Skip to content

Reading Snapshot: December 19th

December 19, 2014

Yesterday, I noticed my muscles were feeling quite sore, and so I decided to devote today entirely to reading and, not so incidentally, sitting on supportive furniture wrapped in heating pads. I’m having a lovely time, like a little personal read-a-thon, and it feels like a much more cheerful way of thinking of the enforced stillness! I’m so in love with all of the books that I thought it’d be fun to share them here, even if it’s not a ‘scheduled’ posting day.
P1140565
I began with nonfiction, as last night I finished rereading Stardust. I was about 90 pages into Here Be Dragons: the Scientific Quest for Extraterrestrial Life by David W. Koerner and Simon LeVay, but I noticed that each time I was ‘meant’ to pick it up, I’d find some excuse to go do something else instead. This is usually my queue to abandon the book, and so I did; I might pick it up again at a later date or I might not. It’s decently written, and I find the topic interesting, so I’d recommend it to others, but for now it’s been set aside. Instead, I first finished A.S. Byatt’s essay collection On Histories and Stories, as I only had 60 pages left in it (I usually read nonfiction in sections of about that length). I had enjoyed the entire book, but the final essays were the cream: first was one about European writers influenced by folk tales, which included several authors I’ve read and loved (Calvino, Dinesen, Calasso), a few more to explore, and for those who suspect Byatt of being too high brow for them, high praise for Terry Pratchett’s Discworld, which I’ve been meaning to get into for years now but somehow never have (except for the Tiffany Aching books). After that, a stunning meditation on fairy tales featuring ice and glass, including cross-story comparisons, and a viewpoint that I hadn’t considered before but immediately resonated with, on whether it’s always a good thing for women to come down from their solitary, ice-bound glory and into the ordinary world of princes and kisses and babies. My summary makes it sound far more reductive than Byatt’s thoughts are; it’s one of those essays I think any feminist fairy tale lover will find worthwhile reading. And finally a neat closing piece on Scheherazade and The Thousand and One Nights, and its impact on European lit. This was my first experience with Byatt’s nonfiction, but as a long-time lover of her fiction (I discovered her when I was 16 and found my way to her Little Black Book of Stories), I’m not surprised that I loved it.

As I rotate between two nonfiction books at once, I then dove back into Only Hope: Coming of Age Under China’s One-Child Policy by Vanessa Fong. This is a serious sociology study, published by a university press, but I think it’s very accessible to the general reading public too. Of course I’ve heard of China’s “little emperors,” but I hadn’t though much more about all of the ‘singletons,’ as Fong refers to them. She spent over two years observing teens in a large Chinese city and discovered that they’d been raised to believe they should have ‘First World’ consumer-driven lives, by parents willing to devote most of their resources to their only child, but with the expectation that the child would excel in school, then get a good job and support them in their own age (as the government had withdrawn state support for retirement, health care, etc., leaving the parents without many other possibilities). However, as more and more students get more degrees, and as China’s economy began to experience hiccups in the late 90s, an education inflation saw many more graduates than suitable jobs for them. This, along with the stress to perform well in exams, the tension of comparing their own lives, particularly their belongings, to ‘First Worlders,’ and more mean the singletons are far from pampered. There are a lot of parallels to draw between their lives and the typical US middle class child’s life, at least to my eye, and so the book is fascinating on multiple levels; I find the pages are simply flying by. Fong does a good job with her material, and is clearly aware of the dangers and shortcomings of sociological studies, providing an occasional reminder to the reader as well.

Since I abandoned Here Be Dragons, I had room in my nonfiction roster for another new entry, so I couldn’t resist treating myself to Medieval Women: a Social History Of Women In England 450-1500 by Henrietta Leyser. I love social histories, and those that focus on marginalised history, anyway, and my fascinating for the Middle Ages has only increased in the past few years, so I had high hopes of this. I’m only through the first part, but so far those hopes have been met entirely. Leyser takes neither a ‘dark ages’ interpretive approach nor an excessively rosy view and is always willing to acknowledge when the evidence is too sketchy for firm conclusions. I quite like her middle-of-the-road viewpoint, which keeps women as subjects instead of reducing them to helpless victim-objects, even while acknowledging the ramifications of patriarchy. And the peeks into Anglo-Saxon England, a place that feels so foreign, were fascinating. I imagine as we move more towards time (I believe the next part deals with the Norman Conquest), there will be more primary sources for Leyser to explore, but I’m already more than impressed & would happily recommend this to any history buff.
P1140562
Having finished my nonfiction section of reading (I know it sounds terribly regimented, but somehow the approach that works best for me is to read a novel, followed by about 240 pages of nonfiction alternated between two books, then another novel), I found myself getting to choose yet another new book to begin, this time a novel. I decided to opt for an already loved author, so as not to break my excellent reading streak, and pulled Lyrics Alley by Leila Aboulela off the shelf. I’m only about fifty pages in, but I’m utterly entranced, as I’ve been in all of her books. She has such an excellent way of evoking places, bringing characters to life, and weaving interesting philosophical debates seamlessly into her fiction, I only hope that she has a long and prolific writing career ahead of her! I was pleased to find that this one is set in Sudan and also deals with Sudanese/Egyptian relations; I wrote a paper on the history of that once for college, but of course it was from a political science perspective instead of a personal one. So I’m looking forward to seeing it play out in a fictional context.

And with that, I better get back to my armchair & novel!

12 Comments leave one →
  1. everydayhas permalink
    December 19, 2014 9:54 pm

    Interesting approach to balancing fiction and nonfiction! I kind of do this, but not in such a specific way – I’ve just noticed nonfiction makes a good palate cleanser between fiction reads. :)

    • January 18, 2015 1:59 pm

      I agree re: nonfiction’s use as a palate cleanser. Does that make the sorbet of reading? ;)

  2. December 19, 2014 10:37 pm

    The A.S. Byatt essays sound good – I’m hopeful my library will have them. I love non-fiction but haven’t read much at all this year. Hoping this will change in the new year. A mini personal readathon sounds like the perfect way to deal with being under the weather!

    • January 18, 2015 1:59 pm

      I hope you got ahold of the Byatt essays! They were well worth reading.

  3. December 20, 2014 12:21 am

    Interesting approach indeed, putting non-fiction on an equal footing with fiction. I really want Byatt’s On HIstories and Stories now! You have a way of writing about books that makes me want to read them :-)

    I’m sorry you don’t feel very well, I hope it’s just doing a bit too much, and not any virus that’s going around.

    • January 18, 2015 2:00 pm

      Thank you Susan! It was a flare-up, not a virus, thank goodness.

  4. December 20, 2014 12:43 pm

    What a great way to enjoy your stillness, Eva. I had not seen the A.S. Byatt title before and have put it on hold at the library.

  5. December 21, 2014 12:43 am

    The pressure on children in China to be successful in their education is frightening. Very high expectations are put on them by parents and grandparents because if they get a good job then the family can buy their way into the kind of lifestyle they want.

    • January 18, 2015 2:03 pm

      It’s more complicated than your last sentence implies. It’s not just that they want a tv or something; there are no pensions, saving for retirement is pretty much impossible due to China’s finances/property laws, and the government has mandated a young retirement age. So if their kids don’t support them financially, they don’t have other options once they’re in the 60s. In fact, there’s a national law requiring adults to financially support their parents & grandparents, so essentially the Chinese government has decided to place the burden of elder care on private citizens instead of providing a security net. In those circumstances, it’s definitely important for the kids to get the best jobs that they can. And the parents willingly spend the vast majority of their money on their children as they’re growing up, skipping meals so they can have better food, etc. Because they love them of course. :)

  6. January 3, 2015 7:24 pm

    They all look so good. ENJOY!!

    Beautiful blog…great posts.

    ENJOY the rest of your weekend.

    Elizabeth
    Silver’s Reviews
    My Blog

Trackbacks

  1. Things I didn’t read in January | Literary Transgressions

Thank you for commenting! For a long while, my health precluded me replying to everyone. Yet I missed the conversation, so I'm now making an effort to reply again. It might take a few days though, and there will be times when I simply can't. Regardless, I always read and value what you say.

