Skip to content

Beginning the Next Chapter

September 4, 2014

4309638815_7a297f3fa8_z

photo credit

Hello everyone! I promise I plan to get back to blogging eventually, but it will have to wait for a bit longer, because in exactly ten days I’ll be moving into my very own apartment. :D After a year and a half of dreaming of moving north, I can’t quite believe it’s all happening so quickly (I just got home from apartment hunting late Tuesday night and will be heading off in a big truck next Wednesday), or that I found a little place that is almost exactly as I imagined it in my daydreams, but I couldn’t be more thrilled about it. I feel so deeply fortunate, to have a family that will do anything to help me change my life, and friends who might as well be family offering oodles of support as well: thanks to all of them I’ll soon be calling the Great Lakes region of New York home. There shall be snow! And woods! And falling leaves! And chickadees!

Gratitude doesn’t begin to describe my feelings towards my family & friends for making this possible.  And of course there’s nothing better about good news than sharing it, particularly with all of you: while I haven’t been around as much in the past year, I still think of the book blogging community as home. I’ll definitely be sharing photos and stories once I’m settled, but in the meantime, I’ve got to pack up my life and take care of all those incidental bureaucratic necessities, not to mention drive across the country with my mother and a certain little dog. And that’s just the beginning of this grand new adventure!

62 Comments leave one →
  1. LauraC permalink
    September 4, 2014 9:35 am

    Not sure what “upstate NY” means since NY City dwellers think everything outside of the city is “Upstate NY” but I live in a suburb of Rochester NY near Lake Ontario. I suppose that counts as Western NY. You’re prob going nearer to Albany or the Catskills? Welcome to New York!

    • September 4, 2014 9:39 am

      I’ve edited my post to rephrase; I’ll be in the Great Lakes region as well! I’ve been using ‘upstate NY’ to mean ‘not NYC’ when talking to non-New Yorkers, so now I’ll have to be more precise. hehe

  2. September 4, 2014 10:02 am

    *crying lots and lots of happy tears*

  3. September 4, 2014 10:05 am

    You know, along with all the giddy dancing. :D

  4. September 4, 2014 11:29 am

    Welcome to the Northeast! I’m so glad to hear your dreams of an apartment in upstate NY are finally coming true.

  5. September 4, 2014 11:32 am

    I hope your move goes smoothly :)

  6. September 4, 2014 1:21 pm

    Wonderful! I’m so happy for you! My husband and I took a trip to the Finger Lakes area about 15 years ago and it was breathtaking. We are from the drier areas of CA and had never seen anything like the trees and fall colors and green! You’ll be getting there just in time. :)

    • September 5, 2014 8:20 am

      I’ll be a little north, but I’m hoping to go on some day trips to the Finger Lakes area! Going up in late August just now I couldn’t believe the greenness, compared to how dry things get here by late summer.

  7. September 4, 2014 3:00 pm

    Hope you enjoy your new home and look forward to your return to blogging

  8. September 4, 2014 5:21 pm

    How wonderful that you’re finally realizing your dream, Eva! I recently moved to the New England area so not too far away and am so looking forward to the cooler weather.

    • September 5, 2014 8:21 am

      Oh neat! I’ve never been to New England & am very excited to be only a train ride away. :D

  9. September 4, 2014 6:19 pm

    That’s wonderful news! I’m so pleased to hear it and look forward to hearing all about the new place and new adventures :)

  10. September 4, 2014 7:49 pm

    Best wishes to you as you begin this new chapter. What great timing seasonally, you’ll see the very last legs of summerish weather and then you’ll experience the glory of a Northeast autumn.

    • September 5, 2014 8:21 am

      Christy, it’ll be my first real fall in ages! I can’t wait!

  11. September 4, 2014 9:09 pm

    Wonderful news indeed! Good luck and have a safe move! Can’t wait to read about it!!

    • September 5, 2014 8:22 am

      Thank you Maphead! So far a post about the adventure would be: and then I taped together more boxes and stuffed them and closed them. LOL

      • September 5, 2014 10:24 pm

        LOL Indeed!
        Nice to hear from you again! I hope all is well!!

  12. September 4, 2014 10:38 pm

    There’s nothing better than a daydream come true. Congratulations, Eva! :)

    • September 5, 2014 8:22 am

      What a lovely way to phrase it Kristen!

  13. September 5, 2014 2:52 am

    Great news! Moving somewhere else is amazing and exciting. I hope you’ll post plenty of pictures from your new adventures :).

    • September 5, 2014 8:22 am

      I will try my best Jo! Better start taking pics of the boxes, hehe.

  14. Vanessa M. permalink
    September 5, 2014 4:52 am

    I wish you all the best with your move to NY Eva. You’ll be the third blogger that I read who resides in that lovely state. I’ll look forward to your future book and nature postings.

    • September 5, 2014 8:23 am

      Thank you Vanessa! There will be so much new nature for me to explore & lucky me, one of my local friends is a biology prof. :D

  15. September 5, 2014 6:48 am

    That’s great news! I’m so happy for you… we might be practically neighbors.

    • September 5, 2014 8:23 am

      You’re in the Finger Lakes, right? I’ll be a little north of you, but we’ll be quite close!

  16. September 5, 2014 7:09 am

    All the very best Eva in your new home. Looking forward to hearing about it. I moved from the USA to Australia so Texas to New York is just a hop and a skip.

    • September 5, 2014 8:26 am

      I grew up moving between Texas & England, and have moved several times since high school graduation around the country, but this is the first time I’m doing a solo move AND bringing more with me than will fit in a car! Should be interesting. :D

  17. September 5, 2014 9:04 am

    Don’t forget to pack lots of sweaters for those snowy winters!

    • September 5, 2014 11:54 am

      Not a problem! Wool skirts & sweaters are one of my favourite things to thrift AND I knit now. hehe Will just have to watch out for moths!

  18. September 6, 2014 5:54 am

    Amazing! I hope it’s everything you dream of, and that you keep us posted on developments!

  19. Beth F permalink
    September 6, 2014 7:34 am

    How exciting!!! Can’t wait to hear about your new adventures.

  20. September 6, 2014 2:06 pm

    I’m so, so excited for you! We’re in the same state now, as of my move last week. :)

    • September 9, 2014 12:01 pm

      Oh even better! It looks like you’re in the city? I’ll just be a train ride away,

  21. September 6, 2014 3:19 pm

    That’s so exciting!! Good luck with the move – I’m looking forward to seeing pictures of the new place. :)

    • September 9, 2014 12:02 pm

      Thank you! Everything got loaded on the truck this am, so that’s the first stage done!

  22. September 6, 2014 3:28 pm

    Yay, congratulations on the move! I hope it goes smoothly and that you get to see lots of interesting things during your drive up there. :D

    • September 9, 2014 12:03 pm

      Thnx! We won’t have time for a leisurely trip but had least I’ll be able to admire the scenery!

  23. September 6, 2014 8:38 pm

    Oh my gosh!!! SUCH happy news. I can’t wait to hear all about it. As always, been missing you and your posts. <3

  24. September 7, 2014 7:41 am

    Exciting news! When I read “moving north” I thought, oh she’s coming to Austin! But no, you mean NORTH. What an awesome adventure. I’ve been trying to move out of Texas for years and have *almost* given up. I can’t wait to hear about New York, it sounds dreamy. Good luck!

    • September 9, 2014 12:04 pm

      Oh yeah: Austin is still too hot for me! Bring on the snow. ;)

  25. September 7, 2014 9:22 am

    This post makes me very happy. Wishing you all the best with your move norht.

  26. September 7, 2014 10:23 am

    Many many congratulations!! I hope your move goes perfectly smoothly, and I can’t wait to hear about all your new adventures once you’re settled!

    • September 9, 2014 12:05 pm

      Thnx Jenny! It’s going well so far. :)

  27. September 7, 2014 5:44 pm

    Great news, Eva! My dad grew up in that part of New York and always tells my brother and me that we don’t know what real winter is like. :) I hope that your new adventure is everything you’ve dreamed.

    • September 9, 2014 12:05 pm

      My mom grew up in the area too and thinks I’m crazy. She hates snow and winter. Hehe

  28. Amanda permalink
    September 7, 2014 6:57 pm

    I hope your transition and moving is going smoothly. I so long to move North!

    • September 9, 2014 12:06 pm

      Thanks! So far it’s a lot of work but it’s getting done.

      • Amanda permalink
        September 12, 2014 9:15 am

        I’ve been reading New Worlds For All: Indians, Europeans, and the Remaking of Early America and it has me thinking of The Sharing Knife Quartet you posted about.

  29. September 8, 2014 5:32 pm

    Congratulations! That is truly wonderful. I am so excited and happy for you!!!

  30. September 10, 2014 5:09 pm

    Eva, I haven’t commented in a long time, but I am *so* happy to read this. I wish you much happiness on your new adventure!

  31. September 23, 2014 7:16 am

    That’s awesome, Eva! Congratulations!

  32. September 28, 2014 9:53 pm

    I’m sorry I’m late with this – I’m so happy everything is working out for you so far, new apartment and living up here in the north! If you come to Montreal again, or Toronto, I want to meet up with you :-) Meanwhile – welcome, and so glad it’s coming true for you. Hugs.

Thank you for commenting! For a long while, my health precluded me replying to everyone. Yet I missed the conversation, so I'm now making an effort to reply again. It might take a few days though, and there will be times when I simply can't. Regardless, I always read and value what you say.

