Skip to content

Field Notes, vol 13

September 30, 2014

It’s about time I introduced you to my new apartment! It’s a sweet little studio in a building built in the 1920s, filled with sunlight all day, and just right for me. I love it dearly. I’m not quite done arranging it, especially as I’ve yet to put anything on the walls, but I trust you can overlook that. It showed up a bit in my video from last week, but that angle is not its best advantage: the pictures I’m showing you now are more true to life. In my opinion anyway. If you mouse over the photos, captions should appear, and clicking will enlarge a picture. Also, I have these in a gallery template that works best if you’re looking at the blog instead of in a feed reader, so please click through. I realised after uploading these images that I forgot to photograph my walk in closet, kitchen, or the beautiful view from my windows. I’ll have to do another post then, but for now, welcome to my apartment!

I love the apartment for its own sake, but I also love it for being so near a hundred acres wood. Thistle and I visit almost every day, so last Saturday I took along my camera to share it with you. My soul relaxes every time I’m here: I connect with forests, particularly the deciduous kind, in a way I find difficult to explain. But this tree love has been with me since childhood, and its strength has much to do with why I uprooted my life, left behind my family who I deeply love, and am now a resident of the northeast. Not pictured, but just as important: the chipmunks are bustling about, preparing their larders for the long winter, as are the grey squirrels. Robins are everywhere, chirping, pecking at the ground, and rushing into the trees when you get too close. Occasionally you might notice the woods are strangely silent: look up, and if you’re lucky you’ll find a hawk.


It’s funny: the woods are still green, but the sidewalks of my neighbourhood are covered in rustling yellow leaves, as trees begin to turn there not half a mile away. I’ll have to take some photographs of my neighbourhood too, as I also go on daily walks through it. It’s a sweet place that makes me smile, all the more so as I enjoy the feel and smell of leaves crunched underfoot.

I intend to tell you about my reading too, but I need to limit my typing as my hands have been sore lately. So I shall be back tomorrow to do so. I just didn’t want to delay this post any more! I hope you enjoyed the peek into my new surroundings.

58 Comments leave one →
  1. September 30, 2014 2:43 pm

    You got great shots of your lovely apartment! And your woods shots are just lovely! Tell Thistle I’m impressed with her patience in allowing to indulge your photography love. :)

    • October 2, 2014 4:52 pm

      Thanks! I’ll pass it along, but I’m not sure she deserves commendation. I just know now to drop the leash so she doesn’t tug just as I’ve managed the focus. ;)

      • October 7, 2014 9:40 am

        LOL–well, she still impresses me! If I dropped the Bacon’s lease to take photos, he’d just run off and *not* come back when I called him. Anyway, you know Thistle has Rich and I so wrapped around her little paws that she could get away with ANYTHING. :D

  2. September 30, 2014 3:09 pm

    Wow! Your books are even colour coded!

    • October 2, 2014 4:52 pm

      They are! The only tricky part was approximating similar colours on each side of the shelf. It makes me happy this way & I have a visual memory so I can still find the books easily. My closet is colour coded too (light to dark, like the shelves).

  3. LauraC permalink
    September 30, 2014 5:11 pm

    Your apartment is adorable, I love the light and the beautiful vintage details. What park is this? I grew up in the city and lived most of my life there until I moved to the suburb about 10 years ago. I would MUCH prefer to be back in the city now that my children are out of school. Unfortunately my husband is a suburb-lover. Blah!!

    • October 2, 2014 4:53 pm

      Thanks Laura! Maybe you’ll win over your husband in time. :)

  4. September 30, 2014 5:59 pm

    Beautiful, beautiful apartment – and surroundings!

  5. September 30, 2014 8:01 pm

    Lovely new place and even lovelier forest! And clever you to have moved there just in time to see the leaves to change colour. That is the only thing I miss about living back East.

    • October 2, 2014 4:53 pm

      It worked out well, moving in the fall. I still want to visit the Pacific Northwest one day: I dream about the trees there. ;)

  6. September 30, 2014 8:07 pm

    Beautiful apartment, Eva! Even without ever having met you, I feel confident in saying that it is perfectly “you”. Also, I love the couch that Thistle is cuddled up on—what a great pattern, and I bet its great for snuggling up and reading on.

    I’m so glad the move went well and you feel so at home in your new digs!

    • October 2, 2014 4:55 pm

      Thanks Steph! And I think reading someone’s blog for long enough makes you qualified to judge on personality. You happened to say the same thing as my sister. ;) I love my new-ish couch (go it in June) & it’s excellent for snuggling.

  7. September 30, 2014 9:11 pm

    Oh Eva, that apartment is lovely. The light coming in is fabulous. I love how light and airy it looks. And – your books! Colour coded! Is the shelf yours or comes with the apartment? Fabulous.

    As for the forest walk – it is lovely. I love walking in the woods also, and do it as often as I can. We live by a big wide river, and the city has a bike path all along the river on both sides. We live by a bird sanctuary, with a lake in the middle, so that is wonderful for exploring and taking walks in too. I hope you love where you find yourself now, and that you have many happy years there. I hope we can meet up sometime too!

    • October 2, 2014 4:56 pm

      Thanks Susan! The shelves are mine: they were a gift from my parents a couple years ago when I switched bedrooms. They had to be disassembled on move in day to get up into the apartment, then reassembled, but they’re as sturdy as ever.

      Your walking environment sounds wonderful!

  8. September 30, 2014 9:43 pm

    That bookshelf is to die for! Both the fact that it is huge and that you color coded your books is amazing :-)

    • October 2, 2014 4:56 pm

      Thnx Stefani! It’s 6′ x 6′ so definitely big. :D

  9. September 30, 2014 10:41 pm

    What a lovely place to live!

  10. October 1, 2014 12:21 am

    Lovely apartment. It seems you’ve found a small gem close to the woods. Walking in the woods really does help you relax, and the fresh air clears your senses – I could not imagine living without a forest or a park close to me.

    • October 2, 2014 4:56 pm

      Definitely a gem. And I agree: fresh air is so lovely.

  11. October 1, 2014 6:45 am

    What a perfect little apartment!

  12. October 1, 2014 11:05 am

    Lovely apartment and wood Eve

  13. October 1, 2014 12:33 pm

    Lovely! Thanks so much for sharing. I’ve lived in the Northeast all my life and it’s only when I leave for a trip elsewhere that I realize how much trees, forest and natural land mean to me. There is something so special about it so I can understand where you are coming from.

    • October 2, 2014 4:57 pm

      How wonderful to have grown up surrounded by all of these trees. :D

  14. October 1, 2014 1:10 pm

    What a lovely apartment! Really enjoying your return to blogging.

  15. Vanessa M. permalink
    October 1, 2014 2:46 pm

    I was admiring your apartment during the Library Loot video and I love how you’ve arranged it Eva. The lighting looks fabulous and Thistle seems quite settled in. I enjoyed the woodsy photos as well. May your walks and your reads be ever enjoyable.

    • October 2, 2014 4:59 pm

      Thnx Vanessa: it was fun on move in day trying different combinations until I stuck on the right one. Thistle has settled in, except she won’t come into the kitchen yet (I think because it’s different flooring), lol.

  16. October 1, 2014 6:47 pm

    Oh, this is so beautiful! I really love the way you’ve created a bedroom with the bookshelf. Plus, color-coded bookshelves are my weakness!

    • October 2, 2014 4:59 pm

      Thank you! I love how the bookcase works as a room divider too: gives a bit of privacy for a studio. Are your shelves colour coded?

      • October 5, 2014 8:42 am

        Haha! No, unfortunately not. I’m a very obsessive organizer, so it has to be alphabetical by author and then Dewey Decimal for nonfiction, and I haven’t gotten my entire library up here yet. In time, though!

  17. October 1, 2014 8:54 pm

    Your place looks perfect. I’m glad you found it.

  18. October 2, 2014 7:45 am

    Amazing place! It’s about the same as mine, just better decorated :). So jealous of your shelves! Thistle seems to be enjoying it thus far. Ohhh and the forest, I’m a forest type of person also (mountains over beach any day). Everything about it is great, the sounds, the smells, the view and even in the Summer it’s usually not too hot to explore.

    • October 2, 2014 5:00 pm

      You made me laugh Jo! The shelves were a gift from my parents, but they came from Ikea, so I imagine it’d be pretty easy to get some for yourself. ;) I love the ocean more than mountains, but forests more than anything, so a forested mountain would win over a beach. hehe I love how it’s always shady and cool too.

  19. October 2, 2014 12:25 pm

    I absolutely LOVE the apartment. It is cozy and comfortable and beautiful. Really a perfect spot. I’m a fan of deciduous woods as well. Not wild about pine trees. There is a strong sense of peace and contentment that comes through your words and pictures. Am so happy for you!

    • October 2, 2014 5:01 pm

      Thank you Nan! I’m definitely very content. I’m not as big into evergreens either: I don’t mind them but they don’t make my heart beat faster like deciduous ones do. Which made living in Colorado a bit frustrating.

  20. October 2, 2014 1:50 pm

    It looks just lovely. I would feel at home there too. I adore how the bookshelves create a wall- and are accessible from both sides! So pretty how you’ve arranged them too (I have too many, mine would be jammed in there all which way)

    • October 2, 2014 5:04 pm

      You’re welcome to come visit Jeane! I imagine I’ll get more books over time, but it’s surprising how much the case can hold, thanks to the two sides. At first I thought cube shelves were wasteful, but they’ve worked out well.

  21. Amanda permalink
    October 2, 2014 5:01 pm

    Your new home is most wonderful! How far do you have to walk before you get to the forest? I’m so grateful for a nearby trail through the forest about a half mile from my apartment. It’s usually hot and muggy though. Oh and now I want to color code my books too.

    • October 2, 2014 5:03 pm

      It’s less than ten minutes into the woods, which is great. And I’m so glad I don’t live in a hot climate anymore! Colour coding is pretty easy, so have fun with it. I have mine sorted light/dark as well as by colour.

  22. aartichapati permalink
    October 2, 2014 5:21 pm

    I love everything about this post! I think the way you feel about forests is the way I feel about lakes. I just love them. I also love mountains. I heard that people generally de-stress a lot when they are out in nature, or even if they just see a photo of nature. I think there’s a lot to the healing power of the outdoors :-)

    • October 6, 2014 6:30 pm

      Thanks Aarti: I agree re: nature’s healing power. The window view was so important to me, being able to see greenery/trees, since when I’m in a flare up it’s what I spend most of my time looking at. And hey, I’ve got a lake too! ;)

  23. October 2, 2014 6:14 pm

    What a lovely lovely place! And may I say how nice it is to see you posting again!
    And that forest. It is sort of magical!

  24. bulinecolorate permalink
    October 3, 2014 3:23 pm

    You have a lovely new home, I hope you’ll have many happy moments there. And Thistle is very cute too :)

    I was wondering (apologies if the topic has been talked about before, but I haven’t noticed) whether you ever tried a dictation software (the kind that types out what you speak), as it would in theory help you a lot with writing without affecting your hands. I remember using the one in Microsoft Word about a decade ago, but I would expect to be a ton more options available now.

  25. October 3, 2014 6:09 pm

    Aw, Eva, I love it! It looks like a gorgeous apartment! I’m so glad you’re happily settling in.

  26. October 4, 2014 1:50 pm

    Your apartment is adorable, Eva! I love the color-coded bookshelves. I do the same with my own collection, and people always wonder how I can find anything.

    • October 6, 2014 6:31 pm

      I’ve seen some snide remarks re: ‘real readers’ not arranging their books by colour, but I just laugh at that. I know what colour my spines are, thank you very much! ;)

  27. October 6, 2014 3:10 pm

    Your apartment is absolutely gorgeous and looks like it perfectly suits you! I love the bookcase best, of course. :) You got some really nice shots of the woods, I’m so happy for you that you’re living in a place that you truly love.

    • October 6, 2014 6:31 pm

      Thnx Heather: I feel so lucky to be living here. :)

  28. October 7, 2014 7:58 pm

    This is just lovely. Isn’t it wonderful when you have a space that you get to make into your own? When we moved from NYC back to VA, I finally had the space to make our apartment a place I want to be. Since I’m working from home, that was extra important! I now adore my space. It’s still small, but it feels like home.

    You’re a wonderful photographer. These are just beautiful shots. Thank you for sharing!!

  29. October 12, 2014 12:18 pm

    Gorgeous nature photos. (Flat’s cool too)

  30. October 17, 2014 6:41 pm

    So I’ve been away away away from online, but I’m making my way back and am so excited to read your news and see your beautiful place! Looks gorgeous, love the books, and glad life is treating you well. xoxo

Trackbacks

  1. Field Notes, vol 19 | A Striped Armchair

Thank you for commenting! For a long while, my health precluded me replying to everyone. Yet I missed the conversation, so I'm now making an effort to reply again. It might take a few days though, and there will be times when I simply can't. Regardless, I always read and value what you say.

