Skip to content

The Best News

March 20, 2011

I swear, I’ll get back to book blogging and blog visiting and commenting soon! Last week, I was so exhausted between the emotions and my fibro being a bit cranky that when my laptop would cooperate and turn on, I couldn’t get myself to write coherently. But if you’ll indulge me in one more personal post, I have someone I’d like to introduce you to. Someone who has already been approved by our cat, and who has managed to make all of us fall in complete love with her after just two days. Someone who I already can’t imagine life without:

Thistle! Ok, this is not the most flattering shot, but it’s the only one that I had online, and since I’m borrowing my mom’s laptop (mine is on strike again and refuses to turn on; good thing my mom’s online class is over!), it’ll have to tide you over. A few days before I got her, she got a hair cut, and if I were her I would *not* have tipped the groomer. They shaved her face poodle-style (the rescue thinks she might be a poodle-yorkie mix) and clipped everything else short except for the little poof on top of her head. If you’re curious to know what she’ll look like with more fluff, you can visit her Petfinder page, which has a short video as well as a couple cuter pictures (note that I didn’t pay as much as that adoption fee states!). I think you see the inspiration for her name, however. It’s funny; before I got her I had a whole list brainstormed up with help from my Twitter friends, but as soon as I met her I realised an ‘elegant’ French name or even a standard ‘cutsie’ name just wouldn’t fit. She looked a bit fae to me, and I’ve always loved the names Shakespeare gave Titania’s attendants in A Midsummer Night’s Dream. Between that, and Briar Rose (a suggestion from Clare), and her little poof of hair on top, Thistle just seemed perfect. Shockingly enough, everyone in the family agreed. It’s a lovely word to say too; ‘th’ is my favourite sound in the English language (whenever I had problems with Russian pronunciation, I would comfort myself with ‘th,’ since so many non-native English speakers find it tricky) and the pup seems happy enough to answer to it.

Thistle really is the perfect dog for us; the couple who run the rescue group were fostering her, and they had almost decided to keep her themselves. I feel so blessed that they let me have her instead, because I couldn’t have imagined such an incredible fit. Her favourite thing to do is sleep on any available lap; her second favourite is to get a belly rub. She’s completely calm; while she’s happy to meet people, she doesn’t jump or lick. She takes things in stride, whether it’s loud noises or a cat who, after Colette, is a bit skeptical of dogs. She walks perfectly on a leash, and whether outside or inside she’ll come the moment you call her. And while she spends a lot of the day laying around, she really enjoys playing fetch (her favourite toy is a pink stuffed hedgehog my niece picked out) and going on walks. Did I mention that she’s housetrained, has yet to show any desire to chew anything, and I have no idea what her bark sounds like because nothing has set her off (including the regular cacaphony of our neighbourhood dogs)? She’s about nine pounds and fine-boned (I wonder if I’ll be told she needs to lose a bit of padding at our vet appointment), so quite portable but not so little we have to worry about my five-year-old niece around her. And while she enjoys following me around the house, if I leave her closed in my bedroom, she just goes to sleep instead of whining or scratching. Oh, and the grey you see in her photo is just her natural colouring, not a sign of age; the vet estimates her to be only two or three years old! Which is good, because my life is already so much happier with her in it, and I want her there for as long as possible.

I haven’t forgotten about Colette either; when we made the switch she seemed just as happy to go with the rescue group woman. When I called later, her foster mom said she’d jumped right into her lap and licked her, so she wasn’t traumatised. And yesterday, she met with a new potential owner, who took her home!  The resiliency of dogs, their willingness to open up to anyone who tries, astounds me.

So this story has a complete happy ending, and I shall be back to blogging about books, but this time with a snoozing Thistle on my lap (or torso, if we want to get technical). :D I want to thank each and every one of you who took the time to comment on my previous post. All of your stories, sympathies, and reassurances made me feel so much better, and helped me get through a tough few days. Book bloggers really are the most wonderful people.

52 Comments leave one →
  1. March 20, 2011 10:19 am

    Yay! I’m super excited to hear that you have found the perfect dog for your family! And I think she is super cute…thanks for sharing the pic!

  2. Bella permalink
    March 20, 2011 10:20 am

    Congrats Eva! She looks so adorable :)

  3. March 20, 2011 10:21 am

    That’s great, Eva! She sounds like the perfect dog for you and your family, and I’m happy to hear that Colette is also doing well.

  4. March 20, 2011 10:30 am

    Aw, Thistle is adorable and I just love that name! It sounds like she’s the perfect fit for your family. I’m looking forward to more posts about books, but I also want periodic updates on Thistle!

  5. March 20, 2011 10:30 am

    YAY!!! I knew it would work out!! Thistle looks like a sweetheart! Keep the pictures coming :)

  6. March 20, 2011 10:31 am

    That’s great, Eva! Enjoy her!!

  7. March 20, 2011 10:46 am

    “The resiliency of dogs, their willingness to open up to anyone who tries, astounds me.” True, so true. I’m glad that Collette has a new prospective owner so soon and does not appear to be traumatized. Thistle looks lovely! Happy for the new addition to your family!

  8. March 20, 2011 10:46 am

    Look at that beautiful dog! Thistle is a darling little name, and she sounds like a perfect fit for you. I wish you ten million tons of luck with the new pup.

  9. March 20, 2011 11:11 am

    She’s a cutie! And great to hear that Colette found a new home so soon. I’m so happy for you all. :)

  10. March 20, 2011 11:30 am

    Congratulations! She sounds perfect for you. And the name Thistle suits her.
    I must agree with you about book bloggers too; I couldn’t have fallen in with a better group of bloggers :o)

  11. March 20, 2011 11:43 am

    Yay! Hello, Thistle. Love the name!

  12. Shanra permalink
    March 20, 2011 11:54 am

    Oh, Eva, that’s wonderful news! Thistle looks (and sounds from what you’ve said) adorable and like a great addition to your family! I’m glad things worked out so well, so fast for you, Colette and Thistle!

  13. March 20, 2011 12:03 pm

    I am so jealous, but I hope she will give you years of love and comfort.

  14. March 20, 2011 12:58 pm

    LOVE the name – it does seem to fit her perfectly! So glad you found your forever friend in Thistle :) I think things generally work out the way they are supposed to with pets – I always tell people that my dogs (and cats) selected me vs. me selecting them…and I think that is true!! Hope you have many, many happy years together!

  15. March 20, 2011 1:08 pm

    Wonderful news, Eva! Thistle is truly the perfect name for your new family member! I’m so glad to hear that she gets along with your parents’ cat and that she is settling in well. Also, very happy to hear Colette found a new home so soon!

  16. March 20, 2011 1:10 pm

    Tee hee, cute! I’ve named all my cats so far after Shakespeare characters (Cleopatra, which turned into Cleocatra on occasion! And Edgar, which covers bases from Shakespeare — King Lear — and for Edgar Allan Poe too for my husband), so lots of good opinions there.

  17. March 20, 2011 1:29 pm

    That’s wonderful news indeed. Congratulations and good wishes!

  18. March 20, 2011 1:49 pm

    Hello Thistle! It sounds like everyone is right where they should be :)

  19. March 20, 2011 1:53 pm

    I’m so glad this has worked out for you and Thistle (and the cat)!

  20. March 20, 2011 2:14 pm

    Love the name – we have always gotten our dogs “used” and it is so rewarding. I am glad you have found the perfect fit and may Thistle bring much happiness to you and your family.

  21. March 20, 2011 2:33 pm

    Thistle looks lovely. I hope she will be very happy with her new family! xx

  22. March 20, 2011 3:03 pm

    Really glad everything has worked out positively for everyone!

  23. March 20, 2011 3:09 pm

    Thistle sounds wonderful. We have a rescue poodle who is SO well behaved! And, poodles have hair, not fur so Thistle will probably shed less than most dogs, which is always a bonus. I am so happy for you!

    • March 30, 2011 5:29 am

      Yep, she doesn’t really shed at all. Woohoo! :)

  24. March 20, 2011 3:12 pm

    I am so so happy. As I told you on Twitter the other night, my Maddie has brought such joy to my life, and I hope Thistle will for you too. I live alone and am single and there are some days that coming home to her hopping around and anxious for attention, I just think how lucky I am.

    Congrats!

  25. March 20, 2011 3:29 pm

    Yaaaay, I’m so happy for you and Thistle! :D

  26. March 20, 2011 4:54 pm

    That is the best name ever! SO cute:)

  27. March 20, 2011 5:15 pm

    She’s much cuter with all of her hair. D’awww.

  28. March 20, 2011 5:33 pm

    Well hello there, Thistle. You’re pretty cute.

  29. March 20, 2011 10:04 pm

    Very very adorable, Thistle is. And how lucky you both are, for finding one another. I’m really happy for all three of you, because it’s just as good to hear that Colette is finding a new home too. Love and happiness all around! :-)

  30. March 20, 2011 10:23 pm

    Thistle is SO FREAKING ADORABLE :D

  31. March 21, 2011 5:24 am

    Yay! She sounds like the perfect fit for you!

  32. March 21, 2011 12:12 pm

    She is seriously adorable. Congratulations!! Sounds like the perfect dog found the perfect family!

  33. March 21, 2011 12:25 pm

    Thistle is wonderful! Enjoy your new family member.

  34. March 21, 2011 1:49 pm

    So adorable! And so glad to hear that Thistle is working out for you. All the best :)

  35. March 21, 2011 7:23 pm

    Oh yay! I’m glad you found Thistle and that Thistle found you. That is really quite the perfect name for her.

  36. March 22, 2011 6:32 am

    Awesome puppy wonderfulness!!

  37. March 22, 2011 6:34 am

    Hooray for the Thistle!

  38. March 22, 2011 10:13 am

    Yay for happy endings! I’m so glad everything worked out well for everyone, and that you have a beautiful new doggie companion!

  39. March 22, 2011 11:08 am

    ah, I’m so glad you found a dog that’s just right for your family. how adorable!

  40. March 22, 2011 1:55 pm

    Congrats! I am so happy for you and Thistle.

  41. March 23, 2011 10:09 am

    I’m so glad you found such a good fit :)

  42. Mumsy permalink
    March 23, 2011 4:15 pm

    Awww. Poodle blood is delightful. She looks totally huggable.

  43. March 24, 2011 12:54 pm

    Awwwwww, Thistle, how gorgeous. Oooh, I’d just have to cuddle her all day. :D She sounds perfect, Eva. I’m so happy for you.

  44. March 25, 2011 11:05 am

    I am SO happy for you! This is indeed the best news. And I love your ‘personal’ posts. Keep ’em coming! Thistle is perfect in disposition and name. Again, I am just thrilled about this.

  45. March 27, 2011 6:36 pm

    So happy to hear the dog situation worked out! It sounds like Thistle and Colette will both find good homes to share.

  46. March 28, 2011 3:35 pm

    Seems like good news all around! Hope the next pic is of Thistle and Lestat cuddling together :-). Or, maybe, they’ll merely tolerate each other; but that’s still a better situation!

    • March 30, 2011 5:31 am

      Lestat’s still a bit edgy, but Thistle completely defers to him. So when he gets over himself, I’m sure they’ll end up being good friends, hehe.

  47. March 30, 2011 5:30 am

    Thanks for all of the great well wishes everyone! You’re the best! :D

  48. March 30, 2011 8:12 am

    I don’t know how I missed this post, but I’m so glad that you have a dog! She looks adorable :)

Thank you for commenting! For a long while, my health precluded me replying to everyone. Yet I missed the conversation, so I'm now making an effort to reply again. It might take a few days though, and there will be times when I simply can't. Regardless, I always read and value what you say.