Skip to content

Dewey’s Read-a-Thon

October 18, 2014

My laptop currently doesn’t connect to the internet, my desktop has a 23″ screen that makes it a less than ideal travelling companion, and very soon I’m headed to Debi’s house, so I probably won’t be updating terribly often. :) But I’ll steal Debi’s laptop to check in occassionally!

P1130296I unintentionally began the read-a-thon yesterday, when I stayed up into the wee hours to finish Checkmate, the last of the Lymond chronicles, and my favourite. I’m still in a dramatic flare-up too, so I slept in today, missing the opening hours of the read-a-thon, and since I’ve gotten up I’ve been getting ready to head over to Debi’s. So I haven’t actually read anything yet! But as in all of the other read-a-thons, my day began with a giant mug of tea and buttered everything bagel. I’m pretty sure I’m going to start with Tanith Lee’s White as Snow, as I’m in a dark fairy tale sort of mood.

I’ll do the opening survey,  even if it is about four hours late! :)

 

1) What fine part of the world are you reading from today?

Upstate New York (the Great Lakes region), and I could not be more thrilled to say that, after a year and a half of hoping to move up here! I moved a bit over a month ago, and I wake up happy every day. Today is deliciously overcast, perfect for reading and enjoying hot beverages.

2) Which book in your stack are you most looking forward to?

All of them! I’m mainly reading ebooks today, due to the arthritis, so whatever’s on my Nook is fair game. I’m also bringing along White as Snow and Done Wrong in physical form. Unfortunately I was too ill to get to the library this week, so I don’t have any specific read-a-thon books, but Debi chose a book for me to read today (after I book bullied her into promising to read The Girl Who Circumnavigated Fairyland in a Ship of Her Own Making, hehe), so I’m excited about that. I just can’t remember the title!

3) Which snack are you most looking forward to?

I’m so fortunate: as Debi’s hosting the read-a-thon, all I have to do is show up and graze on everything! I’m sure it will all be delicious. :) I’m bringing a kuchen though from a great local bakery, and I must say I’m quite excited. Especially since that’s such a New York thing; I’d never heard of them before!

4) Tell us a little something about yourself!

I’m chronically ill, so I lead a quiet life. Reading lets me transcend that. I love to read all kinds of books, but I’m especially committed to making sure my reading is diverse: I seek out marginalised authors. I have an adorable little grey dog, who loves nothing better than curling up next to me as I read, unless it’s going with me on a walk in the woods! Aside from reading, I love to knit, walk, take photographs, and spend time with trees. I’m experiencing my first autumn in several years and cannot wait for a northern winter.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. October 18, 2014 11:30 am

    Happy readathoning! I also inadvertently started early, staying up too late to finish a book last night (I had planned to start it this morning, but then I thought I should try a few pages to make sure it was a good choice…. hah). Enjoy Debi’s!

  2. October 18, 2014 12:49 pm

    Have a great day Eva!!!! I hope you and Debi have a great time together :) Wish I could be there with y’all. Hope you feel better too! I will have to go look up what a Kuchen is…I’ve never heard of that either :p

  3. October 18, 2014 1:24 pm

    I’m so glad you’ll be there with Debi! Have a great time together and enjoy your great books and the beautiful autumn!

  4. October 18, 2014 2:50 pm

    Ooooo, I loved loved loved White as Snow. I think I copied half of it out for quotes I wanted to remember. Happy read-a-thon-ing! (And congrats on the move: I’ve visited that area twice and it’s beautiful countryside for sure.)

  5. October 18, 2014 4:37 pm

    I hope you are enjoying better autumn weather than New England is right now. High 70s isn’t exactly lending itself to curling up with a mug of tea and a book. How lovely that you have someone to spend the read-a-thon with. Happy reading!

  6. October 18, 2014 11:44 pm

    I also had to look up a kuchen and see it is a German dessert and was designated the dessert of the state of South Dakota in 2000. Enjoy your readathon. I enjoy following all of the people who participate in it. One of these days I might too.

  7. Vanessa M. permalink
    October 19, 2014 5:20 am

    Your read-a-thon plans sound great. What more fun could one have outside great books, great friends and pets, and warm drinks? I have never had a kuchen though I have a recipe from a coworker for making a plum kuchen.

Thank you for commenting! For a long while, my health precluded me replying to everyone. Yet I missed the conversation, so I'm now making an effort to reply again. It might take a few days though, and there will be times when I simply can't. Regardless, I always read and value what you say.

