Skip to content

Library Loot: August 3rd

August 3, 2012

Library Loot is a weekly event co-hosted by Claire from The Captive Reader and Marg from The Adventures of an Intrepid Reader that encourages bloggers to share the books they’ve checked out from the library. If you’d like to participate, just write up your post-feel free to steal the button-and link it using the Mr. Linky any time during the week. And of course check out what other participants are getting from their libraries!

Rather than just sharing what I brought home this week, I thought I might as well catch everyone up on everything I have out from library right now! This includes physical books, ebooks, and audiobooks. No vlog, because my health’s a bit cranky and I’m just not up for recording one. So I added brief comments in parentheses explaining why each of these came home with me. :) Have to keep it short and sweet, because my wrists aren’t interested in typing.

Titles & Covers

  • Take Three Tenses: A Fugue in Time by Rumer Godden (In mood for comfort reading and miss Jenny)
  • The Clutter Cure by Judi Culbertson (Rebecca just posted about this and it was available as ebook)
  • Galore by Michael Crummey (Started the audiobook version in Mexico and enjoyed it, but couldn’t finish before due date)
  • The Dogs of Bedlam Farm by Jon Katz (In the mood for doggy nonfiction)
  • The Boy in the Suitcase by Lene Kaaberbol (Saw her latest on Netgalley and she sounded interesting)
  • The Paris Enigma by Pable de Santis (Caught my eye when browsing ebooks)

  • Instruments of Darkness by Imogen Robertson (Saw her latest on Netgalley and she sounded interesting)
  • Periodic Tales by Hugh Aldersey-Williams (Started this earlier and enjoyed it but didn’t finish before having to return it; heard about it from Simon’s post)
  • The Forest Unseen  by David George Haskell (Had this from Netgalley but didn’t manage to read before it expired, so got it from library)
  • Redemption in Indigo by Karen Lord (Ana’s review)
  • A Taste for Death by P. D. James (Dalgleish series is comfort reading)
  • On Rereading by Patricia Meyer Spacks (Not sure where I came across this, but I couldn’t resist it)

  • The Ship Who Sang by Anne McCaffrey (From Gender in SFF reading list)
  • Pavilion of Women by Pearl S. Buck (Enjoyed Peony a couple months ago)
  • Sonechka by Ludmila Ulitskaya (Loved the novel of hers I read last year)
  • So Vast the Prison by Assia Djebar (Reading Women and Gender in Islam made me want to read more feminist ME authors)
  • Desertion by Abdulrazak Gurnah (Loved the other Gurnah novel I read)
  • The Other End of the Leash by Patricia McConnell (Read and loved this last year, thinking about rereading)

  • The Great Arizona Orphan Abduction by Linda Gordon (Another one I started, enjoyed, and had to return before finishing; originally picked up thanks to Marilyn)
  • Segu by Maryse Conde (Because of Kinna)
  • Water Ghosts by Shawna Yang Ryan (Sounds intriguing)
  • The Lieutenant by Kate Grenville (Loved the first in the trilogy)
  • Lizard by Banana Yoshimoto (Love Yoshimoto)
  • Fair Play by Tove Jansson (Loved A Summer Book)

  • Gospel in the Global Village by Katharine Jefferts Schori (Interested in progressive Christianity)
  • A People’s History of Christianity by Diana Butler Bass (Interested in progressive Christianity)
  • Discretion by Elizabeth Nunez (Love Nunez)
  • Unbound Feet by Judy Yung (Also because of Marilyn)
  • Acacia: The War with the Mein by David Anthony Durham (In a fantasy mood)
  • On the Contrary by Andre Philippus Brink (Love South African lit)

  • The Wasps, The Poet and the Women & The Frogs by Aristophanes (Part of Greek Classics Challenge)
  • The Following Story by Cees Nooteboom (Iris and her Dutch lit month)
  • Opera 101 by Fred Plotkin (Love opera but would like to learn more)
  • The Starry Rift by James Tiptree Jr. (From Gender in SFF reading list)
  • Justice and Her Brothers by Virginia Hamilton (In fantasy mood lately)

Find out more via my LibraryThing collection.

Any of these leaping out of you, or that you’ve already read and think I absolutely have to get to before they’re due?

17 Comments leave one →
  1. Erika permalink
    August 3, 2012 6:50 am

    Loved Galore! I hope you keep on enjoying it.

  2. August 3, 2012 7:14 am

    I know you’re not necessarily looking for new recommendations here, but if you’re in the mood for doggy nonfiction and haven’t read this one, I highly recommend Mark Doty’s Dog Years. I loved it!

    • August 4, 2012 12:00 am

      You just posted about that one, yes? I bookmarked it to put Doty on my TBR list! :D

  3. August 3, 2012 7:32 am

    Wow, so many good books! The Dogs of Bedlam Farm and The Other End of the Leash look very appealing to me.

  4. August 3, 2012 9:48 am

    Oh wow ! That’s quite a lot ! How many libraries are you a member of :) ? Anyway its seems like you have a good collection lined up

    • August 4, 2012 12:01 am

      Just one. But I can check out 50 physical items at once, plus 15 digital ones. Public libraries in the US rock. ;)

      • August 6, 2012 5:36 pm

        My style of reading is to gulp. I read for different reasons; curiosity about facts and peoples, adventure, comfort and entertainment. Sometimes for sheer enjoyment from intellectual or emotional stimulation. Sometimes to expand and learn and in turn use what I understand to do my small part in righting wrongs. My focus professionally was on the diversity of women, which brings together several on the reasons above. But my style is not so neat and pretty. I gulp up words and ideas and emotions.
        Most of my favorite recent books I learned about from you. But there are a few others. If you haven’t read Lillian Nattel’s River, do. Best of comfort reading.

      • August 7, 2012 7:57 am

        Great description of your reading style!

        >>Most of my favorite recent books I learned about from you.

        What a privilege! I feel the same way about your blog; every book you’ve recommend that I’ve read I’ve loved! I need to start reading even more. And I put River on hold.

  5. August 3, 2012 10:58 am

    The Clutter Cure is something I will look into. Always looking for ways to reduce clutter. Enjoy your books!

  6. August 3, 2012 11:16 am

    I love Tove Jansson, and although Fair Play is my least favourite of her books, I still love it. I’m currently reading her newly-translated short story collection Art in Nature (don’t think it’s out in US yet, though.)

    I have no idea what Periodic Tales is about, I just liked the cover – glad that it was led to someone sampling it!

    • August 4, 2012 12:01 am

      I know, that’s why I felt kind of silly linking to your post, but the book lives up to its cover! You have no idea how challenging it is to find good popular chemistry books. ;)

      Also, this is the only other adult Jansson my library has, which is why I went for it second. After this I’ll have to ILL her others!

  7. August 3, 2012 9:57 pm

    Awesome variety, as always! I loved The Summer Book and like you am looking forward to reading more by Tove Jansson, though I’m hoping to start with Travelling Light. I read Opera 101 a long, long time ago but I thought it was a great introduction (and one I should probably revisit as I’m sure I’ve forgotten half of it). Enjoy your loot!

  8. August 3, 2012 11:02 pm

    I just ordered Periodic Tales! :) So much to read…

  9. August 4, 2012 3:30 pm

    I’m curious to hear what you’ll think of Nooteboom. And I really want to read Redemption in Indigo (I think she has a new book coming out soon too!) I may need to break my ban and order it.

  10. August 8, 2012 2:57 am

    Hello Eva, I am sorry i haven’t visited for so long! Granny Savidge has been ill and then suddenly my laptop decided that it was time to become ill too and now it is no more and its taken a new one to find me doing anything other than working and writing blog posts, but I am back… but where have the library loot video’s gone? One of the highlights of my week those.

    Read the wonderful Redemption in Indigo, would love your thoughts, I read it for The Readers Podcast and the Summer Book Club and it was a really interesting read, recommended.

  11. Anonymous permalink
    August 9, 2012 2:10 pm

    Hi, I just wanna say that Water Ghost by Shawna Yang Ryan is a fascinating book. I read it last summer, her writing is beautiful and exquisite.

  12. August 22, 2012 2:10 am

    I look forward to your thoughts on The Clutter Cure…my sister is a bit of an organizing freak, her birthday is coming up, and I’ve been thinking she might like a few books on her favorite subject!

Thank you for commenting! For a long while, my health precluded me replying to everyone. Yet I missed the conversation, so I'm now making an effort to reply again. It might take a few days though, and there will be times when I simply can't. Regardless, I always read and value what you say.