Skip to content

Library Loot: April 7-13, 2010

April 7, 2010

library-lootLibrary Loot is a weekly event co-hosted by myself and Marg that encourages bloggers to share the books they’ve checked out from the library. If you’d like to participate, just write up your post-feel free to steal the button-and link it using the Mr. Linky any time during the week. And of course check out what other participants are getting from their libraries!

Want to share your loot?

It’s been awhile since I’ve shared my loot! So I rounded up all the books I have at home right now that I haven’t posted about before. That way, I’ll be all caught up for next week. :) Sorry that this is a bit delayed; I really wanted to record a vlog, so I had to wait until the sun rose. Anyway, as you can see, I’ve become better at not getting a billion books from the library. And for once, I have the same number of nonfiction and fiction books to talk about!

The rambling version of LL:

The concise, helpful version:

The Labyrinth of Solitude by Octavio Paz (Mexico Reading Challenge), The Dancing Girls of Lahore by Louise Brown (Reading the World Challenge), Moving Violations by John Hockenberry (for fun)


The Architecture of Happiness by Alain de Botton (Art History Challenge), The Bibliophile’s Devotional by Hallie Ephron (curiousity), Memoir: a History by Ben Yagoda (Bibliophilic Challenge)


The New Drawing on the Right Side of the Brain by Betty Edwards (trying to learn how to sketch), The Creative License by Danny Gregory (trying to learn how to sketch)


Doctor Thorne by Anthony Trollope (Our Mutual Read Challenge), The House Behind the Cedars by Charles Chesnutt (for fun), Love in Excess by Eliza Haywood (Decades Challenge)


The Needle in the Blood by Sarah Bower (Art History Challenge), He Drown She in the Sea by Shani Mootoo (for fun), Frangipani by Célestine Hitiura Vaite (Reading the World Challenge)


The Weed that Strings the Hangman’s Bag by Alan Bradley (for fun), The Hamilton Case by Michelle de Kretser (Aussie Author Challenge)

63 Comments leave one →
  1. April 7, 2010 6:39 am

    You always find the most interesting loot at your library!

  2. April 7, 2010 7:30 am

    Frangipani is good, a bit light. Needle in the Blood is great!

    • April 8, 2010 9:47 am

      The cover made me think it’d be light. But light is good sometimes!

  3. April 7, 2010 7:40 am

    Great loot! I loved the Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie, I must must get the second book in this series :)

  4. April 7, 2010 7:47 am

    You got some great things this week! I really love Eliza Haywood. Some of her work was quite scandalous, so I hope you enjoy it. I am really looking forward to reading Trollope. I have never read any of his work, but I am hoping I enjoy him more than Dickens.

    I also loved your comment about how no one reads classics because of the ugly covers! I agree! Maybe if they were made more appealing more people would be interesting in reading them!

    • April 8, 2010 9:48 am

      I am ALL about scandalous women! ;) I hate Dickens, and I adore Trollope. So I think you’ll like him way more! hehe

      Have you noticed the lovely cover re-issues of classics are only of the most popular ones? I think publishers should do the same deluxe treatment to some ‘forgotten’ ones too.

  5. April 7, 2010 8:21 am

    Some really interesting looking books there! I’m still waiting for a bunch I have on hold to come in so no library loot for me this week … yet, lol!

    • April 8, 2010 9:49 am

      I have a bunch more that I need to pick up! heehee

  6. April 7, 2010 8:35 am

    Those books look all so great. I´m insanely jealous that you´ve got the second Flavia book out :) The Labyrinth of Solitude and The Bibliophile´s Devotional look really good as well!

  7. April 7, 2010 9:25 am

    I’m seeing The Weed That Strings The Hangman’s Bag everywhere! Enjoy your loot!

    • April 8, 2010 9:49 am

      I figure it’s going to be sweeping the blogosphere like Sweetness did! :)

  8. April 7, 2010 10:19 am

    Oh, I’m glad you are reading “The Creative License” by Danny Gregory! I think you will really like it, and find yourself inspired.

    • April 8, 2010 9:51 am

      I totally forgot to mention in my vlog that you were why I picked it up! This is why I should vlog early in the morning.

  9. April 7, 2010 10:33 am

    Shani Mootoo’s Cereus Blooms at Night is one of my ATF (all-time-fave) novels; I really need to make time for her other work. And I also love Broadview Press editions, like your Eliza Haywood: their supporting material is so well chosen and I end up enjoying books that I’d never have thought interesting without that context.

    • April 8, 2010 9:57 am

      Isn’t Cereus marvelous?! I’ve never read a Broadview Press book before; I’m glad to hear that they’re good. :)

  10. April 7, 2010 11:07 am

    I love your videos. :) I’m ready for a non-fiction book, Moving Violations sounds interesting.

  11. April 7, 2010 11:30 am

    Can’t wait to see your drawings when you are finished. I haven’t drawn in years. Can you not get your mum in front of the camera, instead of behind?

    • April 8, 2010 9:59 am

      HAHAHA

      That was my reaction to the idea of sharing my drawings. I doubt even da Vinci himself could bring me enough skill to want to share them with the internets. ;)

      My mom’s appeared on the blog a few times; she guest posted during one of the read-a-thons and I’ve had a few pictures of her around here. :)

  12. April 7, 2010 11:54 am

    I’m always so inspired by your eclectic mix of books. Enjoy them! :)

  13. April 7, 2010 11:59 am

    What a wonderful selection . Happy reading!

  14. April 7, 2010 1:05 pm

    Ooh, I have The Needle in the Blood! I have a feeling that if you like it, I’ll read it sooner. =)

    Some classics have really lovely covers here in the UK – I think Vintage is the best at it personally. Mostly just depends how old the library’s copy is.

    • April 8, 2010 10:01 am

      I’m enjoying it so far. It’s a bit trashy but fun. :) Are the classics w/ lovely covers better known ones? I do think Vintage books are gorgeous…it just seems most of the classics that get wonderful covers are the more popular ones!

  15. April 7, 2010 1:30 pm

    I’ve been thinking about reading The Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie – the only detective/mystery books I can read tend to be the literary kind. I’m interested to hear what you think of Love in Excess – it’s good to have these lesser-known female writers come out of the classics woodwork! I’m on the look-out for East Lynne after a friend recommended it: another female classics author I’ve never heard of!

    Can you recommend any books (preferably fiction) set in Vietnam, by a Vietnamese author? I was thinking about doing Vietnam for the World Party Reading Challenge next month, but I can’t find anything good – some by western authors but I was hoping to find something Vietnamese. Any thoughts?

    • April 8, 2010 10:02 am

      I e-mailed you re: Vietnam. :) I’m pretty picky about my mysteries and I enjoyed Sweetness. It’s got a bit of a I Capture the Castle feel to it, if that helps.

      I haven’t heard of East Lynne before-what’s it about?

  16. JoV permalink
    April 7, 2010 2:43 pm

    I’ve post mine. I can’t beat the looting that you’d done this week!

    I must say your library keep good stock too!

    • April 8, 2010 10:04 am

      I know-my library has marvelous stacks! :)

  17. adevotedreader permalink
    April 7, 2010 2:52 pm

    Wow, that’s still quite a few books Eva!

    Doctor Thorne is Trollope at his best, there’s an involving love story and plenty of humour in it so glad to see it there. I’ve heard good thins about Needle in the blood and The Hamilton case, so will be interested to hear about them.

    • April 8, 2010 10:04 am

      Right, but this is like 3 weeks of loot. So that makes it seem like less books, doesn’t it? :)

  18. fleurfisher permalink
    April 7, 2010 4:15 pm

    Great loot, as ever. I have the Sarah Bower on my shelf and it looks wonderful. I’ll read it one day when I catch up on library books!

    • April 8, 2010 10:04 am

      The poor books on my shelves get ignored for library books all the time!

  19. April 7, 2010 4:19 pm

    Wonderful variety, as always! The Dancing Girls of Lahore has been on my TBR for a while so I’ll be interested to hear what you think of it.

    • April 8, 2010 10:04 am

      Thanks! I’m quite excited about Dancing Girls, so I should have it read pretty soon.

  20. April 7, 2010 4:41 pm

    I love Library Loot!! But I’m always so late…. 4:30 PST! Which is almost tomorrow in Austrailia. But it’s up.
    I also love your videos.

    • April 8, 2010 10:05 am

      You don’t have to post on Wednesdays! Participants post all through the week, and they just come add their link to Mr. Linky whenever. :)

  21. April 7, 2010 7:15 pm

    I read an essay by Alain de Botton in the 2006 Best American Travel Writing anthology and it was a humorous and short piece called “The Discreet Charm of the Zurich Bourgeoisie” in which he defends his home city. I know he had a book out about airports recently. I remember seeing it reviewed somewhere.

    • April 8, 2010 10:14 am

      I read about the airport book somewhere too. I definitely plan on working my through all of his books! :)

  22. April 7, 2010 8:47 pm

    The Weed That Strings the Hangman’s Bag is on my list, so I look forward to reading your thoughts on it.

    • April 8, 2010 10:14 am

      Doesn’t it have the loveliest colour?!

  23. April 8, 2010 4:30 am

    What great finds! I’m going to have to check some of these out. Thanks for hosting!

  24. April 8, 2010 5:59 am

    Nice to see Michelle de Kretser with your loot. She is Sri Lankan by origin and this is an
    actual case. Fabulous read.

    • April 8, 2010 10:15 am

      I know she’s Sri Lankan, but I didn’t realise it was based on an actual case! I can’t wait to read it. :)

  25. April 8, 2010 6:04 am

    I wish you well in your learn to sketch endeavor. Occassionally I get that urge. But it never lasts long for I have no artistic talent whatsoever. I’ve also been through learn to sculpt, learn to embroider, learn to sew stages, all to no avail.

    I’m interested to see your thoughts on so many of these books. I may read some Charles Chesnutt stories myself this month.

    That Trollope cover is very ugly, though. I hope the book is better than the cover.

    • April 8, 2010 10:16 am

      We’ll see if it works! I have artistic talent in textile stuff and collages, but I’ve always been bad at drawing/painting/etc. So if it works for me, it should work for you! ;) I’m sure the Trollope will be better than its cover. heehee

  26. April 8, 2010 4:15 pm

    The Creative License is great. I don’t draw but still just found it great to get the creative juices flowing! I should dig that one out again.
    Looking forward to your thoughts on Dancing Girls of Lahore. What a tough read. I kept thinking, “really, this exists now?!” Very good.

    I’m going to pick up some holds on Saturday so I’ll share my look over the weekend.

    • April 14, 2010 3:00 pm

      I’m enjoying Creative License! I’m gearing myself up (morally speaking) for Dancing Girls.

  27. April 10, 2010 7:07 pm

    As always, an amazing selection of books. I want to read The Hamilton Case too, and I have the first Flavia de Luce novel on my list of books I plan to read for the Cozy Mystery Challenge. I hadn’t heard of Frangipani before either – sounds lovely. Enjoy!

    • April 14, 2010 3:01 pm

      Enjoy Flavia! :) I’m in the middle of Frangipani right now, and it’s delightful.

  28. April 11, 2010 5:26 pm

    You are just too adorable, Eva! Love the vlog. And you find the most interesting books! You are definitely on my bad blogger list! lol

    Now, I have The Labyrinth of Solitude, The Dancing Girls of Lahore, and Fragipani on my Goodreads TBR list! You know I love the world cultures. :)

    • April 14, 2010 3:02 pm

      Aww: thanks Rebecca! :) And yep, we’re united in our love of world cultures!

  29. April 12, 2010 8:10 am

    Hey there, this is my first post for Library Loot! It looks like you have some wonderful selections picked out. Happy Reading!

  30. (Female) Opinionated Reader permalink
    April 13, 2010 3:37 am

    Hi there, I signed up to the Library Loot feed but was not sure where to leave a comment. So I thought the best thing to do was wander over here and say hello :)

    • April 14, 2010 3:05 pm

      Hi! :) By feed, do you mean you added your post to the Mr. Linky?

Trackbacks

  1. Library Loot « Fleur Fisher reads
  2. Library Loot: April 7th « A Good Stopping Point
  3. Library Loot: April 7-13, 2010 « If you can read this

Thank you for commenting! For a long while, my health precluded me replying to everyone. Yet I missed the conversation, so I'm now making an effort to reply again. It might take a few days though, and there will be times when I simply can't. Regardless, I always read and value what you say.

