Skip to content

A Photographic Interlude

January 9, 2010

Some of y’all mentioned you’d like to see pictures taken with my wonderful new camera Betsy! Well, she’s been so much fun to get to know (I’m one of those people who read the owner’s manual cover-to-cover), and as a very, very beginning photographer whose knowledge about extended to being able to override the automatic flash, she’s been patient and kind. And on Tuesday, I was up at sunrise and not feeling dizzy (woohoo!), so I bundled up and went outside to give Betsy her first trial run in the great outdoors. I had SO much fun taking pictures (unlike with my old camera, which inevitably disappointed me with its awful quality), trying out her wonderful macro mode, zooming as far as her 12x lens allows, and everything in between. :D If y’all are shopping around for a digital camera under $250, and you don’t need full manual controls, I’d suggest checking her out.

Anyway, here are my favourites of the bunch. Please be kind…this is a very new hobby for me, so I’m still at the fragile seedling stage. Oh, and you can click to make them huge, because Betsy wants to show off her 10.1 megapixel power. hehe


I love the sky colour in this one. As soon as I took it, I realised it’d look better vertical. But as I was shifting the camera, the bird apparently got bored…

…and flew away!


I love snow. :D


I love the colours here, although I think I could have done better framing it.


This turned out just how I imagined it in my head!


And this is what I did once photo-time was over! I just thought y’all would appreciate it. ;)

Do you veteran photographers have any tips and tricks for me?

40 Comments leave one →
  1. January 9, 2010 8:52 am

    Your photos look great! I definitely need to experiment more or take classes to learn more about photography myself.

    • January 10, 2010 11:42 am

      Thanks! I’ve been checking out photography books from the library and various websites, but I have yet to find a really awesome resource.

  2. January 9, 2010 9:19 am

    Beautiful! I am dreaming of a new camera and have no real hints except that with digital cameras you can practice, practice, practice and get a feel for what works and what doesn’t.

    • January 10, 2010 11:43 am

      I think it’s going to be a ‘practice makes perfect’ kind of thing! :)

  3. January 9, 2010 9:19 am

    Eva…your photos are lovely. Have fun experimenting –looks like you are off to a great start.

  4. January 9, 2010 9:57 am

    I had camera envy a couple of Christmases ago and my Hub surprised me with a Nikon SLR. It’s manual and it’s taken me all year and one class to get to know it pretty well, but I love it.

    Your pics are lovely and even though the bird flew off, that’s quite an action shot!

    • January 10, 2010 11:43 am

      That’s awesome! A SLR gives you so much more control. :) I would have loved a fully manual point-and-shoot (like the Canon Powershot 5), but it was outside the budget. hehe

  5. January 9, 2010 9:57 am

    I love photos! And I love taking pictures and using them on my blogs as headers. On Word Press, you have to crop an image, and it’s fun to decide which part of the picture to put in.

    My eldest son is a photographer by profession. He is amazing, if I do say so myself! One of his photos is the header for my Reflections blog here:

    http://laurel-rainsnowsreflections.blogspot.com

    In the right top sidebar, I have a link to his site, where he has a number of interesting photos. Since he lives in Berlin right now, after ten years in Prague, his photos have a lot of castles, etc.

    Your photos remind me of some of his, especially the bottom one! Keep at it, and I hope to see more here.

    • January 10, 2010 11:44 am

      I’m thinking of doing a blog makeover once I take the picture header photo! ;) That’s so neat that your son’s a professional, and I’m definitely complimented that I remind you of him a little.

  6. January 9, 2010 9:59 am

    Eva, these are very nice. I’m glad you shared them. I especially like the one with the bird. It’s hopeful, I think. Take care!

  7. January 9, 2010 11:19 am

    The second from top with the bird flying away is great! Sometimes the best shots happen, when the bird gets bored. ;) Cameras are such fun, aren’t they? Enjoy getting to know yours even better!

    Greetings,
    Tiina

    • January 10, 2010 11:45 am

      Cameras are definitely fun! Do you take a bunch of photographs?

  8. January 9, 2010 11:45 am

    Lovely photos. The sunrise through the pine tree is frameable.

    Do you ever read The Pioneer Woman’s blog? She posts inspiring photos and photo tips @ (thepioneerwoman.com.

    • January 10, 2010 11:45 am

      Thank you for the compliment and the link! I really enjoyed perusing the photo tips. :)

  9. January 9, 2010 1:25 pm

    Gorgeous pictures. I especially like the tree branch against the sun.

    • January 10, 2010 11:45 am

      Thanks Amanda! That’s my fave too. ;)

  10. January 9, 2010 2:01 pm

    Very artistic. Can’t wait to see more.

  11. January 9, 2010 4:29 pm

    I am completely jealous! The pictures are beautiful and close-up are amazing.

    • January 10, 2010 11:46 am

      And that’s with a clueless photographer behind the lens, hehe. Betsy rocks! :D

  12. January 9, 2010 4:37 pm

    Love the snow photo. Kind of tells a story. =)

  13. January 9, 2010 5:33 pm

    You’ve inspired me to do a photographic interlude post (I hope that’s ok). I also love photography and am so excited for you that you have a new camera to play with! I hope you’ll post more as you go along. Here’s a link to mine: http://helensbookblog.blogspot.com/2010/01/photographic-interlude-stolen-from-eva.html

    • January 10, 2010 11:47 am

      Of course that’s ok-it was wonderful to see your photographs! :)

  14. January 9, 2010 6:11 pm

    I love the first photo, it shows you have a really good eye which I think can be more important than technical skill. I really need to get back into photography I haven’t done any for ages, I’m just a beginner too though. :)

    • January 10, 2010 11:47 am

      Thanks so much Dominique! Beginners unite, hehe. :D

  15. January 10, 2010 12:07 am

    Lovely. Fun stuff! My advice would be to just take pictures every day. You’ll get to know what works for you and what doesn’t. Don’t be afraid to experiment! That’s the joy of digital photography… you aren’t wasting film!

    • January 10, 2010 11:48 am

      That’s great advice, and you always have wonderful photos Daphne! I do think that’s the best part of digital photography…you can never take too many shots!

  16. January 10, 2010 2:27 am

    Love the photos. Especially the last one, great colours. It would be perfect without that upc on the book. Not a criticism and I’m no photographer. I just hate upc’s and other junk stuck on the front of things. A great beginning though.

    • January 10, 2010 11:49 am

      Thank you! I know-I hate that our library has the bar codes on the front cover. They do it so that self-checkout is easier, but it still annoys me. ;)

  17. January 10, 2010 6:45 am

    I love the solours of the tree and the sky with the plane trail stunning. I also love the fact you have named your camera, genius!

    • January 10, 2010 11:49 am

      Thanks Simon! Living on the Air Force Academy makes plane trails pretty common, hehe. Betsy rather named herself! ;)

  18. justbookreading permalink
    January 10, 2010 9:16 am

    The pictures are wonderful! Have fun with the new camera.

  19. January 10, 2010 3:13 pm

    Oh how exciting! Well the only tip I have, is carry your camera with you everywhere. I need to start doing better about that myself. You never know when a photo opportunity will present itself.

    Good photos and I actually really like the one with the birdie flying away. Action shot! :)

    • January 11, 2010 10:06 am

      That’s a great tip-good thing most of my purses are already big so that I can carry a book with me! hehe

  20. January 10, 2010 6:52 pm

    I love your pics, Eva! They’re beautiful! (I especially love the one with the tree.)

Thank you for commenting! For a long while, my health precluded me replying to everyone. Yet I missed the conversation, so I'm now making an effort to reply again. It might take a few days though, and there will be times when I simply can't. Regardless, I always read and value what you say.