re back!

  11. Amy @ My Friend Amy permalink
    May 10, 2012 12:41 pm

    Always glad to hear from you! And yay for your trip! I hope you have a wonderful time.

  12. May 10, 2012 1:08 pm

    Hey! I’m glad you’re feeling better!!

  13. May 10, 2012 1:12 pm

    We were wondering, so it’s nice to have an update!

  14. Phaedosia permalink
    May 10, 2012 1:42 pm

    Glad everything’s okay. Have fun on your vacation. Thanks for recommending Prospero’s Daughter a while back–read it and really enjoyed it last week!

  15. May 10, 2012 2:48 pm

    Glad you checked in and are feeling better! I was worried about you. Take care & I hope you’ll have a wonderful trip to Mexico!

  16. Jillian ♣ permalink
    May 10, 2012 2:52 pm

    Good to hear from you, Eva. Keep well. :)

  17. May 10, 2012 5:37 pm

    I had been thinking about you the last few days and hoping you were well. Take care of yourself, and do enjoy that trip!

  18. May 10, 2012 7:14 pm

    Eva it totally sucks that this condition has hit you so hard! I mean. MAN! Take care of you girl. And also, SO excited about your up coming trip. I’ve tried convincing Diane (especially since you’ve found all of these deals) but it’s still a no-go. Maybe when you come back and have all of these gorgeous pictures she’ll budge! Cheers.

  19. May 10, 2012 7:15 pm

    Good to hear from you! And have a lovely time in Mexico. :)

  20. boardinginmyforties permalink
    May 10, 2012 10:39 pm

    Glad to see you back here Eva. And it sounds like you are feeling better now and I’m happy you are still looking forward to your trip! Take care of yourself.

  21. May 11, 2012 12:18 am

    So glad to hear from you, Eva. Enjoy your trip, and focus on getting yourself ready to enjoy it. We will all be glad to hear updates when you return :)

  22. May 11, 2012 10:10 am

    I’m glad you are back and feeling better. Bad fibro. Go stand in the corner…forever.

  23. Anne Roy permalink
    May 11, 2012 1:51 pm

    Have a jolly, peaceful, health restorative jaunt to Mexico … mebbe buy a book?

    Anne in England

  24. May 11, 2012 3:26 pm

    It’s good to hear from you, Eva. I’d been wondering if everything was okay. Take care as you prepare for your trip!

  25. May 11, 2012 3:46 pm

    keep well look forward to more of a returnsoon eva

  26. May 11, 2012 8:11 pm

    Thanks for posting; I had wondered if you were OK. Enjoy your comfort books and your trip and return to us when you’re ready. Best wishes!

  27. May 11, 2012 8:26 pm

    I am glad to see this post and hear that you are taking care of yourself! I wish you good health and safe travels. I look forward to hearing about your adventures!!

  28. May 12, 2012 8:51 am

    I’m happy to hear you’re feeling better! And definitely rest up for your trip, you have been so looking forward to it! It’s important that you are as healthy as possible so you can take in every moment. :)

  29. May 12, 2012 4:36 pm

    While I’m so sorry you had such a rough patch there, sweetie, I’m so very very happy that you’re feeling better! And definitely take your own advice there, and be kind and gentle to yourself!!! It’s advice you should follow every day of your life, but of course, life doesn’t always allow that. But yes, yes, yes, make sure it happens this time so you can enjoy your trip and everything Mexico has to offer and this special time with your Mom to the absolute fullest!!! You deserve it…I hope you know that! Love you!

  30. May 12, 2012 5:16 pm

    I’m glad you feel better and I can’t wait to hear about your trip to Mexico! Rest up so you can take a billion and one pictures.

  31. May 13, 2012 1:23 pm

    How horrible Eva, I am glad you’re feeling better now. Good luck with the Spanish, and have a wonderful time in Mexico!

  32. May 13, 2012 4:38 pm

    Nice to know that you are feeling better, hope you will be back to full blogging strength, soon!

  33. May 13, 2012 5:08 pm

    I’m glad you are taking care of yourself, Eva, and can’t wait to see pictures from Mexico!

  34. May 13, 2012 8:24 pm

    Glad you’re feeling better! Have a wonderful trip to Mexico and we’ll see you on the other side!

  35. May 14, 2012 9:58 am

    I haven’t stopped by in a while and am sorry to hear about your health issues, although I am glad to see that you are feeling better now. Hope you feel GREAT by the time you leave for your trip!

  36. aartichapati permalink
    May 14, 2012 11:31 pm

    Oh, I’m so glad that you are checking in. I miss you! I hope you enjoy Mexico City :-)

  37. May 15, 2012 9:38 am

    Always great to hear from you! I hope you are feeling better. Have fun in Mexico! We want pics!!

  38. May 15, 2012 12:30 pm

    Glad you’re “feeling like yourself,” since that particular self is a very special person!

    Take it easy.

  39. jenn aka the picky girl permalink
    May 15, 2012 4:28 pm

    It always cheers me to see a post from you! Sorry you haven’t felt well lately, but hopefully your trip will be fantastic and you’ll feel fantastic, too. Glad you got some comfort reading in.

  40. May 28, 2012 10:58 am

    I’ve been offline mostly for some time as well (though scheduled posts hide my absence. hah. I’m sneaky) so am pleasantly surprised that you leave TOMORROW! Oh have a fantastic trip!

Thank you for commenting! For a long while, my health precluded me replying to everyone. Yet I missed the conversation, so I'm now making an effort to reply again. It might take a few days though, and there will be times when I simply can't. Regardless, I always read and value what you say.