Skip to content

Library Loot: February 18-24, 2009

February 18, 2009

library-lootLibrary Loot is a weekly event co-hosted by myself and Alessandra that encourages bloggers to share the books they’ve checked out from the library. If you’d like to participate, just write up your post-feel free to steal the button-and link it using the Mr. Linky any time during the week. And of course check out what other participants are getting from their libraries!

Here’s my loot for the week:
My Library Loot!
Their Eyes Were Watching God by Zora Neal Hurston(more Black History Month reading), Finding George Orwell in Burma by Emma Larkin (for the Well-Seasoned Reader Challenge), A Lesson Before Dying by Ernest Gaines (also for Black History Month)

Want to play along?

24 Comments leave one →
  1. fleurfisher permalink
    February 18, 2009 3:59 am

    That’s an interesting selection. I have “Their Eyes Were Watching God” unread, so I’ll be interested to know what you think.

  2. February 18, 2009 5:41 am

    Two of those books have been on my “always meant to read” list. The third – Finding George Orwell in Burma – has popped up quite a bit lately. Hmmm… I might have to add these to my “books to look for” list. I can’t call it a “to be read” list because it’s too long.

  3. February 18, 2009 6:31 am

    I’ve heard lots of good about Finding George Orwell in Burma, but never read it. I suppose I should throw it on the list, huh. I like Margaret’s name for it… :)

  4. February 18, 2009 6:53 am

    You already know what I think of A Lesson Before Dying. :-) I can’t wait to see your thoughts on it!

    Lezlie

  5. February 18, 2009 7:24 am

    I’ve read A Lesson In Dying back in college and it is really good. Hope you enjoy and I’ll be interested in hearing your thoughts!

  6. February 18, 2009 8:31 am

    You got some good ones this week. A Lesson Before Dying is in my TBR pile and it looks like I should get to it soon.

  7. February 18, 2009 10:09 am

    I’ve read Their Eyes Were Watching God and A Lesson Before Dying. Great books but I read them for classes and not sure I would have picked them up on my own so kudos to you!

  8. February 18, 2009 11:02 am

    Hi Eva,

    Thanks for your comments on Confession Tuesday. I knew by your remarks that you did not know I’m the worker bee behind Color Online Yes, we are running a contest online. Hosting a giveaway and link promotion as well.

    Black History Month Writers’ Contest

  9. February 18, 2009 2:17 pm

    Ooh, I quite enjoyed Their Eyes were Watching God and A Lesson Before Dying. Hope you enjoy them!

  10. February 18, 2009 3:09 pm

    I read A Lesson Before Dying while in college. It is a powerful book emotionally and psychologically, in that you are forced to question your self. I look forward to your review. :) Happy reading!

  11. February 19, 2009 12:11 am

    Ohhh, Finding George Orwell in Burma – am very much interested to hear what you think about that! I’ve been wanting to read that for a while (as well as Burmese Days) – and visit the country, too :-)

  12. February 19, 2009 1:34 pm

    I read Their Eyes Were Watching God at uni, a great read

  13. Carol permalink
    February 20, 2009 11:45 am

    I screwed up my first link. Sorry.

  14. February 21, 2009 3:33 am

    I love this idea!

    I’ve posted mine for this week – here.

  15. February 21, 2009 6:16 am

    FleurFisher, I’m nervous about Their Eyes Were Watching God, because it’s written in dialect. I hope I can settle in and enjoy it!

    Margaret, hehe “books to look for” is a great name for that list!

    Melissa, me too! I love the cover of Finding George Orwel in Burma. :D

    Lezlie, I was happy to read such a positive review!

    Samantha, thanks!

    BermudaOnion, oh the TBR pile…hehe…in my room, it’s a whole bookcase!

    Erika, thanks-I’ve read A Lesson Before Dying now, and I really wish I had a class to discuss it with. ;)

    Susan, I’ll try to get a review up in time! Thanks for the link. :D

    Michelle, glad to hear good thigns about it!

    Rebecca, I love powerful books. :D

    Megan, I just bought Burmese Days (since my library doesn’t have it), and I’m planning to read it first!

    Katrina, great!

    Carol, don’t worry-I deleted it for you. ;)

    Serendipity, thanks for playing along! Next week, use Mr. Linky as well so the other participants can visit you. :)

  16. February 22, 2009 7:41 am

    Oh, I really liked A Lesson Before Dying; it is very powerful. Their Eyes Were Watching God is on my list but I am a bit intimidated by it. I look forward to your review.

  17. February 22, 2009 7:18 pm

    I have way too many books waiting for me now. I didn’t check anything out this week.

  18. February 22, 2009 7:20 pm

    Eva,

    I think the dialect is easier to follow in TEWWG than say Color Purple.

  19. February 23, 2009 6:05 am

    Haven’t read any of those three, although I’ve got the Hurston book on my TBR list. And the Orwell in Burma book sounds interesting – I’ve always enjoyed reading about Orwell much more than actually reading his books!

Trackbacks

  1. Library Loot « Fleur Fisher reads
  2. Library Loot 2/19 « Carol’s Notebook
  3. Library Loot - Third Week in Feb 2009 « Care’s Online Book Club
  4. BooksPlease » Blog Archive » Library Matters
  5. Library Loot: February 18-24, 2009 « Related Reading

Thank you for commenting! For a long while, my health precluded me replying to everyone. Yet I missed the conversation, so I'm now making an effort to reply again. It might take a few days though, and there will be times when I simply can't. Regardless, I always read and value what you say.