Skip to content

Hello Again

July 17, 2014

Floral Couch
Oh dear. I always feel so embarrassed about my blogging breaks, which for the past two years have seemed just about endless, that I’ve put off returning to blogging this time for just that reason. But I miss you. I miss gushing about books out loud instead of just in my head. I miss all of the learning and laughter and challenging perspectives and vitality of this community that have helped me grow into a better woman than I’d otherwise be. So here I am.

I believe this time a return is sustainable, as I’m typing this on a desktop mac instead of my old laptop. A separate screen and wireless keyboard allows for a much more ergonomic set up, and the newest Apple operating system includes all kinds of useful accessibility features, even a dictation program.

As for me, I’m still living in Texas for now, still hoping to move to upstate New York within the next few months. At first I was terribly upset to have missed my ideal May deadline, but eventually I tired of those feelings and decided to embrace the good things of summer. I’ve been creating homemade popsicles, wearing breezy clothes, enjoying the long summer twilights, learning to distinguish birds by their songs, gorging on local peaches, and spending a lot of quality time with my family. The weather has kindly colluded in my enjoyment by staying overcast much of the time and limiting itself primarily to highs in the nineties instead of hundreds.

Of course, I’ve also been doing a lot of reading, both in print and via audiobook, which are the perfect accompaniments to the knitting I now find myself addicted to. The same weekend I brought home the new computer, I also found a little couch whose botanical pattern has tempted me to rename my blog as A Floral Sofa. The subsequent room rearrangement turned out to be perfect for summer, and I spend many a happy hour knitting and reading while watching out the window, as geckoes and birds go about their business. It’s funny how such a fairly small thing can impact daily life so much, but my couch (which only cost fifty dollars plus a couple of backbreaking sweaty hours getting it inside) has done so.

My new computer has done so too, and now that I’ve conquered by feeling of shyness, I look forward to catching up with all of your lives as well, happy in the knowledge that I can read blogs to my heart’s content without destroying my hands. And oh I have so many books to tell you about. I cannot wait to begin.

70 Comments leave one →
  1. July 17, 2014 1:50 pm

    So good to see you back. I can’t wait to hear about the books!

  2. July 17, 2014 1:51 pm

    Some people come and go so quickly here… I like to see you coming in again.

    • July 23, 2014 10:52 am

      Thanks Jeanne. :) I’m certainly glad that so many of the bloggers I’ve known for years are still around. I miss the ones who have left.

  3. July 17, 2014 2:07 pm

    Welcome back Eva!

  4. July 17, 2014 2:38 pm

    Welcome back to the fold Eva. Sounds like you are learning to balance life pretty well.

    • July 23, 2014 10:55 am

      Well, now I need to add blogging back into that balance. We’ll see how it goes. :)

  5. July 17, 2014 3:33 pm

    Happy to see you are back. Let us hear about books and all other good things in your life.

  6. July 17, 2014 3:33 pm

    So good to hear from you again! I’m glad you were able to let go of your feelings of guilt, both regarding your absence and your delayed move north. All you can do is your best and understand that sometimes things work at their own pace, which isn’t always as swift as we might like. I’m glad you’re feeling better and I look forward to reading your bookish musings in the weeks to come!

    • July 23, 2014 10:55 am

      Very wise words Steph, and ones I’ll remind myself of when that guilt tries to return.

  7. Amanda permalink
    July 17, 2014 5:00 pm

    I like how you positioned yourself in the photo with the mirror. Well done. I’m excited you are back!

    • July 23, 2014 10:56 am

      Thnx Amanda! I have a thing about popping myself into mirror photos: I try to do it at least once every time I travel. :)

  8. July 17, 2014 8:08 pm

    Oh, Eva, it’s wonderful to see you back, and what a very beautiful picture above. I can certainly understand the allure of that lovely floral sofa in such a robin’s egg blue room! Glad that you have found a way to return to blogging, as I miss your incisive thoughts and wonderful bookish discoveries.

    • July 23, 2014 10:56 am

      Thank you Melanie! I’m sure I’ll discover lots of good books when I catch up on your blog!

  9. July 17, 2014 9:22 pm

    woo hop you’re back. Good to see your bookish self back and love the floral sofa. Don’t leave us again for awhile. We want to hear all about your books.

    • July 23, 2014 10:56 am

      I shall try my best to stick around this time! I want to talk all about my books & hear about everyone else’s! :)

  10. Julia McGrath permalink
    July 17, 2014 10:00 pm

    Good to see you back, Eva. Hello from wintry Melbourne, Australia! Oh that couch would be just the thing for curling up with a good book – and a fire! I’ve just raced through “Crazy Rich Asians” which I found hilarious. It’s prompted me to seek out a book written by an Asian mother who has great aspirations for her children – and drives them mercilessly. I think it’s called “Tiger Mother” and should be an interesting contrast to the mindless consumerism portrayed in the book – along with the lifestyles of the incredibly rich Chinese/Singaporeans. Cheers Julia

    • July 23, 2014 10:57 am

      Hi Julia! Tiger Mother made a big splash in the US when it was published, but I didn’t read it. Hope you enjoy it.

  11. July 17, 2014 11:26 pm

    Welcome back, Eva! That looks like a delightful room. I’ve missed your posts – both bookish and non – so can’t wait to hear all about what you’ve been doing and reading lately.

    • July 23, 2014 10:58 am

      Thank you Claire! I especially appreciate your room approval considering all of those fabulous libraries you regularly post. We have similar taste. :)

  12. Aneta permalink
    July 18, 2014 6:14 am

    Lovely to see you again! Can’t wait to read all the enthusiastic reviews. Best wishes as always:)

  13. July 18, 2014 8:18 am

    Hey! It’s so nice to see you back!

  14. July 18, 2014 8:19 am

    I have been in and out too. It’s called LIFE. We understand! Welcome bacck.

    • July 23, 2014 10:58 am

      You made me laugh Rebecca! Very true & a good way to put breaks in perspective.

  15. July 18, 2014 9:56 am

    So excited to “see” you! I was just checking in here earlier in the week to see if I’d missed any posts. The weather has been unusually mild in Texas, hasn’t it? It’s cloudy and in the 60s today, which just knocks my socks off.

    • July 23, 2014 10:59 am

      Oh I’m suddenly jealous of north Texas: we haven’t had anything like the 60s. But I’ll take high 70s, 80s, even mid 90s over 100+ every day!

  16. July 18, 2014 11:42 am

    I’m so glad you are back and am looking forward to your upcoming posts. The floral sofa is quite lovely. It looks so inviting and seems like a nice comfy space for knitting and reading.

  17. aartichapati permalink
    July 18, 2014 11:42 am

    Yay! I love the sofa, too – I think it would go very well with a striped armchair and then you could have OPTIONS in where to veg out and read :-) Welcome back – so glad to see you again!

    • July 23, 2014 11:01 am

      Yes options are good! I still have my giant armchair too, just moved it to a different place. :)

  18. July 18, 2014 11:57 am

    Welcome back!

  19. July 18, 2014 12:59 pm

    I’m so so glad you are back and that you have a new computer that can accomodate your needs :). Your Summer and Summer reading sound delightful!

    • July 23, 2014 11:01 am

      Thank you Jo: it’s definitely been a good summer! And I’m so grateful to the new computer.

  20. July 18, 2014 4:57 pm

    It’s so great to hear from you, Eva! I can’t wait to hear about all those books. :)

  21. queenofthepark permalink
    July 18, 2014 6:42 pm

    Welcome back Eva we are all looking forward to new book thoughts from the floral bower
    Love the juxtaposition of the sweet and cosy with your enhanced technology

    • July 23, 2014 11:02 am

      You have quite a talent for turning a phrase: I love thinking of a ‘floral bower.’ :D

  22. July 18, 2014 6:51 pm

    Welcome,welcome back Eva! What a pleasant surprise.

  23. July 18, 2014 7:42 pm

    Oh my, this made me so happy that tears welled up. Really. :) The bit about changing your blog name to A Floral Sofa made me giggle.
    Okay, now off to email you like I should have a week ago!

    • July 23, 2014 11:02 am

      So that would be a no to the new name? ;) j/k

  24. July 19, 2014 12:18 am

    And I can’t wait to hear all about them! You’ve been missed, Eva, so I’m delighted to hear from you again.

    • July 23, 2014 11:03 am

      I missed you too Clare, so I look forward to catching up. :)

  25. July 19, 2014 7:54 am

    Yay, you’re back! It’s good to see you again. :-)

    I finally broke down and got a wireless keyboard and mouse at Christmastime to go with my laptop. The somewhat more ergonomic correctness of it all has definitely helped me. Typing and mousing was definitely getting way too hard on my poor unfortunate joints, so I love my new set-up. Glad yours is working for you, too!

    • July 23, 2014 11:03 am

      Yes, technology is fabulous! :) Do you use a regular mouse or the trackpad? I got the regular one, and it’s SO much nicer than the trackpad on my fingers.

  26. July 19, 2014 8:33 am

    Hi hi hi hi!! I missed you! I am so pleased you are back, and I hope you can stay! Your new sofa is adorable, and I missed you! HUG.

  27. July 19, 2014 1:10 pm

    Hi, Eva! I’m so pleased to hear from you. So much so that I’m crawling out of my own blogging absence to say hello.

  28. July 21, 2014 3:43 am

    Welcome back, Eva! So wonderful to see you back :) Nice to know that you are enjoying the summer. Looking forward to hearing about all the wonderful books you read. Your new sofa is beautiful – love it!

    • July 23, 2014 11:29 am

      Thank you Vishy! (And sorry you got caught in the filter: it shouldn’t happen again. I think because I haven’t blogged in so long, so most of the commenters have ‘timed out’ their approval.)

  29. July 21, 2014 6:10 am

    Welcome back! You don’t need to apologize for your blogging breaks. The important is that you’re back.

    • July 23, 2014 11:04 am

      Thank you Smithereens: I’ll remember that!

  30. July 21, 2014 8:42 am

    Welcome back! It is so nice to see your blog pop up on my blog reader and to hear what you’ve been up to!

  31. Jennifer permalink
    July 23, 2014 8:29 am

    Welcome back. I can completely empathize with the recurring blog hiatus. Finding the perfect balance that allows one to blog can be incredibly difficult.

    But oh boy does it sound like you have been enjoying yourself in the world beyond a computer. And I love the new sofa.

    Looking forward to hearing about your reading adventures!

    • July 23, 2014 11:05 am

      Yep, working blogging back into the schedule hasn’t quite happened yet. But I have hope: just need to make it a regular part of my routine again!

  32. July 26, 2014 11:06 am

    Good to see you back, Eva! We understand, life gets in the way sometimes. I hope your new setup continues to work out for you– and the couch is certainly lovely!

  33. July 26, 2014 9:05 pm

    Welcome back dear friend! I have not been very good at blogging or reading other blogs either as life has just been full. I am looking forward to keeping up as best I can. In summary, the big news on my front is that I left a job that was not a good fit, I am taking the bar exam again in a few days, and I am just about 8 months pregnant!! Looking forward to catching up with you more!!!

  34. July 27, 2014 8:37 am

    How nice to see that “Hello” email sitting in my inbox this morning! Welcome back!

  35. July 27, 2014 3:53 pm

    I was thinking of you the other day, Last month really. Glad to see you back at it. I’ve missed keeping up with the non-fiction world you cover so well.

  36. July 28, 2014 4:54 pm

    Nice to see you back!

  37. July 29, 2014 2:31 pm

    Welcome back Eva!

  38. August 6, 2014 8:38 pm

    I’m always so happy to see a post pop up from you here. I’m just happy to hear about your summer and your lovely set up and all the wonderful books you’ve been reading.

  39. August 28, 2014 9:09 am

    Welcome back!!!

Thank you for commenting! For a long while, my health precluded me replying to everyone. Yet I missed the conversation, so I'm now making an effort to reply again. It might take a few days though, and there will be times when I simply can't. Regardless, I always read and value what you say.

