Skip to content

Literature as a Whole

February 15, 2014

5573264559_a248b2fe4c_z
photo credit

Literature as a whole is not an aggregate of exhibits with red and blue ribbons attached to them, like a cat-show, but the range of articulate human imagination as it extends from the height of imaginative heaven to the depth of imaginative hell.

-Northrop Frye, The Educated Imagination

6 Comments leave one →
  1. February 15, 2014 9:42 am

    Ah yes, Northrop Frye! I graduated from Victoria College at the University of Toronto and was taught Shakespeare by Prof Frye. I actually won a silver medal upon graduation and at the award dinner was privileged to sit with Frye and his wife. I was young and shy and in awe and could barely bring myself to speak to him. If I could do it now I’d be deluging him with questions! He had a deep understanding of texts and the big picture of literature — a true Canadian icon.

  2. February 15, 2014 12:29 pm

    Beautiful quote, Eva! Thanks for sharing :)

  3. February 15, 2014 2:37 pm

    Great quote!

  4. February 16, 2014 12:33 am

    Lovely quote :-)

  5. February 16, 2014 5:29 am

    I’m experiencing the depths of imaginative hell right now reading Zola’s L’Assommoir. He isn’t exactly someone to read if you feel like being uplifted but wow, what a story teller

  6. February 16, 2014 1:54 pm

    What a lovely way to start the day! Thanks!

Thank you for commenting! For a long while, my health precluded me replying to everyone. Yet I missed the conversation, so I'm now making an effort to reply again. It might take a few days though, and there will be times when I simply can't. Regardless, I always read and value what you say.

