Skip to content

Library Loot: January 7-13, 2009

January 7, 2009

library-lootEdited to add: I didn’t realise Alessandra already had pretty much the exact same idea. We’ve decided to co-host the event. :) When I mentioned the idea of “Library Loot” days, Sarah said it sounded like a good idea. Before that, I’d planned on just doing it for myself, but I figured I might as well see if there’s interest in doing it as a community meme, like Mailbox Monday. So, I made a simple little button (feel free to make a different one), armed myself with another Mr. Linky code, made my post title sound all official and decided to go for it! If you too want to share your week’s library loot, just write up a post, feel free to steal the button (it’d be extra-awesome if you linked it back to me), and then leave a direct link to your post in the Mr. Linky. While you’re there, you should go visit a couple other bloggers who have left their links. That way we can all see what we’ve gotten from the library recently! And you don’t have to write your post today-any time this week will do. If people want to participate, I’ll keep making it a group thing. And if people don’t, I’ll revel in my library loot all by myself. :p

Here’re my finds this week:
rowone
rowtwo
rowthree

Always going left to right, top row: Cereus Blooms at Night by Shan Mootoo (for the Caribbean Challenge), The Vegetable Dishes I Can’t Live Without by Molly Katzen (a cookbook-I’m going vegan, so I need some new recipes), Zenzele: a Letter to my Daughter by J. Nozipo Maraire (for the What’s in a Name? Challenge)
middle row: Napoleon’s Buttons by Penny LeCouter and Jay Burreson (for the Science Book Challenge), Commodore Hornblower by C.S. Forester (because I’ve missed Horatio!), Gilgamesh, trans. Stephen Mitchel (for the Martel-Harper Challenge)
bottom row: The Book of Imaginary Beings by Jorge Luis Borges (for the Latin American Challenge), Rereadings, ed. Anne Fadiman (for the Dewey Decimal Challenge), City of Oranges by Adam LeBor (for the World Citizen Challenge), and The Discovery of Poetry by Frances Mayer (for the My Year of Reading Dangerously Challenge)

Want to play along? Just sign up using Mr. Linky and leave me a comment on this post so I know your link is there. :)

Want to see what other bloggers have gotten from the library this week?
Bookworm Sarah
Debi
Lena
Becky
Sandra
Alyce
Daphne
Vasilly
Marg
Meg89
Michelle
Laura
Fleur Fisher
Sam
Melissa
Inkmage
Jeska
Scrap Girl
Laza
Chris
Maggie
Shona
Karen
Lu

71 Comments leave one →
  1. January 7, 2009 10:16 am

    This sounds like a great idea! I’ll definitely be participating on Monday when I pick up all my books that are on hold.

  2. January 7, 2009 10:25 am

    Going vegan! Good for you!! I can’t seem to overcome my love of cheese, otherwise I wouldn’t be far behind you. :-)

    Lezlie

  3. January 7, 2009 10:27 am

    Wow! That’s a lot of books. You must get to keep them longer than we do here.

  4. January 7, 2009 10:43 am

    I’m in! I was about to ask you if I could steal the idea, but now it looks like I don’t have to! I’m about to go post right now!

  5. January 7, 2009 11:11 am

    And what amazes me the most is that you’ll have these all read and returned before I can get the button saved and posted.

    So, I’ll just say here that I brought home Persepolis from the library yesterday and just got an email that Possession (on audio! like you once said was terrific!) ready the next time I’m there.

    Yay me!

  6. January 7, 2009 11:31 am

    I thought I’d let you know that Alessandra recently started a very similar meme! It’s an excellent idea, so no wonder you both had it!

    Also, there’s a Caribbean challenge? It’s probably for the best that I had forgotten about that :P

    I loved Gilgamesh. I hope you enjoy it too!

  7. January 7, 2009 11:36 am

    Alessandra has been doing this for about a month, called Library Stop. But I see Nymeth already told you.

    Great collection of books! Do you anticipate reading all of them before school begins again for you? How much time do you get?

  8. January 7, 2009 11:54 am

    Nice idea Eva! ;) I couldn’t come up with an allitterating name for this meme (had never heard of the word loot actually, I’ll go look it up in the dictionary), I’m glad you could! And yes, it’s true that I’ve been doing this for about a month, but I haven’t been able to get many people to participate.

  9. January 7, 2009 12:02 pm

    I don’t use the library. But it looks like you got yourself some fine books. :)

  10. January 7, 2009 12:16 pm

    Kool. I don’t believe I’ll be participating, though, since I have a ton of books at home and on my Kindle to get through first. Maybe next year!

    Plus, I’ve been reading like a snail lately. I think mental retrdation is beginning to set in.

  11. January 7, 2009 12:22 pm

    What a neat idea! I’ll get it up tomorrow, although I don’t go to the library every week–our checkout lasts a month, so I tend to check out more and go less.

    I’ll be interested to hear what you thought of Gilgamesh. I got it for Christmas and read through the introductory materials (warning: the into and history are a third of the book) but then I got sidetracked with my Library Loot, lol!

  12. January 7, 2009 1:06 pm

    I love it! I’ll be back with my link soon, as I just got a pile of goodies yesterday that I just have to share.

    Hope you enjoy Zenzele! I bought that a few months ago used at B&N. It just sounded wonderful, but not surprisingly, I haven’t read it yet.

  13. lena permalink
    January 7, 2009 1:20 pm

    Hah! It’s funny that you post about this today! I franticly wrote up what I got at the library in the wee-hours of the morning last night (I couldn’t sleep!) for today’s post.

    Next time I do the post, I’ll be using your pretty button and Mr. Linky. WordPress already published today’s post, I think!

    I’m glad you were able to find such good books at your library! I imagine yours must be a large one!

  14. January 7, 2009 1:28 pm

    Oooh the Book of Imaginary Beings! Such a lovely collection. Enjoy!

  15. January 7, 2009 1:32 pm

    I must confess that most of my reading is from the library so this challenge is right up my alley. I’ll come back and link after I’ve created a post. Consider me signed up please.

  16. January 7, 2009 4:03 pm

    Lu, great!

    Lezlie, you know, I love cheese too. That’s why I’m doing a trial run. But so far, I’m not really missing it…I mean, I love steaks too, but I’m used to not eating them. I’m surprised by how easy it’s been-I went cold turkey on the 1st, and so far I’m perfectly happy. :)

    BermudaOnion, I get to keep them 3 weeks. But most of them are really short!

    Sarah, great! :D

    Care, lol. I hope you enjoy Possession on audio!!! The narrator doing an American accent was a *little* grating, but it doesn’t happen too often.

    Nymeth, omg-I feel so bad now! There is a Caribbean challenge-read six books from teh region over the year. ;) I’m glad you loved Gilgamesh.

    Rebecca, yep-Nymeth just told me. I feel really bad. My school doesn’t start again until February 1st. :)

    Alessandra, I’m so sorry! I promise I didn’t steal it from you-we’ll figure something out. (Loot is usually used in the context of stealing, so if a robber stole money from a bank, the money is called loot.)

    Amy, really?! You don’t use the library?! Wow!

    Chartroose, you always make me laugh. :) I have a ton of books at home too…I’m just ignoring them, lol.

    Meg89, I’m glad you’re participating! And you don’t have to do it every week. :)

    Debi, awesome! I hope I enjoy Zenzele too-the library copy has a much prettier cover, but I couldn’t find a big enogh image of that cover on line.

    Lena, that is funny! I think my library is a large one-I can request books from any of the branches and they arrive on the shelf at my local branch. I absolutely adore this library system.

    Mariel, I’ve never heard from anyone who’s read it-it just seemed like fun-so I’m glad you liked it!

    Sandra, great! :D

  17. January 7, 2009 4:37 pm

    How funny, I was just going to do this in a post tonight. I’ll grab Mr. Linky when I prepare my post tonight! I went to the library today and totally overdid it. I’m rolling in books. Yippee!

  18. January 7, 2009 5:13 pm

    Oh — I absolutely LOVE this idea and will be glad to participate (and provide a link back to your site). I just picked up a couple of books yesterday and I have a few more waiting to be picked up tomorrow. I will post my “library loot” tomorrow once all books are in house.

    Now my question is — will you really be able to read all the books you checked out? While I will be bringing home several books, I know I just don’t have the time to read them all, which makes me sad :(

  19. January 7, 2009 6:02 pm

    I have posted my first Library Loot and put the link on the Mr. Linky page

  20. January 7, 2009 6:10 pm

    That’s some good loot!!! I can’t wait to hear what you have to say about it!

  21. January 7, 2009 7:13 pm

    I love the idea! I’ll have to get a post together soon.

  22. January 7, 2009 7:29 pm

    Great haul! I need to go investigate City of Oranges. I’ve also wanted to read some of Fadiman’s essays for a long time, but that’s pretty much the story of my life. lol One day!

  23. January 7, 2009 7:37 pm

    I left my post on Mr. Linky!

  24. January 7, 2009 8:37 pm

    I will have to join — I bring home books every week! Job hazard… :)

  25. January 7, 2009 8:56 pm

    Maybe this will shame me into getting back into the library habit. If they’re even open when I have the time to go!

  26. January 7, 2009 9:28 pm

    I LOVE the library. Love it. Because it feeds my addiction for free!! Awesome idea.

  27. January 7, 2009 9:36 pm

    My link is up!

  28. January 7, 2009 9:37 pm

    What a great idea! Thanks, Eva!

  29. January 7, 2009 11:09 pm

    Daphne, I love that rolling in books feeling!

    Molly, great! :D And I’ll *probably* be able to read all of the books-I have 3 weeks, and most of them are short (which is weird, usually I’m all about the chunksters). I’m on school vacation right now, which maks things easier!

    Sandra, great! Thanks for participating. :)

    MKowalewsk, thanks. :)

    Alyce, awesome!

    Andi, hopefully I’ll have a review up of it soon. Kind of funny I haven’t read a book for my own challenge yet, lol. Rereadings doesn’t actually have any essays by Fadiman-she just edited the collection. I just finished reading it, and I felt it was definitely mixed. Not as good as Ex Libris, which is all Fadiman!

    Alyce, great!

    Melanie, lol-I imagine working at the library would definitely contribute to my stacks. :)

    SoftDrink, I hope you can go sometimes! I know with my library system, I can put books on hold and be told when they arrive. So the actual time spent in the library, when I’m in a hurry, is about five minutes.

    Kim L, I love it too for exactly the same reason.

    Daphne, wonderful!

    Vasilly, thanks! And I’m glad you’re participating. :)

  30. January 8, 2009 12:58 am

    All these books look fantastic. I don’t go to the library anymore else i have would definitely participated. I love the cover of Cereus Blooms at Night.

  31. January 8, 2009 2:04 am

    So is it going to be be Library Loot or Library Stop or something else!

    My post will be up later tonight.

  32. January 8, 2009 4:50 am

    Hey, I do this fairly regularly as well – I called it Library Hauls. I’ll participate!

  33. January 8, 2009 7:51 am

    This sounds great! I LOVE the library so I’m in. Cute button too :)

  34. January 8, 2009 8:19 am

    Fabulous idea. I’ll get my post up sometime this afternoon!

  35. January 8, 2009 10:18 am

    Great idea; I just added mine to Mr. Linky.

  36. January 8, 2009 4:36 pm

    Violet, I love the cover too! :)

    Marg, I think we’re going to call it Library Loot, because it’s alliterative. ;)

    Michelle, great!

    Samantha, thanks! Glad to have you on board. :)

    Melissa, wonderful!

    Laura, thanks for participating!

  37. January 8, 2009 6:06 pm

    I love that Mollie Katzen book! How much will going vegan change your current diet? What made you decide? I’m just curious, as I’m trying to head towards eating more and more vegetarian.

  38. callista83 permalink
    January 8, 2009 8:03 pm

    Sadly I didn’t get ANYTHING from the library as I own too much money. I forgot to renew stuff over the holidays and I had two videos so it racked up. I like to think I’m supporting the library LOL.

    Next week i can pay more and then I’ll get a few things but not much as this month I’m reading mostly review books.

  39. January 8, 2009 10:44 pm

    Tara, going vegan has changed it quite a bit, since when I was a vegetarian I still ate quite a bit of dairy and eggs. I’m trying it out for the first three months of the year, mainly because I thought about it for all of 2008, so I decided it was time to step up. My bigger reasons…well, I learned more about the dairy and egg industries which I didn’t know before. And I thought, if I’m a privileged postition to be able to eat vegan, I’ll probably feel better. That doesn’t make much sense, does it? I’ll work on sorting out my thoughts and getting back to you. ;)

    Callista, oh no! I had a $28 fine at my library once. It was pretty awful, lol. But I looked at it the same way-I’m just supporting them! Hope you get it paid down soon. :)

  40. January 9, 2009 8:29 am

    Really like that idea! I’ll go post mine in just a minute. Can DVDs be included in the loot, too?

  41. January 9, 2009 8:44 am

    P.S.
    Who *doesn’t* miss Hornblower if it’s been a while?! :-) I was just watching the Hornblower TV series episodes numbers 5 & 6 last night with friends.

  42. January 9, 2009 9:03 am

    I posted about this at my blog: http://samsbookblog.blogspot.com

    Great idea!

  43. January 9, 2009 11:16 am

    Ink Mage, of course you can include DVDs! And my mom and I just watched Gregory Peck’s Captain Horatio Hornblower. Parts were great, but Lady Barbara was all wrong-a wannabe Scarlet O’Hara.

    Samantha, thanks!

  44. January 9, 2009 12:53 pm

    I look forward to joining this. I am off to the library tomorrow, to get a couple of books.

  45. January 9, 2009 6:12 pm

    Eve, will you be holding this event every Wednesday? I want to put it in the calendar for Novels Now on Yahoo. That way it will pop up a reminder to the group every week.

    Also, I don’t know if you know, but I am a vegan. I have been for almost 20 years. I was veggie before that. Actually, I’ve been veggie since the age of ten. My parents forced me to eat meat until then. So if you have any questions or support don’ hesatate to stop by my blog.

  46. January 9, 2009 6:53 pm

    Great idea for a weekly event! I love the library so I will participate. Here is my first post:

    http://memybookandthecouch.blogspot.com/2009/01/library-loot.html

  47. January 10, 2009 7:59 am

    Eva –

    Wonderful idea! I just got my loot today! :)

  48. January 10, 2009 12:20 pm

    I have just added my library loot to my blog. Great idea.

  49. January 10, 2009 12:21 pm

    Fun fun fun! I love the library, and I always have library loot to report! I’ve added my post to Mr. Linky. What day of the week should we do our Library Loot post on?

  50. January 10, 2009 12:43 pm

    Since I do this anyway (share what I’ve got from the library) I might as well make it official! Fun idea. I’ll post soon.

  51. January 10, 2009 5:15 pm

    I haven’t been spending much time at the library lately (what with wanting to read from my stacks) but this is just too cool so I will definitely work in a library visit next week and report back :)

  52. January 11, 2009 7:56 am

    Great idea, Eva! Really appreciate this, as a librarian. I’m going to start doing Library Loot. I’m going to do mine on Saturday, to tell what I picked up during the week. Thank you for doing this!

  53. January 11, 2009 11:42 pm

    Vivienne, great!

    Teddy, yep-every Wednesday I’ll do a new Mr. Linky and post. But participants will have all week to write their posts. :) Thanks for letting me know yo’re a vegan and offering to help!

    Shonda, great-thanks.

    Chris, thanks!

    Viviene, thanks again!

    Jeska, great! You can write your post on whatever day is best for you-I’ll be doing a new post/Mr. Linky every Wednesday, then any time before the next Wednesday just com eback and give me your link. :)

    Suey, glad you have you in!

    Iliana, yay!

    Lesa, thanks for participating. :D

    Maggie, awesome!

  54. January 12, 2009 2:10 am

    Great idea Eva – I forgot to link my exact post in my first Mr Linky post but I will try and get it right next time!

  55. January 12, 2009 4:46 pm

    Karen, don’t worry about it. :)

  56. January 14, 2009 10:18 am

    Sign me up for this …this will be great since I have decided this is the year to get books from the library.

  57. January 14, 2009 3:05 pm

    Can I join even though my mom has been picking up my books? I have ALS/Lou Gehrig’s Disease and my legs have not been up to par. I miss visiting my library. I hope that I will get a transport chair (a wheelchair without the big silver wheels) by springtime. If not, I am stuck with a wheelchair that my mom cannot lift and I would have to depend on my sister to take me. Thanks, Judy

  58. January 28, 2009 10:43 am

    Hi!
    This is a wonderful meme. I’ll be joining in. I get 99% of my books from our library. So I’m a regular, they know me by name. I have mine posted. Have a great day!!

    Sherrie

  59. Jennifer permalink
    January 28, 2009 2:21 pm

    I love the library!! I just picked up “The Road Home” by Rose Tremain, “Adam the King” by Jeffrey Lewis, “The Fall” by Simon Mawer, “Netherland” by Joseph O’Neill and “The Pale Blue Eye” by Louis Bayard. So many books, so little time!!

  60. kaye permalink
    February 20, 2009 5:18 am

    Urgh, you guys are so lucky to have a public library. I spend all my money on books and still don’t have most of the books I want to read, because alot of books are not avaible unless I buy them on amazon and have them shipped (which costs alot and I’ll probably ed up living on the streets), good thing there are bargain bookstores, where I usually find some good books.

  61. January 20, 2010 8:16 am

    I came to talk about library books. Then, I looked over at the sidebar. I love Adiche. I would love to have her photo on my blog.

    Golly, I love all your books from the library. What in the world would we do without the library? I am going to put a post up. I have about six books checked out of the library. That’s a very small amt. for me. Usually, I have about twelve to sixteen books checked out.

  62. porcelaine permalink
    March 1, 2010 12:07 am

    I decided to jump on board as well. I enjoy my trips to the library and this looks like a great way to meet other bloggers and discover a new title or two.

Trackbacks

  1. Library Loot « Fleur Fisher reads
  2. Library Loot #1 | 1800blogger
  3. Library Loot #1 | Literature Blog
  4. Weekly Geeks (1) « Regular Rumination
  5. Library Loot - 1.08.09 « reading comes from writing
  6. Library Loot, More Bad Bloggers, and Haunted Nether Regions « Stuff as Dreams are Made on
  7. Looking Back and Looking Ahead » A Life In Books

Thank you for commenting! For a long while, my health precluded me replying to everyone. Yet I missed the conversation, so I'm now making an effort to reply again. It might take a few days though, and there will be times when I simply can't. Regardless, I always read and value what you say.