Skip to content

Library Loot: March 3-9, 2010

March 3, 2010

library-lootLibrary Loot is a weekly event co-hosted by myself and Marg that encourages bloggers to share the books they’ve checked out from the library. If you’d like to participate, just write up your post-feel free to steal the button-and link it using the Mr. Linky any time during the week. And of course check out what other participants are getting from their libraries!

Want to share your loot?

Yesterday afternoon, I recorded my vlog. I’m feeling a bit tired and like I have a cold coming on, but I didn’t realise until I was editing the video how much that shows through! I think I’m talking at half my normal speed, and I keep pausing to try to collect my thoughts, lol. I look pretty sick too, but don’t worry: I’ve been taking Zicam regularly, so hopefully it’ll ward off the worst (my mom’s got a case of bronchitis, so I have my fingers crossed I didn’t get it from her). Anyway, here it is!


Jesus by Marcus Borg (World Religion Challenge), The Unknown Ajax by Georgette Heyer (Classics Circuit), A Journey of One’s Own by Thalia Zepatos (for fun)


Let it Rain Coffee by Angie Cruz (for fun), The Night Counter by Alia Yunis (for fun), Vanessa and Virginia by Susan Sellers (Not the TV Book Group)


Happy Family by Wendy Lee (for fun), Origin by Diana Abu-Jaber (for fun), Across a Hundred Mountains by Reyna Grande (for fun)


Swimming Toward the Light by Angela Teahan Leone (for fu), The Translation of Dr. Apelles by David Truer (for fun), West of the Jordan by Laila Halaby (for fun)


The Indian Lawyer by James Welch (for fun), The Consequences of Love by Sulaiman Addonia (for fun), A Wild Sheep Chase by Haruki Murakami (Japanese Book Group)

72 Comments leave one →
  1. March 3, 2010 3:33 am

    I love the sound of The Night Counter and The Consequences of Love. Hope you feel better soon.

    • March 4, 2010 1:14 pm

      Thanks Marg! :) Those are my two fave covers from this week’s loot-I can’t wait to get to them!

  2. March 3, 2010 4:49 am

    I’m reading my first Georgette Heyer right now and I’m really loving it. Great loot!

    • March 4, 2010 1:14 pm

      Isn’t she fun? I started reading her a couple years ago, thanks to book bloggers, and she’s been one of my dependable light authors ever since!

  3. March 3, 2010 5:25 am

    What a fabulous selection of books this week. I want lots of them. I shall furiously write them on my TBR list.

    • March 4, 2010 1:15 pm

      hehe! I can’t imagine keeping a pen-and-paper TBR list! It’d full a whole notebook!

  4. March 3, 2010 5:38 am

    That is an awful cover for Heyer, agreed. The city I used to live in only had large print Heyers as well and the covers were…interesting, to say the least. I’d seen The Consequences of Love at my library but it was on one of those days when I was checking out a ridiculous number of books already, so I felt that picking it up would be a little extreme – looking forward to hearing what you think of it! Also intrigued by Swimming Towards the Light.

    • March 4, 2010 1:16 pm

      It’s odd how the large print covers are usually different, and uglier, than the normal print ones. I sympathise with the whole seeing an interesting book, but library bag is already full thing. :)

  5. March 3, 2010 6:49 am

    “Let it Rain Coffee” piques my curiosity. “Vanessa and Virginia” was great!

    I can never check out more than three books each time, and then I scramble to get them read before they’re due, because I’m going back and forth between these books and my TBRs and my review books!

    Alas…so little time, so many books!

  6. March 3, 2010 7:42 am

    Great loot. Hope your sore throat feels better soon!

  7. March 3, 2010 8:00 am

    I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE James Welch’s work. The Indian Lawyer isn’t my favorite of his work, but I still love everything he’s written, for its contemporary exploration of native issues. I hope you like it! Oh, and thanks for sharing. I now have four new books I need to go check out. :)

    • March 4, 2010 1:17 pm

      Ohh-really?! Well, what’s your favourite of his?

  8. March 3, 2010 8:01 am

    You know how I love these posts and it was the perfect pick me up today so thanks very much, hope you are feeling much better soon.

    Interesting mix of titles as always and very pleased to see one of the Not The TV Book Group titles in there, looking forward to seeing you at the discussions on Sunday!

    • March 4, 2010 1:24 pm

      Thanks Simon! I’m glad I was able to brighten your day a little. :)

      Um, I ended up abandoning Vanessa & Virginia, because I realised 40 pages in that it just wasn’t working for my tastes. I feel bad, but I’m hoping the next book y’all discuss I’ll like more! I’m still upset I missed The Girl w/ the Glass Feet discussion…I’m on the library queue, but it’ll probably be another month before I get it!

  9. March 3, 2010 8:03 am

    You always find such interesting reads. Haven’t read any of them myself but I’ll be waiting to hear your thoughts on them all :) Enjoy and hope you feel better!

  10. March 3, 2010 8:16 am

    Eva, I hope you start the feel better. A Journey of One’s Own, Swimming Towards the Light and Happy Family have caught my eye; thanks for bringing it to my attention.

    • March 4, 2010 1:25 pm

      No problem-I hope if you get them you enjoy them!

  11. March 3, 2010 9:06 am

    Very interesting loot this week, the premise for Happy Family sounds really interesting. You’ve brought up a Heyer I haven’t read as well, but with a truly hideous cover I agree. I hope you feel better soon.

    • March 4, 2010 6:19 pm

      Thanks Bitsy! Happy Family has such a great idea, doesn’t it?! I hope the writing lives up to it, lol.

  12. March 3, 2010 9:32 am

    Fell better soon! I have that version of The Unknown Ajax- I don’t like the Sourcebooks covers, as I’ve said before (or many of the Arrow ones). I prefer the covers from the 50s and 60s myself. But that one isn’t so bad!! I hope you like that book- I am feeling the pressure now!

    A Journey of One’s Own sounds great. I thought you said you also had Dead Souls?

    • March 4, 2010 1:26 pm

      I’ve already e-mailed you, but just to point out, the cover I used in the collage isn’t the one that I have. (I tend to pick the prettiest cover I see for my collages! lol) Trust me-it’s pretty ugly. ;)

  13. March 3, 2010 10:30 am

    What a wonderful selection of books – I’m hoping my library will have some of them.

    Hope you feel better soon.

  14. March 3, 2010 11:05 am

    I couldn’t help but notice that all of these books have especially pretty covers! :)

  15. March 3, 2010 11:06 am

    Hope you feel better Eva!

  16. March 3, 2010 12:11 pm

    It is so dangerous for me to visit your blog while I’m taking a class! All of these books sound so wonderful. I did put two of them on my TBR list and am trying not think about them for now :)

    • March 4, 2010 1:28 pm

      hehe-I’m a bad influence! ;) I bet you’re reading lots of good books for your class though!

  17. March 3, 2010 1:19 pm

    oooo, I’ve been wanting to read A Wild Sheep Chase for so long!
    I envy you for your local library. The one nearest me has 20 copies of Palin’s Going Rogue but only like 3 of Murakami’s books. Oh, the pitfalls of living in Texas…

    • March 4, 2010 1:29 pm

      I already e-mailed you! But let’s just say, I live in a very conservative town. ;)

  18. Kathleen permalink
    March 3, 2010 1:34 pm

    Hope you feel better soon Eva!

  19. March 3, 2010 1:58 pm

    Lovely loot! The Night Counter, The Translation of Dr. Apelles, The Consequences of Love & Borg’s book on Jesus especially caught my eye. The Consequences of Love was the only one of those that our library has, and I requested it immediately. :)
    Enjoy your loot!

    Greetings,
    Tiina

    • March 4, 2010 1:29 pm

      I wonder if you’ll end up reading Consequences of Love before me! :)

  20. March 3, 2010 2:05 pm

    Aw, feel better, lady! Wild Sheep Chase is great fun and also thought-provoking; I’ll be curious about your thoughts when you get around to it. :-)

    • March 4, 2010 1:31 pm

      Thanks Emily! I’ll be posting about Wild Sheep Chase next week since part of a gorup discussion. :)

  21. fleurfisher permalink
    March 3, 2010 2:45 pm

    What a wonderful selection of books. The Night Counter and The Consequences of Love are on my wishlist now.

    • March 4, 2010 1:31 pm

      Don’t they look marvelous?! I hope to start them soon!

  22. March 3, 2010 5:21 pm

    I got the button to work! Thank you sooooooooo much!

  23. March 3, 2010 5:42 pm

    I have heard good things about Marcus Borg, and I am totally surprised at how much I am enjoying the Georgette Heyer book I am reading. The Grand Sophy? It is delightful. I hope you enjoy yours too!

    • March 4, 2010 1:32 pm

      I’ve heard great things about The Grand Sophy! I’ve enjoyed all of the Heyer’s that I’ve read, so I’m looking forward to another one. :D If you haven’t read Friday’s Child, it’s my favourite Heyer so far! (I think I’ve read 6 of her books now.)

  24. March 3, 2010 8:59 pm

    As usual, you just added a ton of books to my TBR list. The Consequences of Love, West of Jordan, and The Translation are just a few of the books that look really good. Happy reading.

  25. March 4, 2010 5:15 am

    So many interesting books this week! As ever – I think I say that every week! Virginia and Vanessa looks especially interesting. I do agree with you about the Heyer cover that you had in your video. The one in your post isn’t as bad!

    Hope you’re feeling better!

    • March 4, 2010 1:34 pm

      I ended up abandoning Vanessa and Virginia, but it was a personal taste thing rather than something wrong with the book itself. So you should still give it a try if you’re interested! ;)

  26. March 4, 2010 8:49 am

    One of these days I am finally going to read a Georgette Heyer book. Enjoy your loot!

    • March 4, 2010 1:34 pm

      She’s great fun! My fave so far is Friday’s Child. :)

  27. March 4, 2010 10:22 am

    I have simply GOT to read a Georgette Heyer. I may head to the library later today, and will make a mental note to pick one up. I love the cover of “A Journey of One’s Own.” I know that doesn’t necessarily translate into a good book, but that’s very attractive.

    I’m reading a non-library book (at least for one of my non-fiction reads of the moment), “Fear to Freedom” about, essentially, how not to be a victim. The author, Rosemary Trible, was raped at gunpoint and the book is about how she came through her journey and how her life was transformed, with the help of forgiveness and faith, and subsequently, freedom. (She’s the wife of a former senator, by the way.) It’s for anyone who wants to move past their past hurts and traumas, reconcile anger and get to a much better place in their lives.

  28. March 4, 2010 12:56 pm

    I’ve heard great things about The Unknown Ajax. I’m loving getting to know Georgette Heyer!

    • March 4, 2010 1:35 pm

      I love that she wrote so many books, so I know that I’ll have a wide pool to choose from for years to come! :D

  29. March 4, 2010 5:14 pm

    You always find the best loot!

  30. March 4, 2010 6:17 pm

    Giggle. I know I’ve been in my line of work too long when The Unknown Ajax sounds like a programming book instead of a historical romance. I hope you stop by Library Loot.

  31. March 5, 2010 7:14 am

    What a great stash! Thanks for hosting!!

  32. March 6, 2010 11:50 pm

    What a great selection of books, Eva! I’ve made myself stop at only 2 or 3 library books now, because there’s other books piling up, unread.

    The Night Counter sounds awesome. I think I’m going to add it to my ever-growing TBR list… and take another speed reading course or clone myself!

    • March 10, 2010 4:24 am

      If you figure out how to clone yourself, let me know. ;)

  33. March 9, 2010 5:22 pm

    I’m excited to have found the meme “Library Loot”. I plan on participating next week.
    But I was wondering….do you read all of those books in one week? Or do you, like me, gather everything that looks interesting, read what you can and take back the rest?
    Have a good day.

    • March 10, 2010 4:25 am

      Looking forward to your participation! (And you don’t have to post on Wednesday, fyi.)

      No-I don’t read all of the books in one week! My library has 3-week checkouts, and 2 renewals, as long as there aren’t holds. I’d say I usually eventually read maybe 80% of the books I check out. :)

  34. March 23, 2010 4:00 pm

    Hi, I’m from Brazil, and I saw the ‘Library Loot’ in some blogs, and I love it!
    I thought it was such a good idea! :)
    So, I came here to ask if there was any possibility for me to participate – but I would have to translate it, since I write in my blog in portuguese.. of course, I would say that it was your idea and link your blog!
    If you don’t like it, I would totally comprehend! :)
    Anyway, thank you! :D

Trackbacks

  1. Library Loot « Fleur Fisher reads
  2. Library Loot (4 March 2010) « Olduvai Reads
  3. BooksPlease » Blog Archive » Library Loot
  4. Library Loot « The Captive Reader
  5. Library Loot! « Reading and Rooibos
  6. Library Loot! | Teabrarian

Thank you for commenting! For a long while, my health precluded me replying to everyone. Yet I missed the conversation, so I'm now making an effort to reply again. It might take a few days though, and there will be times when I simply can't. Regardless, I always read and value what you say.