Skip to content

Library Loot: February 25-March 4, 2009

February 25, 2009

library-lootLibrary Loot is a weekly event co-hosted by myself and Alessandra that encourages bloggers to share the books they’ve checked out from the library. If you’d like to participate, just write up your post-feel free to steal the button-and link it using the Mr. Linky any time during the week. And of course check out what other participants are getting from their libraries!

I got a lot of loot this week, much of it children’s fiction due to Sarah’s post. The Green Knowe books were an absolute favourite of my childhood, but I thought there were only three-it turns out there are six!!! I would want to harass my mother for her obvious parental neglect ( ;) ), except this means I have three to discover as a grown-up. Anyway, on to the books!
Row One
The Children of Green Knowe, The Treasure of Green Knowe, The River of Green Knowe, all by L.M. Boston (this are the three in the series I’ve read, but of course now I need to reread them)
Row Two
A Stranger at Green Knowe, An Enemy at Green Knowe, The Stones of Green Knowe, all by L.M. Boston (this are the three I haven’t read yet-I’m so excited!!)
Row Three
The Diamond in the Window by Jane Langton (because the more the merrier with children’s lit), The Count of Monte Cristo by Alexandre Dumas (for the Chunkster challenge-I’m in the mood for some swashbuckling, take-no-prisoners revenge!), The Magic Half by Annie Barrows (once again, I went on a bit of children’s lit spree)
Row Four
River Town by Peter Hessler (for the World Citizen challenge-the only category I have left is ‘memoir,’ and I enjoyed Hessler’s other book), The Sounds of Poetry by Robert Pinsky (for the Reading Dangerously challenge, my second poetry appreciation book), Loot by Sharon Waxman (for the Art History challenge; gotta love the title in a Library Loot post!!)
Row Five
Jackie Ormes by Nancy Goldstein (continuing the Black History kick; lately, I’ve been intrigued by the idea of a graphic history book) and Freedom’s Daughters by Lynne Olson (yet another Black History inspired book; I’m excited about the idea of a women’s history)

Want to play along?

29 Comments leave one →
  1. February 25, 2009 6:57 am

    Ooh, my kids and I loved the “Green Knowe” books! And, Jane Langton’s books too. Have fun! I’ll play later or tomorrow as we have a library stop today!

  2. February 25, 2009 7:14 am

    It seems like your library has a wonderful selection! How lucky you are!

    I’ve never heard of these Green Knowe books. What is the basic idea behind them? (Also, how exciting it must have been to discover there were more for you to read! I always wish this would happen with Jane Austen! ;) ).

  3. February 25, 2009 10:59 am

    Okay, I’m behind. I’ve never even heard of the “Green Knowe” books. Shame on me. I must check them out. :) That’s a good haul.

  4. February 25, 2009 11:01 am

    My goodness, so much loot! Makes me want to run to the library and take out some children’s books. In fact, I have a whole list of them…maybe now is the best time to do it!

  5. February 25, 2009 11:38 am

    Lots of stuff to read here! Enjoy!

    I have been putting some books on hold so I’m sure I’ll have some loot to report on next week :)

  6. February 25, 2009 12:58 pm

    I think you should be thanking your mom…I’m sure she just wanted you to have a wonderful little treat in adulthood!

  7. February 25, 2009 1:21 pm

    Great list! I love the “Loot” title. :) I can’t wait to make another run to the library and participate in this again. Right now I’m still working on my pile from several weeks ago.

  8. fleurfisher permalink
    February 25, 2009 1:24 pm

    How wonderful to find so many books in the same series. Enjoy!

  9. February 25, 2009 1:33 pm

    I’ve never heard of that series. I’m going to see if my library has it.

  10. February 25, 2009 2:17 pm

    I’ve never heard of the Green Knowe books either.. and I’m interested, so.. waiting for your thoughts on that.

  11. February 25, 2009 3:08 pm

    That’s a lot of books. The Green Knowe books look fabulous!

  12. Jess permalink
    February 25, 2009 3:11 pm

    Just posted up my loot. A small haul this week, but a good one none the less.

  13. February 25, 2009 6:26 pm

    LOVED Count of Monte Cristo. It took me ages to get through because I only had time to read during my lunch break (when I was working full time). I can’t imagine reading it before it was due back at the library!

    This week I got The Odyssey and a collection of short stories by Landolfi (which I’ve already finished!!). I’ve also requested the audiobook for Mere Christianity. I have The Discoverers in progress, and since I’ve started it and quit a few times, I’m really determined to finish it this time — so I’m trying to keep my library loot down. (I know you asked me about Discoverers last year…..so thought I’d mention I’m going at it again now.) :)

    Happy Wednesday!

  14. February 25, 2009 7:36 pm

    Here is my LOOT

  15. February 25, 2009 8:03 pm

    Sounds of Poetry sounds interesting. I think I’ll add that to my queue. I got Shop Your Closet which you got last week. I love finding new books. I’m really excited about this.

  16. February 26, 2009 5:25 am

    I’ve never heard of that series before. Will have to check it out!

  17. February 26, 2009 8:26 am

    It looks like you got some great reads once again! I’ve been meaning to reread the Nancy Drew series from when I was younger but haven’t gotten around to it yet. Enjoy!

  18. tuulenhaiven permalink
    February 26, 2009 8:31 am

    Wow, this is so exciting! I was sad to see that all the Green Knowe books had been put in the basement collection at my library, where books that haven’t been checked out in several years get stashed away… But it looks like I’ve accidentally sparked off a new interest. I hope every one of you loves them as much as I do!

    Diamond in the Window is another book I’ve forgotten about, but really enjoyed. I’m adding it to my TBR pile.

  19. February 26, 2009 4:41 pm

    The cover of The Magic Half is too cute! My daughter reads the author’s Ivy & Bean series.

  20. February 26, 2009 7:26 pm

    Oh dear, once again your library loot reminds me of the books that are already in my very long TBR list! Peter Hessler is one author I’ve been wanting to read for a while now. Will have to see about getting my hands on one of his books!

  21. February 26, 2009 7:29 pm

    Green Knowe! I loved those books when I was little. I remember that they scared me, but I don’t recall too much else about them. I’ve been meaning to borrow them from my library, too.

  22. February 27, 2009 6:50 am

    Somehow the Green Knowe books passed me by in my childhood although I vaguely remember them lined up on the shelf from my days as a library page in the children’s department. Perhaps it’s time to rectify that gap in my reading! I’ve been reading about poetry lately too (“The Art of the Poetic Line” by James Longenbach) and I’m going to put that Pinsky book on my list.

    I love the whole idea of the library loot posts and I joined in with my first post last night. Thanks to you and Alessandra for the idea and for hosting!

  23. Carol permalink
    February 27, 2009 12:45 pm

    I loved The COunt of Monte Cristo. It took me about a month to read last year, but it was totally worth it. And it was no trouble renewing it, since not many people are that interested in borrowing a 1400 page book from the library.

  24. March 1, 2009 12:56 pm

    Thanks for the lead on the Green Knowe books! I’m been a little off with posting and I’m sorry. Good intentions gone awry! :D

  25. Jenny permalink
    March 6, 2009 1:53 pm

    For some reason I never read the Green Knowe books when I was a kid. How I missed them I’ll never understand. I should get them now. And how I loved Jane Langton… The Fledgling was my favorite.

Trackbacks

  1. Library Loot « Fleur Fisher reads
  2. Library Loot 2/26 « Carol’s Notebook
  3. Library Loot, Week Something In March | Page Turner Reviews
  4. Library Loot: March 7th 2009 « A Book Sanctuary

Thank you for commenting! For a long while, my health precluded me replying to everyone. Yet I missed the conversation, so I'm now making an effort to reply again. It might take a few days though, and there will be times when I simply can't. Regardless, I always read and value what you say.