Skip to content

Field Notes, vol 7

May 26, 2013

field notes
It’s been ages since I’ve done one of these posts! Nothing momentous has occurred in the past two months, with the exception of getting to visit Debi and her wonderful family again thanks to a particularly good airfare sale. Aside from that, my life has been full of little things: rediscovering knitting and making my first sock (I’ve just begun the toe on the second: knitting with arthritis requires the tortoise approach), teaching Thistle new tricks, daydreaming about travelling plans, adjusting my cooking to a new season, and of course books. I must admit I’ve been neglecting the book blogosphere: I suspect my arthritis has worsened a bit, and I’m still discovering the best approach. But in the back of my mind, as I go about daily life, I’ve been mulling over bigger ideas: purposes and dreams and how to give back to the world despite my homebound state. I suspect that, for me, book blogging is an integral part of living a good life, so I’m making more room for it.

I’ve also been reading up a veritable storm! Last weekend, with my arthritis flaring, I found myself a bit frustrated at my inability to knit or cook or go for a long walk (it’s surprising just how many joints are involved in walking). Luckily for me, I suddenly remembered that reading is much easier on the hands, and that if I can’t always fill up my days with the variety of activities I’d like to, I can always turn to the variety that books provide. And I’ve been doing just that ever since: in fact, I’ve finished fifteen books in the last week. More importantly, I feel so satisfied, mind and soul, while my body has gained the breathing space it needs to recover. Reading truly is a blessing, and books ensure that my trusty armchair will never feel like a prison, even when I have to spend hours ensconced there.

My hands are feeling tired, and I’ve promised myself to follow a moderate blogging path rather than my usual all-or-nothing approach, so unfortunately I can’t tell you in detail about those books yet. But I will. And I look forward to catching up on what everyone else has been reading. For now, though, I’m going to back to the marvelous book I’m currently in the middle of: Diana Eck’s Encountering God.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. May 26, 2013 9:19 am

    I am sorry to hear of the flair up. I have a prolapsed disc in my back & it causes pain & dispruption. Keep reading, there are SO many wonderful books to while the hours away!

    • May 27, 2013 1:18 pm

      Sorry to hear about that Julie! Thank goodness for books though. :)

  2. May 26, 2013 2:39 pm

    Blogging moderately instead of an all or nothing approach, I like the sound of that. It is often hard to accept, but I do feel that blogging really never is, or has to be, all or nothing. But that moderation can be satisfactory. Any post by you is very much appreciated, Eva.

    I have never heard of Encountering God, but the title sounds interesting.

    • May 27, 2013 1:20 pm

      Yes, I have to remind myself of moderation being good ALL the time. hehe Thnx for the compliment! & Encountering God is wonderful. :D

  3. May 27, 2013 8:49 am

    I really loved the Diana Eck book and would like to read it again some day. It was a transformative book for me.

    • May 27, 2013 1:20 pm

      I’m finding it transformative as well. :)

  4. dastevensish permalink
    May 27, 2013 1:40 pm

    While I am utterly thrilled to hear that you read 15 books in a week (for you, of course, but also for greedy old me who wants to hear all your recs :D ), but I am also utterly saddened to hear that you think the arthritis is worsening. :( :( :( I know it is degenerative, and I know that it will worsen, but I can’t help but want with all my heart for that worsening to be as delayed and as slow as is possible. *HUGS HUGS HUGS* And yet more *HUGS HUGS HUGS* for the incredible boost your positive attitude never fails to give me! Love you, dear friend!

  5. May 27, 2013 7:12 pm

    Fifteen books! I’m so sad to hear that your arthritis has made doing the things you love difficult, but I’m glad to hear you’ve had reading to turn to. I hope these have been amazing books, too! I love what you say about blogging being integral for a good life – I feel the same way too, even if I can’t always devote the same amount of time to it. It just feels good to get my words out there and to have conversations about books and gardens and life.

  6. Vanessa permalink
    May 28, 2013 4:16 am

    Oh, I am sorry to read that your arthritis worsened as of late. I don’t comment much but I do enjoy your blog. I hope that you will have some days where you can return to knitting and cooking. Thank goodness for books!

  7. May 30, 2013 11:39 am

    books are a great way to escape the every day I find eve ,all the best stu

Thank you for commenting! For a long while, my health precluded me replying to everyone. Yet I missed the conversation, so I'm now making an effort to reply again. It might take a few days though, and there will be times when I simply can't. Regardless, I always read and value what you say.

