Skip to content

A R.I.P.-ing We Will Go

September 24, 2014

Quite belatedly, I’m officially joining Carl’s R.eaders I.mbibing P.eril IX event. I’ll be doing Peril the First, or at least four books. I drew up a rough list on Monday, after poking about other people’s plans, and doing a bit of independent research for more POC author options, and yesterday celebrated my first visit to my new library by gathering a little stack. I had to be sensible, and not gather a giant stack, as I get around via my feet and the bus now. ;)
P1130038
With the addition of four that I was able to check out as ebooks, and one freely available in public domain, here is my list, with the categories I’m guessing they fall into:

  • Before the Poison by Peter Robinson (suspense)
  • Let the Right One In by John Ajvide Lindqvist (horror)
  • White as Snow by Tanith Lee (dark fantasy)
  • The Goddess Chronicle by Natsuo Kirino (dark fantasy)*
  • Mind of Winter by Laura Kasischke (suspense)
  • The Lottery and Other Stories by Shirley Jackson (suspense)
  • Done Wrong by Eleanor Taylor Bland (mystery)*
  • Brown Girl in the Ring by Nalo Hopkinson (dark fantasy)*
  • Anna Dressed in Blood by Kendare Blake (horror)*
  • Some Kind of Fairy Tale by Graham Joyce (dark fantasy)
  • Tantalize by Cynthia Leitich Smith (supernatural)*
  • Romance of the Forest by Ann Radcliffe (gothic)

It can be a bit of a challenge to turn up genre POC authors, so in case anyone else also tries to read diversely & wants to join in the R.I.P. fun, I thought I’d also list a few of my past favourites for easy reference (I’ve also starred which ones on my list this year are POC). This is off the top of my head, and by no means comprehensive, but it’ll give you a start at least! And all of these books I really enjoyed, and in many cases passionately loved, of course. Oh and I have to mention one that isn’t by a POC author, but deals beautifully with GLBT issues & mental health stuff, while also being one of the creepiest, addictive, most fascinating meta-fiction books I’ve read in quite awhile: The Drowning Girl by Caitlin R. Kiernan. So good! And manages to make mermaids terrifying. I must do a post on it, but until then, you should add it to your lists.

lavinia-portraitRIP92751Thriller/Suspense

  • Indian Killer by Sherman Alexie
  • Origin by Diana Abu-Jaber
  • Black Water Rising by Attica Locke

Gothic

  • True Murder by Yaba Badoe (not published in the US but easily available from Better World Books: it’s worth it!)
  • Bruised Hibiscus by Elizabeth Nunez

Dark Fantasy

  • The Killing Moon and The Shadowed Sun by N.K. Jemisin

Supernatural

  • The Vampire’s Beautiful Daughter by S.P. Somtow
  • The Icarus Girl by Helen Oyeyemi
  • Kindred by Octavia Butler
  • The Between by Tananarive Due (The Good House, also by her, is one of the creepiest haunted house stories I’ve read, but it was too much into the horror genre for my tastes. If you don’t mind horror though, that’s a good one to try!)

Mystery

  • A Beautiful Place to Die by Malla Nunn (darker)
  • Dead Time by Eleanor Taylor Bland (darker)
  • The Young Widow by Cassandra Chan (lighter)
  • The Spy in the House by Y.S. Lee (lighter)
  • Death at Rainy Mountain by Mardi Oakley Medawar (lighter)
7 Comments leave one →
  1. September 24, 2014 11:54 am

    Oh, for crying out loud, Eva–you’re killing me! I start reading down your suggestions list, and I’m feeling all good as those first few are already on my list (or even shelves), and I’m starting to get a little cocky…and then BAM! you just slam me with nearly a dozen books to add to the TBR list. I’m just going to have to quit reading your blog! LOL–yeah right, that’d be the day, huh? :P Oooh, but something awesome I realized–any books you get from the library and love, I at least know I’ll have easy access to them. :D Happy RIP-ing, my dear!

    • September 25, 2014 9:41 am

      You crack me up Debi! I own some of these too, if you want to borrow them. :)

  2. September 24, 2014 7:31 pm

    Hurrah, hurrah! I hope you like Some Kind of Fairy Tale! I liked it quite a bit when I read it ?last year? recentlyish. Changeling stories are the best, and I do not see enough of them.

    • September 25, 2014 9:42 am

      I agree: there are not nearly enough changeling stories. One of my favourite books when I was little was The Moorchild! Anyway, I’m glad to hear a vote in favour of Some Kind of Fairy Tale!

  3. September 26, 2014 7:34 am

    I had hoped to join the challenge, too, but I am not really reading much this year. It’s sad. Normally I would visit other blogs and get a whole bunch of book suggestions and then buy books for my birthday… Just not into it this year.

  4. September 26, 2014 1:13 pm

    Yay Shirley Jackson! I really want to read Let the Right one In as well. Great list!

  5. September 27, 2014 7:59 am

    I read Let the Right One In a few RIPs ago and it was perfect for the season. Not my favorite book, but a good gritty take on the vampire legend. I definitely put The Good House on my library holds list! Can’t wait to dig in!

Thank you for commenting! For a long while, my health precluded me replying to everyone. Yet I missed the conversation, so I'm now making an effort to reply again. It might take a few days though, and there will be times when I simply can't. Regardless, I always read and value what you say.

