Skip to content

Introducing Moth

April 23, 2015

P1160951

It is with pure pleasure that I present to you the latest member of my little household: Moth! She arrived yesterday evening and has already settled in to the apartment, playing with her new toys, finding just the right perches throughout the space, and curling up on my lap when I settle in my chair. I adopted her from a rescue group via Petfinder, just as I did with Thistle. Since I’m a first-time cat owner, I was looking for an ‘easy,’ affectionate adult cat, and that’s exactly what I got! She has the funniest way of suddenly appearing behind me when I switch rooms, is a focused hunter of any toy I’ve set in front of her, and a loud, rumbly purr that begins almost as soon you start petting her. She’s a total sweetheart but with spirit, my favourite combination!

From a bit of internet researching, I believe her colouring is called tortoiseshell points, although of course she’s not a purebred Siamese! But she has the blue eyes that reflect red instead of green in the dark that come along with colour points. She’s four and a half years old, which makes her roughly my age in cat years. If you’re wondering about her ears, it just means that at some point she was spayed by a group that rounds up stray cats for sterilisation. They clip the tip of an ear so they know not to try to spay the same cat again; unfortunately whoever clipped Moth’s ear went for far more than the customary quarter inch. Good thing we’re accustomed to mismatched ears around here! ;) She’s quite small too; at about seven and a half pounds, she manages to make Thistle look big.

Speaking of whom, Thistle has met Moth, when the latter came to pay me a visit before my trip. But Thistle is not yet aware that Moth has moved in; she’s still enjoying her time at doggie camp heaven (aka Debi’s house). She’s coming back tomorrow evening, and I anticipate a bit of canine surprise. However, Thistle coexisted happily with my mother’s cat, and she’s nap buddies with one of Debi’s cats, while Moth was friends with her foster mom’s dog. They’re both quiet and sweet natured, so I trust it will all end well, after the initial adjustment phase.

Of course, now that I have two lap pets into my life, my ability to read physical books, knit, or drink tea might be dramatically curtailed. I shall have to wait and see!

P.S.: If you’d like to see more photos of Moth in the future, I’m sharing them on Instagram. I just pulled out my real camera for the first time to get a quick shot for this post; she’s currently on her cat tree overseeing my computer-ing and doesn’t seem to share Thistle’s camera aversion at least. But she’s not nearly as serious as this portrait suggests! For those who don’t do Instagram, here’s a little collage of iPhone photos from Moth’s first twenty four hours with me. Told you the top photo is a bit misleading. I’ll have to keep my real camera handier to catch everyday moments I suppose.

18 Comments leave one →
  1. April 23, 2015 7:51 pm

    She is so pretty! What a lovely addition to your home!

  2. sallyjanevictorious permalink
    April 23, 2015 9:44 pm

    Congratulations! Moth is lovely, and surely she and Thistle will become snugglemates. BTW, The Family Man is on its way to me based on your post. I’ll let you know how much I love it, but love it I will. I’ve just finished The Girl on the Train and The Double Bind and am so tired of damaged, unreliable narrators I could shriek. Bring on a lighthearted dalliance, say I!

  3. April 23, 2015 11:04 pm

    I’m jealous she is gorgeous and I want to pet her! She is lucky to have a new and loving home =)

  4. April 24, 2015 1:37 am

    Aww, so cute! Congratulations!

  5. April 24, 2015 3:31 am

    What a lovely cat. And how wonderful she’s so affectionate and settled in so well.

  6. Jemma permalink
    April 24, 2015 4:58 am

    I love that name, Moth! How gorgeous she is. My cat has a ripped ear from a fight when she was younger – it adds to the charm somehow :) Lucky you, to have a lap cat!

  7. Laura Caldwell permalink
    April 24, 2015 6:48 am

    Very cute! I have yet to start Jane Eyre. Maybe we can get together later in May to talk about it? Are you traveling next month?

  8. April 24, 2015 7:38 am

    Such a pretty cat. Welcome to Moth!

  9. April 24, 2015 10:34 am

    I still just can’t over her adorable little face!!! Sooooo eager to meet her!!!

  10. April 24, 2015 11:14 am

    How lovely she is! I also like adult cats with a calm personality. Our last cat was a wonderful, calm, and funny guy.

  11. April 24, 2015 12:24 pm

    she’s GORGEOUS!

  12. April 24, 2015 3:47 pm

    Awh, so sweet! My husky wouldn’t let a cat near her I’m afraid but it’s so cute that Moth has had dog friends and is affectionate.

  13. April 24, 2015 7:13 pm

    ph, she is a beauty! I love her name, too. I am glad she has you now.

  14. April 24, 2015 8:09 pm

    So cute~ :)

  15. Amanda permalink
    April 24, 2015 9:46 pm

    Moth is such a clever name. She is so adorable. I saw pictures from your trip on instagram. Your trip looked like so much fun. Cherry trees are one of my favorite trees. My mom has a cherry tree in her front yard. I always think the blossoms look like snow and it makes me happy.

  16. April 24, 2015 11:09 pm

    Aw! She’s so pretty!

  17. April 25, 2015 8:46 am

    She’s gorgeous! I love her dear little face — she looks like a very graceful and lovely cat. And I am excited to have pictures in the future where Thistle and Moth are snuggling together. (Well done naming her btw. Those names are a good match.)

  18. April 25, 2015 4:45 pm

    She is so pretty! I have three cats and a dog, and what’s so funny is each of the cats has a different relationship with the dog. One of the cats gets chased by the dog, another cat is best friends with the dog and they cuddle together all the time, and the third cat HATES the dog and hisses at her anytime they are near each other (the only girl cat and the dog is a girl – I think it’s a jealousy thing). It just proves that every single animal has its own personality and it really takes time to find two animals who will work well together in a home! It seems like your two babies are becoming a very happy family from your recent Instagram photos. :) Enjoy Moth!

Thank you for commenting! For a long while, my health precluded me replying to everyone. Yet I missed the conversation, so I'm now making an effort to reply again. It might take a few days though, and there will be times when I simply can't. Regardless, I always read and value what you say.

