Skip to content

Dewey’s Readathon

April 25, 2015

At the very last minute, an hour into the latest Dewey’s read-a-thon, I’ve decided to join! I’ll be doing life stuff as well as reading and taking frequent pet mingling breaks, and going to bed at a reasonable hour, but I can’t resist the community spirit! I’ll probably be mainly on Instagram, but I’ll do updates on this post too.

I began the morning with Nalo Hopkinson’s Brown Girl in the Ring. I’m about fifty pages in and it’s living up to my high Hopkinson expectations! Now I’ve switched to an audiobook, a reread of Bujold’s Beguilement, the first in the Sharing Knife series, so that I can get Thistle’a walk in and some apartment tidying!

Well, I’m off for now. I’ll check in later! image

Mid-Event Survey
1. What are you reading right now? I just put down Lord Hornblower by C.S. Forester. But I’m about to head out on a dog walk, so will be getting back into my audiobook next: Beguilement by Lois McMaster Bujold.
2. How many books have you read so far? 1 from start to finish: Brown Girl in the Ring by Nalo Hopkinson (it was wonderful!). I’ve read most of the Hornblower (on page 250 of 300) and two to three hours of the Bujold.
3. What book are you most looking forward to for the second half of the Read-a-thon? I joined at the last minute, so I don’t have a book pile other than what I have out from the library and my bookcases of course! So I’m not sure what I’ll pick up next; I’m following my whims.
4. Have you had many interruptions? How did you deal with those? I’ve had to do a few chores, during which I just switch to my audiobook. I actually expected a lot of interruptions, because this is the first day that my dog & new cat have spent together, but they’ve been wonderfully good at just napping together on the bed while I read! I suspect their dinner will be an interruption though, as breakfast provided some drama; they each wanted the others’ food!
5. What surprises you most about the Read-a-thon, so far? How much time I’ve had to read (vs needing to wrangle the pets). :) Also, this is my first one that I’ve done when I’m on Instagram, and I’m surprised at how easy it is to incorporate a bit of social media but still get a lot of reading in. Of course, if you look at my reading or activity to what it was during the early read-a-thons, there really is no comparison (I used to always stay up the whole time, read over 2,000 pages, and spend half of the time leaving cheerleader comments on blogs,occasionally being cheerleader captain). But I’m finding this quieter approach to the read-a-thon just as satsifying; must be a factor of getting old! I don’t plan to stay up late; midnight would be the very latest and I’ll probably throw in the towel earlier than that.

14 Comments leave one →
  1. April 25, 2015 11:39 am

    Happy reading!

  2. April 25, 2015 12:03 pm

    That is my favorite Hopkinson. Thanks for telling me about Bujold. Have fun reading.

    • April 29, 2015 4:32 pm

      It was a *really* good one, although I’m not sure I can pick a favourite Hopkinson! Maybe Sister Mine? Enjoy Bujold!

  3. April 25, 2015 3:49 pm

    Happy reading! I could not resist this year either. I’m working through some of my new Little Black Classics.

    • April 29, 2015 4:33 pm

      That seems like such a wonderful little collection! I hope you had a good readathon. :)

  4. April 25, 2015 6:35 pm

    Hope you are having a good time! Happy reading!

  5. April 25, 2015 10:12 pm

    Glad to hear your pets are settling in well together and allowing you plenty of reading time. Hope you enjoy the rest of your relaxed Readathon!

    • April 29, 2015 4:34 pm

      I’m glad too! I was not looking forward to having to referee any fights. But they’ve been so good. :D

  6. April 26, 2015 12:33 pm

    I’m a little late, but still: Happy reading (and BTW: Moth is adorable)!

  7. April 26, 2015 10:08 pm

    I haven’t read the two books you mention and like to hear about what you are reading. I have a huge TBR stack.

    • April 29, 2015 4:34 pm

      My TBR list is endless, although it tends to exist more in my head than in actual books, since I’m a library girl!

Thank you for commenting! For a long while, my health precluded me replying to everyone. Yet I missed the conversation, so I'm now making an effort to reply again. It might take a few days though, and there will be times when I simply can't. Regardless, I always read and value what you say.

