Skip to content

BTT and The Aging Meme

October 2, 2008

(Eva’s note: I just realised that I always misspell aging, because I totally wrote ‘the ageing meme’ before I noticed how Emily had it spelled. Whoops.)

First, Booking Through Thursday! I love this week’s question:

What, in your opinion, is the best book that you haven’t liked? Mind you, I don’t mean your most-hated book–oh, no. I mean the most accomplished, skilled, well-written, impressive book that you just simply didn’t like.

Like, for movies–I can acknowledge that Citizen Kane is a tour de force and is all sorts of wonderful, cinematically speaking, but . . . I just don’t like it. I find it impressive and quite an accomplishment, but it’s not my cup of tea.

So . . . what book (or books) is your Citizen Kane?

I know exactly what she’s talking about! The one that’s coming to mind right now is In Cold Blood by Truman Capote. I expected to love it; I can see why so many people do. But it just didn’t do anything for me. What about you?

Now for the longer one! Emily tagged me for a meme, and since she said

Eva (who is So young and yet so wise)

, you know I’m going to do it! And yes, I am young, but I’ve still got a little experience aging. Especially the post-college transition. *shudder*

At a certain age women should know what their core values are, be able to articulate them, and live in accordance with them.

At a certain age men should decide NOT to have a mid-life crisis which involves acquiring a new hobby with lots of expensive toys. Ok, that’s kinda mean, but I swear most of the men I know in their 40s do that. More seriously, they should realise that their passions are more important than being a ‘bread-winner’. *sigh* Most of my best guy friends are studying business, not because they’re interested in it, but because that’s what men (especially their fathers) do.

When I was a kid I thought I would change the world!

Now that I am older I wish I hadn’t wasted all of high school thinking I was so ugly it hurt other people to look at me (dude: almost all photographic evidence of high school Eva involves me with a purse over my face; I really thought I was heinously disfigured). Seriously: low self-esteem is just silly.

You know you are too old to ? when I really can’t think of anything for this one! How awful is that?

You know you are too young to take yourself seriously when you still get carded for rated R movies! ;) (oh yes, this has happened. also, when I was flying home at age 20, I was sitting in the emergency exit row. a flight attendant came over, and said “honey, how old are you?” she thought I was younger than 15!!!)

When I was in high school I listened to the music of Live (the band), Savage Garden, Johnny Cash, ACDC, and Vivaldi. That’s just a random sampling, but obviously I have rather eclectic music tastes.

Nowadays I find I like the music of well, lately I’ve gotten more into blues and bluegrass. But I still love a wide-range of music: my car CD holder includes La Boheme and Carrie Underwood. :p

On my last birthday I had a quiet, family-filled day. In fact, I blogged about it.

On my next birthday I want to party!! Hehe I’m in love with the idea of turning 23: I really like that number. So I want a real celebration!

The best birthday present I ever got was ohhh, that’s a hard one. My mom is really into giving great gifts, as is my sister (and me). I pretty much wear the silver Tiffany’s ring I got for my 21st birthday all the time, though.

The first time I felt grown up was…I’m not sure I really feel grown-up. That’s awful, isn’t it? But oh, I remember, the first time I flew home from college, travelling all alone. That felt pretty grown-up at the time.

The last time I felt like a kid was I feel like a kid a lot! I especially felt like a kid during orientation week at my grad school, where the average age of students is 27. Having to continually say I was 22, and hearing people’s reactions, made me feel like a kid. I don’t mind it, though. ;)

When I read We Wish to Inform You That Tomorrow We Will Be Killed With Our Families by Philip Gourevitch it changed my life.

Last year was a wonderful break from school, and an incredible opportunity to bond with my niece, one that I wouldn’t change for anything in the world.

Next year I hope to have a much more impressive resume. ;) I also wouldn’t mind being in a relationship again; I’ve avoided anything serious for two years now, and I think it’s about time to take a risk or two.

How would you finish the sentence next year I hope?

14 Comments leave one →
  1. October 2, 2008 11:24 am

    What a great meme. I might have to tackle that one in the coming days.

    And my least favorite good book: Of Mice and Men. I appreciated it, but I also wanted to throw it under a garbage truck.

  2. October 2, 2008 11:35 am

    Mine would be Moby Dick and The Alchemist. Moby Mick I have mentioned to a good length in the overrated classics meme. The anniversary edition of The Alchemist that I saw at the bookstore just reminded me how awful the book is. So cliched!

  3. October 2, 2008 11:40 am

    I’m going to have to do this one on one of my “off” days. I don’t feel grown-up either, and I’m much older than you. People who are grown-up are dull, don’t you think?

  4. October 2, 2008 2:03 pm

    For me, that book is If on a Winter’s Night a Traveller. I remember reading your review and thinking “yes, this is what I wish I’d thought and felt while reading this book”. But unfortunately it just didn’t work for me.

    I really enjoyed reading your answers to the meme, and I hope next year brings you everything you hope for and more.

    This is how I’d complete the sentence: Next year I hope to be living in the same place as my boyfriend at long last!

  5. October 2, 2008 5:53 pm

    Its fun to be the youngest, isn’t it? I’m 23 (almost 24), and I’ve been working for the past 2 1/2 years. It was interesting when I was 21 explaining to people why they had to listen to what I said. I pretty much didn’t tell anyone my age. That seemed to work the best.

  6. October 2, 2008 6:26 pm

    “Ageing” is the British spelling….I find myself doing the same thing after just one year in Australia.

    I started In Cold Blood and then decided I didn’t want to read it. Just not for me right now.

    I guess I’d have to say “next year I hope my son will want to be toilet trained.” Yeah. Life gets really exciting with a kid!

  7. J.S. Peyton permalink
    October 3, 2008 10:46 am

    “when I was flying home at age 20, I was sitting in the emergency exit row. a flight attendant came over, and said “honey, how old are you?” she thought I was younger than 15!”

    This totally happened to me a few months ago, and I’m 25! I was like “Jeez, woman! I know I look young but at least give high school.” I’m sure as I get older I’ll appreciate that kind of thing more. :)

    This is a really nice meme. I might have to steal this some time… ;)

  8. October 3, 2008 11:04 am

    Fun meme! I’m reading a chunkster that will take me a while to get through so I might do this one next week to fill some space. I’m just a few years older than you are so I can relate to a lot of your answers!

    I really liked In Cold Blood but I expected to be blown away as well. Mostly it just left a sour taste in my mouth (because of the killers–not necessarily because of the actual writing).

  9. October 4, 2008 2:38 pm

    Every Sunday I host a meme blog called Sunday Stealing. We steal a meme from someone. Tomorrow (10/5) we are stealing your Aging Meme. We give you dredit, give you a link and photo and invite you to participate with us in the future. Check it out. Thanks!

  10. October 4, 2008 11:11 pm

    It’s my first visit to your site. Very interesting answers! I especially like your response about women knowing their core values. Very true. I’m playing!

  11. October 5, 2008 12:40 pm

    I just read In Cold Blood last week, because I’m hosting a stop on the Capote in Kansas book tour and thought it would make a good companion review. I was very impressed, atually, but it’s not for everyone.

    I do want to put in a good word for the mid-life crisis. All-in-all having one that involves exspensive toys is probably the best way to go. Consider the alternatives….

  12. October 5, 2008 10:08 pm

    Hhaha I’m constantly having to tell people my age, and them going… No! Like you at grad school.

  13. October 8, 2008 4:00 am

    Geez, I had about a million things I wanted to comment on, but then I hit, “When I read We Wish to Inform You That Tomorrow We Will Be Killed With Our Families by Philip Gourevitch it changed my life.” and I knew I just had to ask you about it. I think that may be the most powerful book I’ve ever read. At least in the sense that it has stuck with me so strongly.

Trackbacks

  1. Sunday Stealing Edition No. 6 | Colloquium

Thank you for commenting! For a long while, my health precluded me replying to everyone. Yet I missed the conversation, so I'm now making an effort to reply again. It might take a few days though, and there will be times when I simply can't. Regardless, I always read and value what you say.