Skip to content

One Book Meme

January 30, 2009

Stolen from Claire!

One book you’re currently reading: Ender’s Game by Orson Scott Card
One book that changed your life: Madame Secretary by Madeleine Albright
One book you’d want on a deserted island: an omnibus of Jane Austen’s novels
One book you’ve read more than once: Anna Karenina by Leo Tolstoy
One book you’ve never been able to finish: Catch 22 by Joseph Heller
One book that made you laugh: Good Omens by Terry Pratchett and Neil Gaiman
One book that made you cry: The Book Thief by Marcus Zusak
One book you keep rereading: Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen
One book you’ve been meaning to read: Palace of Desire by Naguib Mahfouz
One book you believe everyone should read: Les Miserables by Victor Hugo

Finally,
Grab the nearest book. Open it to page 56. Find the fifth sentence
“Beauty, whose conquests still are made
O’er hearts by cowards kept, or else betray’d!”
From The Discovery of Poetry by Frances Meyers; the poem is “Beauty” by Abraham Cowley.

If anyone wants to play along, feel free!

20 Comments leave one →
  1. January 30, 2009 10:52 am

    If you are meaning to read Palace of Desire by Naguib Mahfouz, may I then recommend Midaq Alley instead? Its way easier (not that you mention anything about things having to be easy) than Palace of Desire which, as the rest of the Cairo Trilogy is a hardship to chew through. I’ve tried….but then again, perhaps you will have more luck than I :)

  2. January 30, 2009 3:00 pm

    Eva,

    Thanks for the meme. My responses are here. I’ve posted a link to your post, too. Would be fun to reader others’ responses.

  3. January 30, 2009 3:43 pm

    I LOVED The Book Thief and Les Miserables. This is fun, I will have to play along!

  4. January 30, 2009 3:43 pm

    Yay for reading Ender’s Game! It’s about time :p I’m actually reading a book that’s all your fault right now too! The Sparrow. It’s great so far!

  5. January 30, 2009 6:21 pm

    I have to do this one, I really like it. Interesting answers. I have read Ender’s Game,The Book Thief, Les Miserable and one by Naguib Mahfouz, Autumn Quail.
    I’m off to see what others said.

  6. January 30, 2009 6:28 pm

    This is a great meme… I may have to steal it :)

    The Book Thief had me sobbing at the end. Seriously, it’s been a long time since a book had such an effect on me.

  7. January 30, 2009 7:13 pm

    I have my answers posted at my place. I haven’t gotten around to Les Mis. yet but I do intend to read it someday.

  8. January 30, 2009 7:28 pm

    I sobbed aloud reading The Book Thief. I don’t know how you could read it and not cry.

  9. January 30, 2009 8:44 pm

    I may have to snag this one sometime next week! I don’t read enough books that make me laugh. As a matter of fact I would really have to think about the last one that did….I want to read the Mahfouz book, too! As a matter of fact I just read an excellent review of the Cairo trilogy.

  10. January 30, 2009 9:22 pm

    I started reading the Book Thief a while back, but before I could finish it, I had to return it to the library. So I never got far enough in to cry, I suppose! I think I’ll have to borrow it again one day.

    Also, I’ve not read Les Mis, but I’d definitely like to one day!

  11. January 30, 2009 10:54 pm

    I loved Madame Secretary by Madeleine Albright! It’s my favorite memoir.

  12. January 31, 2009 12:47 am

    I definitely agree with you an a couple of them. Good Omens made me laugh, The Book Thief made me Cry. And Les Mis is one of my all-time favorites!! So, hell yeah. Everyone should read it!!

  13. January 31, 2009 1:29 am

    I can’t recall ever crying while reading.

    Join us for Little Lovin’ Monday. It’s a cool way to share cool reads you’ve enjoyed while blog hopping.

  14. January 31, 2009 5:25 pm

    I’ve read a lot of the books you posted except Les Miserables. The Book Thief made me cry too and I’m reading Pride and Prejudice right now!!

  15. January 31, 2009 7:50 pm

    Louise, thanks for the rec. I’ve already read Midaq Alley, and I loved Palace Walk so that’s why I want to read Palace of Desire. :)

    Susan, cool!

    Diane, great! :)

    Chris, hehe-I’ve only resisted for two years. :p Hope you like The Sparrow!

    Sandra, isn’t it a fun little meme? I haven’t read Autumn Quail but love the title.

    Iliana, it had me sobbing too!

    Petunia, Les Mis is awesome (I skimmed over some of the history parts, though-not going to lie). And your answers were fun!

    Lisa, I don’t know how anyone could get through that with a dry eye either.

    Danielle, I usually awkwardly laugh aloud in public, hehe. I’ve read Palace Walk, and loved it, so I really need to get around to the rest of the trilogy!

    Steph, you returned it unfinished?! You’re a bigger woman than me! :)

    Alyce, it’s definitely one of my favourite memoirs!

    Stephanie, awesome-we have the same taste!

    Susan, you never cry when you read? Wow-I cry pretty frequently!

    Staci, yay for P&P!!

  16. February 1, 2009 8:10 am

    I haven’t read The Book Thief yet (yeah, I’m in quite a small minority there), but Ender’s Game sure made me cry!

  17. February 2, 2009 11:25 am

    Debi, I know exactly what part of Ender’s game made you cry. ;) The Book Thief is So Intense.

Trackbacks

  1. One Book Meme : Bart’s Bookshelf
  2. One Book Meme | Defining Desire
  3. One Book Meme « Fleur Fisher reads

Thank you for commenting! For a long while, my health precluded me replying to everyone. Yet I missed the conversation, so I'm now making an effort to reply again. It might take a few days though, and there will be times when I simply can't. Regardless, I always read and value what you say.