Skip to content

On Free Books

January 24, 2008

Stephanie recently wrote an informative post on a subject dear to every bookworm’s heart: how to get a fix for free. Or, in other words, how to have books magically appear in your mailbox. She also asked others for their advice, and I realised a post would be better than the longest comment known to man!  All of this advice is very American-centric, which I know must be frustrating, but there you go.  Due to postage issues, I’m unsure as to how many of the sites/programs I talk about work with people outisde the States.  Bookmooch is the exception-it has a whole system to address international issues!  Some of you non-Americans should write posts as well-that’ll fix the problem!

If you haven’t heard of Bookmooch you’ve probably been living under some sort of rock (or you’re new to the book blogging community). It’s not *exactly* free, because you have to pay postage on the books you send out, but at least in the States, with Media Mail rates, that usually means $2-$3 a book. The FAQ page on the site explains it much better than me, but for those who may be hesitating (as I did for a long time), I’ve been on the site for months and mooched *mumble, mumble* over 100 books, and I’ve never had any issues. Plus, quite a few bloggers are on bookmooch, so if you can always start out looking at their inventories! Also, the way the system is set up, you end up getting some bonus points, so you can mooch more than you send, which is in effect free books. Looking at it that way, I’ve gotten 22 free books, which is nothing to scoff at! As Tara pointed out, there’s also Paperback Swap, which is similar to Bookmooch, and which a lot of bloggers use as well.

Now for the really free books-there are several online reviewing sites that are looking for new reviewers. Typically, you send them an e-mail (usually with a sample review attached), and then as long as you’re chosen, you give them your mailing address and what books you want to review, and they appear! Granted, you then have to write a review of the book, but obviously you enjoy that or you wouldn’t be a book blogger! The one I’ve had experience with is Curled Up With a Good Book. Personally, I love this site! The editor is always very prompt in communication, the guidelines to reviews are broad enough for you to fit your personal style in, and best of all, it seems as if they want you to choose a ton of books. :) There aren’t any deadline for book reviews, and there’s a blog for reviewers so if you end up really not wanting to finish a book, you can look for someone else to send it to. Sound like heaven? Then go sign up! Don’t be shy, or think your reviews aren’t good enough; if you’re really nervous, just read some of the current reviews to get a feel for how the site works. But if I was accepted, you will be too! :)

Recently, I’ve stumbled across some other review sites, with various set-ups. I’m still in the application phase for these, so I can’t talk about them with personal knowledge. But I can provide links! Upon Further Review (which has a one book at a time policy and doesn’t ask for a sample review), Pump Up Your Book Review (which actually references Stephanie’s post and is looking for blogs with “a good amount of traffic”-no idea what that might be), and Wantz Upon a Time (which is run by a mom with a new son who still replied very quickly to my initial e-mail!-even if it was just to let me know I’d forgotten to attach the sample review *blush*). Megan told me about Front Street Reviews, another site that’s always looking for new reviewers (edited to add: the FSR editor contact me, and they do ship overseas; also, on the site it says they’re especially looking for reviewers for Christian fiction and non-fic). Gautami let me know that Curled Up is US-only, but Harper Collins (see below) is international. Dewey shares that: “Another option, if someone is a mother, is MotherTalk. I don’t know how easy/hard it is to get in with them, but they send a free book AND an amazon gift certificate once the review is posted. I get a few books a month through them, and at least $40 per month to spend at Amazon. One month I had $120 Amazon bucks from them!” I’m not a mom, but I know a lot of you are, and this sounds like something to look into. :)

Then there are ‘first look’ programs, which send out ARCs to readers with the implicit or explicit expectation that the reader will then either review the book or join in some kind of discussion. The ones I know of are: Harper Collins, LibraryThing, and Barnes and Noble. These are free to sign up for, and don’t require any sample reviews, but there’s an element of chance as to whether you’ll get a book or not. Still, gotta play to win! SuziQ told me about Bookbrowse. While you do have to pay dues to be a member, they have a First Look program to get free ARCs.

Finally, I second Stephanie’s advice to get out there in the book blogging community-leave comments/join challenges/whatever. In addition to the benefit she lists, bloggers tend to have book giveaways pretty frequently! Dewey, for instance, has decided this year to offer most of the books she reads and owns to other bloggers, in an attempt to conquer the TBR mountain. In fact, she has a page explaining it.

So, there’s my advice. And in return, I’m asking you to share other reviewing sites you know that enjoy enlisting amateur reviewers like us, or other ‘first look’ style programs! Spread the love. :)

24 Comments leave one →
  1. January 24, 2008 9:32 pm

    What a great post. Thanks for sharing. I haven’t yet tried one of those review sites because, well, I don’t think my “reviews” are really good enough. But you’ve encouraged me to try.

    I LOVE BookMooch and PaperbackSwap; I’ve acquired about forty new books that way and sent another fifty out! It’s so much fun!!

  2. January 24, 2008 9:59 pm

    I’m a member of Bookbrowse and they also have a “First Impressions” program. I signed up for the first time this month and I’ve already got a copy of The House at Riverton on the way to me to read and review within a month after I get it.

    :-)

  3. January 25, 2008 6:47 am

    Wow, Eva, thanks for all this info. I had no idea book blogging could be rewarding on so many levels!

  4. January 25, 2008 7:14 am

    Excellent post.

    I’ve gotten a couple of books from Harper Collins and I’m on track to get a couple (more) from Library Thing. I’ve contemplated trying to join up with Curled Up, but jeez, I’ve got so many books I should be reading already sitting here, that I end up not trying out of a sense of guilt that somehow doesn’t apply to any other book acquisitions I’m making! LOL.

    While I don’t review for them, I know Front Street Reviews always seems to be looking for new reviewers, so that might be another one you’d want to check out.

  5. verbivore permalink
    January 25, 2008 8:20 am

    Bookmooch is wonderful and it has been so great since I moved abroad. I am pretty sure all the other programs wouldn’t work for outside the US people, but not 100% on that.

  6. January 25, 2008 9:02 am

    Thanks for this post. I have received 3 books from Harper Collins..non fiction for reviewing. I have already reviewed two and versge of reviewing the third one.

    I will try checking the links you mentioned here although curled up and front street reviews refused to send books overseas! Their loss!

    LOL!

  7. January 25, 2008 9:13 am

    Thanks for this! Good suggestions. I’m already a huge BookMooch fan, but I should be out there reviewing, too :)

  8. January 25, 2008 9:47 am

    Don’t forget about paperbackswap.com! I’ve had lots of luck getting great books through their site. It’s similar to bookmooch. I’ve been lucky with the librarything program but I have to say, I don’t necessarily feel what I’m doing is ‘reviewing’ – just trying to write down my own thoughts about what I read.

  9. thegleichs permalink
    January 25, 2008 1:46 pm

    Thanks for putting a link to my site – hope you got my email! The one book at a time limit is only initially:)

  10. January 25, 2008 2:21 pm

    A friend sent me over after doing your Meme

    (so I did it too :))

  11. January 25, 2008 3:19 pm

    Jeane, thanks! You should definitely try out for the review sites. :)

    SuziQ, that’s really neat! I’ll add that to my post.

    RavenousReader, no problem-I hope you read Stephanie’s post as well!

    Megan, thanks! Guilt seems to be a common book blogger feeling, lol. I’ll add Front Street Reviews to the list.

    Verbivore, if I moved overseas I’m sure bookmooch would become my lifeline!

    Gautami, I’ll add that info about curledup and front street. At least Harper Collins sends internationally!

    Gentle Reader, no problem!

    Tara, I’ll have to add that to the list! I should’ve remembered that one.

    TheGleichs, I’ll add that info! I did get your e-mail, and I’ll reply to it. :)

    Novy, welcome!

  12. January 25, 2008 3:43 pm

    I review books for Front Street, Curled Up, and I finally got my first one for Harper Collins and am now expecting a second. I really enjoy it.

  13. January 25, 2008 3:46 pm

    What a great, informative post! But I really had to laugh at
    “But if I was accepted, you will be too! :)” Come on, girl…you write incredible reviews, something some of us just can’t do!

  14. January 25, 2008 6:44 pm

    Thanks for the tip on HarperCollins.com. I like that they have a pretty good variety to chose from. I did notice some of the books they publish were on librarything.com as Earlyreviewers.

    Any time you can get free books it’s a good day. :)

  15. January 25, 2008 7:02 pm

    Thanks so much for the great information.

  16. January 25, 2008 11:08 pm

    I’m a member of paperbackswap and LOVE it. Signing up as a boxer really saves shipping money. I do the HarperCollins and Library thing but haven’t won a book yet. Just applied for three of your suggestions, thanks for the great blog post (I didn’t know about them yet)

  17. January 26, 2008 12:04 am

    Jamie, you must be busy! :)

    Debi, well, thanks for the compliment! But I think all the people in my blogroll write excellent reviews. :D We’ll just agree to disagree.

    Julie, agreed!

    Darcie, you’re welcome. :)

    Erin, good to know! I’ve avoided paperbackswap, probably because I found out about it first. Glad you’ve applied to be a reviewer!

  18. January 26, 2008 9:05 am

    I love curledup, too, and think their best feature is the hundreds of books you can choose from! Another option, if someone is a mother, is MotherTalk. I don’t know how easy/hard it is to get in with them, but they send a free book AND an amazon gift certificate once the review is posted. I get a few books a month through them, and at least $40 per month to spend at Amazon. One month I had $120 Amazon bucks from them! I also got that phone I gave away in the readathon through them. I really love them the best, after Bookmooch. I’ve given 122 through them and received 155; you get three points when you send overseas, which is how I’ve managed to get 33 more books than I’ve sent!

    HarperCollins has only ever given me one book through their First Look program, and I don’t even get their monthly emails half the time. I don’t know if my experience is typical, but it’s not worth the bother for me, compared to the three mentioned in my previous paragraph, so I stopped trying.

    Thanks for mentioning my giveaways, but since I draw names and sometimes read library books, a person would have to be really patient if they were trying to win many books from me!

  19. January 26, 2008 9:57 am

    Free books, yum! I’ll take them over chocolate any time.

  20. January 26, 2008 11:16 pm

    Dew, I’ll definitely add MotherTalk to the post. Might just copy and paste your comments, lol. I know that someone would have to be patient to win books-I guess my point was just to mention that giveaways are pretty common! But I will definitely add a qualifier if you want one. :)

    Harvee Lau, ohhh-that’s a tough call for me. Is it just Hershey’s milk chocolate, or is it really good dark chocolate? I’m a bit of a chocolate fiend!

  21. January 29, 2008 9:00 pm

    Great post, I am keeping this one saved for future reference. Can’t wait to try out all of the options you listed!

  22. February 27, 2008 5:43 pm

    Thanks for all the great tips! I LOVE BookMooch and Dewey’s blog. It’s great to see that other bloggers enjoy them. :)

  23. February 27, 2008 9:54 pm

    Em, no problem-glad to help you!

Trackbacks

  1. Another Challenge? « A Striped Armchair

Thank you for commenting! For a long while, my health precluded me replying to everyone. Yet I missed the conversation, so I'm now making an effort to reply again. It might take a few days though, and there will be times when I simply can't. Regardless, I always read and value what you say.