Skip to content

They are Ever Changing

June 15, 2013

8317744614_da6d5a5553
photo credit

The act of rereading, as I have learned over the years, is an especially revealing one; in its capacity to conjure up our previous selves…. Books may appear as so many words on a page, static, when actually they are ever changing–shifting, a palimpsest onto which the narrative of the reader’s life is continually taking form.

-Stephanie Staal, Reading Women

6 Comments leave one →
  1. June 15, 2013 10:17 am

    Wonderful quote!

  2. June 16, 2013 6:20 pm

    Great quote! I love to reread.

  3. June 16, 2013 8:17 pm

    Oh, so true. I have a list of things I’d like to reread for just this reason…

  4. June 17, 2013 2:43 am

    Beautiful quote!

  5. June 17, 2013 8:32 pm

    Yes, yes, yes. Reveal our previous selves is exactly what it is. That’s why I love rereading so much (among other reasons).

  6. July 1, 2013 8:09 pm

    This truly is an awesome quote. When I read Reading Woman I was definitely inspired to reread some of my favorite books. And now that I’m a teacher I’m finding even more wondrous surprises from rereading books I never would have really thought about rereading!

Thank you for commenting! For a long while, my health precluded me replying to everyone. Yet I missed the conversation, so I'm now making an effort to reply again. It might take a few days though, and there will be times when I simply can't. Regardless, I always read and value what you say.

