Skip to content

Library Loot: January 19th to 25th

January 25, 2013

Library Loot is a weekly event co-hosted by Claire from The Captive Reader and Marg from The Adventures of an Intrepid Reader that encourages bloggers to share the books they’ve checked out from the library. If you’d like to participate, just write up your post-feel free to steal the button-and link it using the Mr. Linky any time during the week. And of course check out what other participants are getting from their libraries!

Video

Titles Mentioned

  • Help Me to Find My People: by Heather Andrea Williams
  • Wise Blood by Flannery O’Connor
  • The Fates Will Find Their Way by Hannah Pittard
  • Aeschylus II: The Suppliant Maidens and The Persians, Seven against Thebes and Prometheus Bound
  • Fairy Tales by Hans Christian Andersen
  • Forgotten Readers by Elizabeth McHenry
  • Beyond the Veil by Fatima Mernissi
  • Heidi’s Alp by Christina Hardyment
  • Segu by Maryse Conde
  • Prayer by Richard J. Foster
  • Baumgartner’s Bombay by Anita Desai
  • Amrita by Banana Yoshimoto
  • The Bondwoman’s Narrative by Hannah Crafts
  • The Underdogs by Mariano Azuelo
  • Julian of Norwich by Julian of Norwich
  • Encountering God: by Diana L. Eck
  • Ombria in Shadow by Patricia A. McKillip
  • I am a Cat by Natsume Soseki

Covers
Screen Shot 2013-01-25 at 2.31.17 PM
Screen Shot 2013-01-25 at 2.31.07 PM
Screen Shot 2013-01-25 at 2.28.48 PM

See all the details in my LibraryThing collection!

8 Comments leave one →
  1. January 26, 2013 7:06 am

    What an amazing loot! The Bondwoman’s Narrative sounds extremely interesting and I really should finally read something by O’Connor! I feel Andersen’s fairy tales have always been part of my life. They were an important part of my childhood reading experience even before I could read myself. Hope you’ll enjoy them and all the other books in your loot!

  2. January 26, 2013 9:00 am

    I love Ombria in Shadow. May be my favorite McKillip novel.

  3. January 26, 2013 10:52 am

    Hi Eva and Thistle,I have been trying to remember the correct title and author for Heidi’s Alp for awhile now.I actually own this book ,but it is packed away.I look forward to reading what you think of it.

  4. January 27, 2013 9:30 am

    I’ve never tried Patricia McKillip, but your enthusiasm is catching and I love the cover of that one. I’ve always pidgeon-holed her as romance fantasy for some reason. I’ll be investigating my library for something by her!

  5. January 27, 2013 10:40 am

    a great selection Eva ,look forward to all your review ,all the best stu

  6. January 27, 2013 9:31 pm

    I always learn about new authors and even genres from your Library Loot posts. I hope you post on “I am a Cat”. I have that on my to-read list and I had also thought it was long, but maybe I shouldn’t be so intimidated? I am reading at a snail’s pace nowadays.

  7. January 28, 2013 8:16 am

    This week I reserved and picked up from the library The Secret Keeper by Kate Morton. It kept me up late at night reading. What an ending!
    .

  8. Alex in Leeds permalink
    January 29, 2013 7:54 am

    I grew up in Norwich, yay for Julian! Norwich has an amazing cathedral and there’s a Julian statue outside and we were taught (very basic) details about her at school. I’ll have to take more photos when I go back in March. :)

Thank you for commenting! For a long while, my health precluded me replying to everyone. Yet I missed the conversation, so I'm now making an effort to reply again. It might take a few days though, and there will be times when I simply can't. Regardless, I always read and value what you say.

