Skip to content

What month is it again?!

April 17, 2009

This is the current state of my backyard (there’s still snow coming down, even though you can’t see it):
aprilsnow
I was planning on running out to the library, because in getting my read-a-thon books I accidently got the 3rd Gemma Doyle book instead of the 2nd. But my mom told me that was a ridiculous reason to risk an accident (the roads between my house and the library are always the first to get bad), and since my new car has rear wheel drive, I agree with her. Hmph.

Fortunately, like the angelic mother that she is, she’s getting all of the ingredients I need to make Chex Mix, which is my chosen snack for tomorrow! (She has to drive anyway for work.)

Speaking of my mom, she really wanted to do the read-a-thon with me, but her silly work has a conference scheduled for tomorrow. Now, there’s a strong possibility they’ll have to cancel the bus (the conference is in Denver, which is about an hour north, so that’s quite a bit of driving in a snowstorm). And guess when she has to be up to phone and find out? 6 AM! And that’s when the read-a-thon starts here in mountain time. So I’ve got my fingers crossed that we can hole up and read the day away (my dad’s out of town)! If she can, she promised she’d guest blog here; you guys would love her. :D Maybe I can even convince her to vlog with me!!

And if you haven’t signed up for Dewey’s Read-a-Thon yet, what are you waiting for?! If you can only commit for an hour or two, and don’t want to read, sign up as a cheerleader. It’ll just involve you bloghopping, and it’ll be lots of fun and you’ll be eligible for giveaways. :) (I apologise to those people who can’t do the read-a-thon this time around, and are really sick of everyone rubbing it in their faces. Next time guys!!!)

23 Comments leave one →
  1. April 17, 2009 7:45 am

    6 a.m? WOW!!!

    I can never get up that eary. It’s going to be 5p.m here in India :)

    oh and yes, I really hope your mom guest blogs, it will be fun :)

  2. April 17, 2009 7:53 am

    I just cannot believe all that snow!

  3. April 17, 2009 8:04 am

    It’s been raining non-stop for 2 weeks here, and it’s much colder than it was in March. I want Spring already :(

    Your mom does sound awesome :D It’d be so cool if you could do the read-a-thon together!

  4. April 17, 2009 8:21 am

    Wow! I can’t believe the snow!! Just think of it as the perfect excuse to read all day :0)

  5. April 17, 2009 8:24 am

    Ok – I thought Kansas was bad when we had 3 inches of snow two weeks ago! Fortunately our highs have been in the 60s all week.

    My read-a-thon start time is 7:00am — and I am very much looking forward to it. I like the idea of chex mix as a sustaining snack :)

  6. April 17, 2009 8:34 am

    Alright. I signed up to be a cheerleader. If I didn’t have plans this weekend (if outside it looked like that here), I would try reading. perhaps next time.

  7. April 17, 2009 8:39 am

    I wonder if your snow is headed my way (Wisconsin). I was actually thinking of getting the patio furniture out this weekend. Maybe I’l wait…

  8. April 17, 2009 8:52 am

    Ooh I don’t envy you. We had a snowstorm last week, too, for two days. And now the snow’s clearing up, finally, yipee! That’s so cool about your mom. I hope she does get to read along and hope to see her on a vlog! :D

  9. April 17, 2009 9:00 am

    It’s in the 70’s here!

  10. April 17, 2009 9:08 am

    The weather folks in Seattle do not seem to realize that it is April. Although, the sun is starting to appear. I hope that spring comes to your neck of the woods soon.

  11. April 17, 2009 9:17 am

    Whoa, that doesn’t look like April weather. But, it does look like good reading weather. I’m still teetering on the fence about joining the read-a-thon officially. I know I can’t commit to 24 hours especially the way I’ve been feeling this week. But, a cheerleader, maybe?

  12. April 17, 2009 9:43 am

    Wah! You make me look up the weather forecast for us (South Dakota)- we have rain right now and I was just gloating that it WASN’T SNOW. I thought maybe I jinxed us, but mine says rain until Sunday, no snow. Rain means the boys won’t be able to play outside and the read-a-thon will be a bit harder to do. Boo.

  13. April 17, 2009 10:17 am

    I am still getting used to this Colorado weather too! I’m in Colorado Springs visiting my brother right now *wave* :) I live in Boulder and I came down here yesterday instead of today to avoid driving in the snow.

    That would be cool to see your mom on here!

  14. April 17, 2009 10:29 am

    Oh my goodness! I cant even imagine living with weather like that! Although, sometimes I wish there was at least a slight change a few times a year over here!

  15. April 17, 2009 10:31 am

    That’s about what my backyard looks like too, an hour north of Denver, and I have to bike back to campus for an afternoon lab. Alas.

  16. April 17, 2009 11:40 am

    Be careful if you have to go out in that snow!!

    I’ll be checking back tomorrow to check on your readathon progress – have fun!!

  17. April 17, 2009 1:18 pm

    We have all that snow here and although I’m tired of it constantly coming–I am so ready for summer– the snow definitely is perfect read-a-thon weather :-)!

  18. April 17, 2009 1:53 pm

    Violet, the one good thing about it starting at 6 AM is that I get to go to bed at 6 AM on Sunday! :)

    Tara, I know! Apparently they’re predicting 6-12″ for the weekend!

    Nymeth, what’s up with the weather not realising it’s already spring?!

    Obsessed Reader, it is a great excuse for being a homebody. :D

    Molly, my chex mix is baking as I type this! I love it, so I’ll probably eat alllll of it, lol.

    Linda, I’m so glad you signed up to be a cheerleader! I think that’s the most important role. :D

    Bookfan, I’m not sure-we’re up in the mountains, so that probably affects things differently!

    Claire, I’m still working on getting her to vlog. ;)

    BermudaOnion, you’re like my sister (who lives in San Antonio), always rubbing it in! :p

    Beastmomma, I’ve got my fingers crossed. :)

    Lisa (Book Notes), I know now that you’ve signed up! And I’m glad about it. :D

    Lisa (Lists Life), lol-I’m glad you’re not getting any snow, even if you are gloating about it. ;) Now I’m going to take a moment to gloat that I don’t have little boys stuck in the house! hehe

    Sarah, very smart of you to drive early! And a wave right back to you. :)

    Jessica, it’s not my ideal place for sure. But it’s definitely gorgeous, if you don’t have anything to do.

    Corvus, that’s worse than me! And apparently y’all are in for a lot more snow this weekend than us.

    Dawn, I’m staying inside-don’t worry!

    Valerie, I like to sit outside for awhile during the read-a-thon, to give me a bit of a break from all the indoors-ines, but I don’t think that’ll be happening this year!

  19. April 17, 2009 4:27 pm

    Looks cold. I was at the park yesterday and got a sunburn on my face. Looks like you picked the wrong semester to skip school in CA. :)

    I still haven’t decided if I will do the read-a-thon. I know. It’s getting close. I’ll decide before I go to bed.

  20. April 17, 2009 5:24 pm

    Oh my gosh, it’s nearly 70 in NYC, not to show off or anything, I’m just relieved.

  21. April 17, 2009 6:51 pm

    Good grief, where are you? We’re in full leaf and green as Ireland, here.

  22. April 18, 2009 5:52 am

    I’m sick of snow too in Chicago, but I think we’re done this year…..(Knock on wood).

    My weekends are usually more busy than the week, so I can’t spend the weekend reading. I dont’ usually get time to blog or bloghop on the weekend either! But I get plenty of reading in during the rest of the week and I’ll try to come visit more during the read-a-thon!

  23. April 18, 2009 3:49 pm

    YAY! I am not the only one in this dreaded snow storm!

Thank you for commenting! For a long while, my health precluded me replying to everyone. Yet I missed the conversation, so I'm now making an effort to reply again. It might take a few days though, and there will be times when I simply can't. Regardless, I always read and value what you say.