Skip to content

Library Loot: October 7-13, 2009

October 7, 2009

library-lootLibrary Loot is a weekly event co-hosted by myself and Marg that encourages bloggers to share the books they’ve checked out from the library. If you’d like to participate, just write up your post-feel free to steal the button-and link it using the Mr. Linky any time during the week. And of course check out what other participants are getting from their libraries!

Want to share your loot? Marg has the Mr. Linky this week!

I don’t have a vlog for you today. I recorded one, and then when I went to edit it, I discovered the sound had recorded. My webcam is being a touch stubborn, but I’ve given it a stern talking to, and I hope it’ll cooperate next week! :) In the mean time, here’s my loot…as you can see, I’ve begun stockpiling for the read-a-thon!

rowone
North of Beautiful by Justina Chen Headley (read-a-thon!), The Creative Family by Amanda Soule (read-a-thon!), Chronicle of a Death Foretold by Gabriel Garcia Marquez (Lost in Translation Challenge/read-a-thon!)

rowtwo
Close Encounters of a Third-Grade Kind by Philip Done (read-a-thon!), Death and the Maidens by Janet Todd (read-a-thon!), Skim by Mariko and Jillian Tamaki (read-a-thon!)

rowthree
Status Anxiety by Alain de Botton (fave author!), Here at the End of the World We Learn to Dance by Lloyd Jones (New Zealand Challenge), At Large and at Small by Anne Fadiman (My Year of Reading Dangerously Challenge)

rowfour
Spell of the Tiger by Sy Montgomery (Science Book Challenge), Serve the People by Jen Lin Liu (China Challenge), The Virago Book of Ghost Stories, ed. by Richard Dalbyn (R.I.P. IV Challenge)

rowfive
Alias Grace by Margaret Atwood (Canada Challenge), An Expert in Murder by Nicola Upson (read-a-thon!), Pawn of Prophecy by David Eddings (need to reread more books!)

rowsix
Fables Vol. 6: Homelands by Bill Willingham (read-a-thon!), Fables Vol. 4: March of the Wooden Soldiers by Bill Willingham (read-a-thon!), Fables Col. 8: Wolves by Bill Willingham (read-a-thon!)

rowseven
The Neil Gaiman Audio Collection (Dream King Challenge)

26 Comments leave one →
  1. October 7, 2009 3:28 pm

    I’ve signed up to cheerlead for the Read a Thon. I did it last time and had a lot of fun.
    North of Beautiful is on my FITG list. I’ll get to it some day!
    Enjoy Fables. It’s a great series.

  2. October 7, 2009 3:29 pm

    North of Beautiful will be a great read-a-thon book!

  3. October 7, 2009 3:30 pm

    Wow, you got some great books! Can’t wait to see what you think of Status Anxiety.

  4. October 7, 2009 3:58 pm

    I looooved North of Beautiful, I can’t wait to see what you think of it! And Softdrink is right, it’ll make a perfect read-a-thon book!

  5. October 7, 2009 4:15 pm

    Chronicle of a Death Foretold was my first by Gabriel Garcia Marquez earlier this year, and although it was very short, it gave me a lot to think about. I hope you like it, and it sounds perfect for the readathon! I also read the Fadiman essay collection, and I loved it a lot. The essays are all very personal and also very informative. She says the genre, familiar essays, has pretty much disappeared, and I wish I knew of more essay books like hers!

  6. October 7, 2009 4:45 pm

    I have already looked up Skim and put it on hold at the library for the readathon. It looks wonderful! SAPL is so lacking when it comes to graphic novels. Over half of what I want to read isn’t available (French Milk, Lost at Sea, Coraline GN version, Slow Storm, etc…). So I’m glad to find SOMETHING I can get.

  7. October 7, 2009 5:18 pm

    Oh yay, readathon books! I’m still not sure whether to join or not. Last time was awesome but am not sure if I’ll be up to the pressure. Although what’s pushing me is that I need to do tons of reading for my challenges before the year ends!

  8. October 7, 2009 8:41 pm

    You have some wonderful books here, good choices for the readathon. I really want to read North of Beautiful and an Expert in Murder. I signed up for the readathon, too. I guess I should start stockpiling!

  9. October 7, 2009 9:29 pm

    Wow, what a great stack of books you have to look forward to! Happy reading!

  10. Wendy permalink
    October 7, 2009 9:51 pm

    The Phillip Done book looks good–can’t wait to hear what you think!

  11. October 7, 2009 11:31 pm

    Damn your computer and it’s no sound! I wanted a vlog!! :p I’m so glad you got Skim!! It’s such a great read :) Love all of your loot!! Can’t wait to hear about them all.

  12. October 7, 2009 11:58 pm

    I just found out I have to work Saturday night. I may be able to get a little reading done, but not enough. I was so hoping to have the weekend off. Sigh….maybe next year.

    Of course, I will do a bit of Cheerleading this year…especially in the late night hours. North of Beautiful is a very good book. I really enjoyed it. And I’m all about Fables, although I’ve only read the first 3 so far!

  13. October 8, 2009 6:57 am

    I’m mad at your computer.

    But I’m loving your loot! Oooh, just look at all those read-a-thon goodies. Just gives me the warm and fuzzies. Maybe I should indulge myself today and start putting together my pile. :D

  14. October 8, 2009 8:34 am

    Yay, you got Skim! I hope you enjoy it as much as I did! I must admit I wasn’t wild about the artwork, but I loved the story.

  15. October 8, 2009 10:18 am

    My oldest read North of Beautiful a couple of months ago, keep tissues handy. I am a big Eddings fan. The rest I’ll have to investigate.

  16. October 8, 2009 1:12 pm

    Fun books! I love your read-a-thon choices. I especially need to get on the stick in regards to the Fables series. I’m so behind, and it’s my fave! Oy! I did find out that my latest library hold (Gene Yang’s new graphic novel, The Eternal Smile) came in today. Woo!

  17. October 8, 2009 1:39 pm

    I love Amanda Soule. I read her blog Soulemama everyday. It is one of those books that is just so nice and peaceful to visit.

  18. October 8, 2009 4:06 pm

    I’m still deciding about the read-a-thon; it would be my first and I’m simply not sure that I am up to the challenge! I do have a requested copy of The Virago Book of Stories to loot from the library, however, and some of the many stories in it would make perfect bite-size reading.

    Chronicle of a Death Foretold is my favourite Marquez novel and is simply outstanding. Alias Grace is my favourite Atwood and a fabulous story.

    I love David Eddings’ Belgariad and Mallorean! A reread for me is also long overdue.

    Ah, Neil Gaiman’s voice is dulcet and makes perfect listening.

  19. October 8, 2009 7:03 pm

    I ended up reading the Fables Prequel (before I saw your recommendation!) and LOVED it. I’m going to have to get more of the books, after I finish all the books I have from the library right now.

  20. October 9, 2009 1:53 am

    I love all the Read-a-Thon books! You are going to have a great selection. I’ve started to put together my pile too!

  21. October 9, 2009 1:59 pm

    Great stash, once again, Eva! I absolutely love the David Eddings series’ The Belgariad and The Mallorean. I have read them all several times over.

  22. October 10, 2009 9:50 pm

    It’s about time I read more GGM I think! Haven’t read Chronicles myself.

    I have that Nicola Upson book out from the library at the moment too. Not sure if I will get to read it or not. The way I am going I most likely won’t!

  23. October 11, 2009 6:17 am

    Linda, thanks for joining as a cheerleader! And I’m enjoying Fables so far. :)

    Softdrink, I’m glad you approve!

    BermudaOnion, that one’s on CD, so as soon as I finish my current book-on-CD (I’m on CD 7 of 9), I’ll start listening to it!

    Heather, it seems like everyone who’s read it loved it!

    Shannon, I love Marquez, but I’ve mainly stuck with his longer novels, so it’ll be interesting to see him at work in a novella. I’ve just started the Fadiman essay collection, but I’ve also read her book on reading and a collection on rereading that she edited. :)

    Amanda, awesome! That’s so frustrating about the library. :( Maybe ILL?

    Claire, you can always read and just go to sleep when you need to! :)

    Amy, awesome! And definitely start stockpiling!

    Kathleen, thanks!

    Wendy, I hope I get to it soon. :)

    Chris, I know-I was really frustrated. :(

    Stephanie, aww-I’m sorry. But there’s always April! And I’m glad you’ll be cheerleading. :)

    Debi, I’m mad at it too. ;) And I think stockpiling short and fun books is one of my fave bits of the read-a-thon!

    Avisannschild, I hope I do too! I often find myself not wild about the artwork in graphic novels. ;)

    Kylee, yay for another Eddings fan! He was one of my very fave authors in high school!

    Andi, oh-I enjoyed ABC, so I need to look into his new one.

    Vivienne, I checked out her blog a bit, and it does seem wonderfully peaceful.

    Claire, it’s up to you, but I’ve always had a ton of fun. :D I’m so glad to hear those two are you fave Marquez and Atwoods! And that you’re an Eddings fan!!

    Lu, yay! I just got that one from the library a couple days ago! The cover is so purdy I want to stick it on my wall!

    Meghan, can’t wait to see your pile! :)

    Jackie, all of these Eddings fans coming out of the woodwork. :D

    Marg, as much as I love book blogging, I think my expanded reading horizons make me neglect my fave authors sometimes. ;)

  24. October 12, 2009 12:19 pm

    Wow, lots of books! I’ll have to check them out. I’ve just posted my Library Loot for today…enjoy!

    http://www.bookwormnation.blogspot.com

  25. October 13, 2009 4:32 am

    Ooh, what a lot of great loot! I’m especially interested in reading North of Beautiful!

  26. October 13, 2009 12:55 pm

    What a lot of fun books! I hope the Marquez is as good as 100 Years of Solitude was! and I loved the Fadiman essays I read a few years ago, so enjoy that too.

    Oh this read-a-thon sounds like fun….

Thank you for commenting! For a long while, my health precluded me replying to everyone. Yet I missed the conversation, so I'm now making an effort to reply again. It might take a few days though, and there will be times when I simply can't. Regardless, I always read and value what you say.

