Skip to content

A Brief Look at February’s Reading

March 3, 2015

 

Well, February definitely included less reading than is typical for me, for both good and bad reasons. :) Let’s play a bit with the numbers, shall we? Just for fun.

Of the 18 books that I read…

  • 13 were fiction
  • 12 were by authors I’ve read before
  • 9 were novels set in historical time periods
  • 7 were by authors of colour
  • 6 were part of a series (not the same series)
  • 6 were by UK authors
  • 6 were by US authors
  • 6 were by authors from other countries (Trinidad, France, Japan, Canada, and Israel)
  • 5 were written by men
  • 4 of those books written by men were nonfiction
  • 4 were audiobooks
  • 4 included supernatural elements
  • 3 were graphic novels
  • 2 were rereads
  • 2 included mysterious murders
  • 2 could be shelved in the romance section of the bookstore
  • 1 was written before 1900
  • 0 were ebooks (I have no clue how that happened, but my hands are not pleased)

I shall have more to say about analysing reading and my wishes for a bit more focused reading for the rest of the year soon, but for now, I’m amused to discover that historical fiction has taken over my novel reading! Here I thought I was a fantasy & mystery girl for my genre reads.

Let me know if you have questions about any of the books, even if it’s just that the cover caught your eye & you’d like to hear more about what’s inside. :)

I have high hopes for March, on both the reading and blogging fronts. It’s the 3rd and I’ve already read two books, both started this month, and both regular length novels. That seems like a good sign! I’m off to snuggle under a blanket with Thistle, and see if I can’t continue that reading streak.

15 Comments leave one →
  1. March 3, 2015 9:39 pm

    Through the Woods! Did you like it? I read it and felt that it had been created for my particular pleasure — it hit so many sweet spots. I wish Emily Carroll could write three further books of similarly creepy stories.

    • March 4, 2015 11:40 am

      I loved it! I agree that it was creepy in just the right way for my tastes. And then I put on my hooded & caped blue winter coat & went from a walk in the woods, which was terribly satisfying. ;) And the artwork and stories really seemed to work together, which was lovely, as frequently I feel there’s a disconnect between the two (Sandman, Fables…I think I’m just biased against standard comic styling to be honest).

  2. March 3, 2015 11:48 pm

    A nice selection for February! I keep seeing The Voyage of the Narwhal and still don’t know what it is about. Trollope is one of my reading gaps and The Warden is on my reading list for this year. For now I’m going to go curl up under my blankets and read some more Oryx and Crake! Happy reading Eva :)

    • March 4, 2015 11:43 am

      It’s about a fictionalised Arctic expedition by some New Englanders, including a naturalist, but follows the patterns of a couple real-life expeditions. It explores the pros and cons of scientific exploration, duties, the racism of the era (there are some Inuit characters), the gender/class dynamics, and how to be human in various trying circumstances. Clearly I need to write a post about it, because I have so much to say on all of its themes!

      I love the Barsetshire chronicles (more than the Palliser ones), but The Warden is a bit different from the rest. Much shorter though, so you might as well start with it since it’s the first one. ;)

      And oh I need more Margaret Atwood in my life! It’s been too long since I’ve read her.

  3. March 4, 2015 12:34 am

    Wow! So many books read! And they all look amazing. I have yet to try Heyer but no idea why not, lol

    • March 4, 2015 11:45 am

      Heyer was my bedtime audiobook. :) She’s a great option for when you want a light, fun read! My favourites are probably Friday’s Child, The Reluctant Widow, A Civil Contract, and My Cousin Kate (which has a more gothic feel than the rest). They make great audiobooks too, just make sure they’re the unabridged versions!

  4. March 4, 2015 8:19 am

    How I envy your reading productivity! I am curious about Being Mortal, it’s out of my comfort zone though…

    • March 4, 2015 11:47 am

      How is it outside of your comfort zone? If you’re just not usually into medical nonfiction, I’d recommend starting with Gawande’s two essay collections (Better and Complications). If it’s the specific subject matter, well, it’s more about public health/social welfare policies than about individual mortality. Although there’s bits of that too. I’m not going to lie: the first third is pretty grim. It gets better after that, as Gawande describes programs/people who are working to improve old age communities/healthcare, but there are a few very sad stories even then. Not lighthearted reading, but when I finished it I was glad to have picked it up.

  5. March 4, 2015 11:36 am

    This is less than typical reading!!! Are you just trying to impress? ;-) All that in a short month, too. Good for you. My favorite part about posts like this is seeing all those book covers all at once. I wish I knew a quick way to do that on my own blog.

    • March 4, 2015 11:39 am

      Use the gallery option when you’re adding images James! Makes it very easy & you can choose how many columns to do/what shape the images should be/if you want a specific order/etc. The easiest way to edit an already existing gallery is from the Visual tab rather than HTML one.

      And remember I have more free time than most people. ;)

  6. March 4, 2015 3:42 pm

    Oh, lots of good stuff! I read Through the Woods in January and really liked it!

    • March 5, 2015 3:29 pm

      Me too! It’s fun reading a ‘blogging bandwagon’ book, hehe. :D

  7. queenofthepark permalink
    March 6, 2015 2:27 am

    wondered about Being Mortal, but note your comment here. Not sure if it’s for me just now, having recently had a significant loss in my family. Would you agree? Nevertheless it continues to fascinate
    Seems like a pretty good reading month to me! Our POV’s on that must be very different!

  8. March 6, 2015 9:22 am

    *swoon* I freakin’ love your little breakdown of your reading there! So many fun little categories there! Okay, just curious–which ones contained supernatural elements?

Trackbacks

  1. second-hand love: a used book haul | talking to myself

Thank you for commenting! For a long while, my health precluded me replying to everyone. Yet I missed the conversation, so I'm now making an effort to reply again. It might take a few days though, and there will be times when I simply can't. Regardless, I always read and value what you say.

