Skip to content

Library Loot: January 11th

January 11, 2013

Library Loot is a weekly event co-hosted by Claire from The Captive Reader and Marg from The Adventures of an Intrepid Reader that encourages bloggers to share the books they’ve checked out from the library. If you’d like to participate, just write up your post-feel free to steal the button-and link it using the Mr. Linky any time during the week. And of course check out what other participants are getting from their libraries!

Video

Sites Mentioned

Titles Mentioned

  • Woman in the Dunes by Kobo Abe
  • Crow Planet: Essential Wisdom from the Urban Wilderness by Lyanda Lynn Haupt
  • A Big-Enough God: A Feminist’s Search for a Joyful Theology by Sara Maitland
  • The Chinaberry Tree by Jesse Fauset
  • Daniel Stein, Interpreter by Ludmila Ulitskaya
  • Unspoken by Mari Jungstedt
  • Blessed Are the Dead by Malla Nunn
  • Half World by Hiromi Goto
  • Kalpa Imperial by Angélica Gorodischer
  • The Axe by Sigrid Undset
  • Off With Their Heads: Fairy Tales and the Culture of Childhood by Maria Tatar
  • Mezzaterra: Fragments from the Common Ground by Ahdaf Soueif
  • Feminism without Borders: Decolonizing Theory, Practicing Solidarity by Chandra Talpade Mohanty
  • The Lady and the Monk: Four Seasons in Kyoto by Pico Iyer

Covers
Screen Shot 2013-01-11 at 2.50.44 AM
Screen Shot 2013-01-11 at 2.50.54 AM
Screen Shot 2013-01-11 at 2.51.55 AM

See all the details in my LibraryThing collection!

18 Comments leave one →
  1. January 11, 2013 8:46 am

    Wow – you always have such a mix of interesting reads!

  2. January 11, 2013 8:48 am

    I have missed these vlogs (and glimpses of Thistle), Eva, so was so excited to watch this one! As always, you’ve picked up a ton of interesting books. I am particularly intrigued by Mezzaterra, A Big-Enough God, and The Lady and the Monk but, really, all of them sound wonderful. Enjoy!

  3. January 11, 2013 9:23 am

    It’s good to see you and Thistle! Your hair looks adorable! I always like seeing what you’ve checked out from the library.

  4. Dana permalink
    January 11, 2013 12:48 pm

    First off, your hair looks oh so cute! As always, you have a great selection of books. Was so excited to see a Vlog from you in my Reader this morning!

  5. January 11, 2013 12:52 pm

    As always a unique collection of reads. Enjoy!

  6. literary travels and explorationskatrina permalink
    January 11, 2013 4:28 pm

    Love your new hair x

  7. boardinginmyforties permalink
    January 11, 2013 4:35 pm

    Love your hair! Great to see you and Thistle bag, discussing your library loot! Happy New Year Eva!

  8. January 11, 2013 8:07 pm

    Wonderful books, Eva. I’m glad to see you picked up Crow Planet!

  9. January 11, 2013 8:30 pm

    Your hair looks great! I can’t wait to read Crow Planet, I love naturalist books and I hadn’t seen that one yet. I am also happy to be clued in to the Japanese reads, I am obsessed with Japan but the only author I have read is Murakami. Oh, if you like naturalist reads you might want to pick up River of Contrasts: the Texas Colorado by Margie Crisp. Her art is amazing (she did the poster for the Texas Book Festival this year, if you saw it), and she is an observant naturalist and a lovely person.

    • January 12, 2013 10:01 am

      Ohhh, you have so many Japanese authors to explore then! You can see all the Japanese books I’ve blogged about here: https://astripedarmchair.wordpress.com/about/book-review-directories/reviews-by-author-nationality/#asia (scroll down a bit). Of that list, the ones that stand out in my memory (in a good way) are The Pillow Book, The Sound of Waves, Twinkle Twinkle, and any of the Yoshimoto and Ishiguro (who some consider Anglo-Japanese since he’s lived in UK for so long & often sets his novels there).

      Thanks for the Crisp rec! Are you in Texas too? I’m going to try my best to make it to the festival this fall.

  10. Steve permalink
    January 11, 2013 9:13 pm

    Love the video and your blog, Eva. Thanks so much and keep the posts coming – they’re so valuable.

    • January 12, 2013 9:56 am

      Thanks Steve. I’ll keep posting whenever my health permits. ;)

  11. January 12, 2013 9:56 am

    You guys are all so nice! I love my hair cut even more now, so thanks. :D And yep, I’m lucky my library has such a varied selection for me to explore!

  12. January 12, 2013 10:04 am

    Can you believe I haven’t used my library in maybe 6 months?? It’s terrible! My reading has slowed down so much and I find myself doing too many things to commit to the library. Not to mention I can easily just read from my TBR pile without running out of books for a while! Not surprisingly I added some interesting sounding books to my wish list. :)

  13. January 13, 2013 9:18 am

    Oh my, my heart is bursting with happiness now, having got to see you again vlogging again! Not as totally perfect as having you here in person (in fact I think I miss you even more now), but still really, really good for the heart!

    Btw, I’m so envious–you and Annie both look so freakin’ fabulous in that pixie cut!!!!

  14. January 13, 2013 10:55 pm

    You look beautiful and happy, Eva! And Thistle is a lovely dog.

    I have already put Crow Planet on my reading list :-)

  15. Mona permalink
    January 14, 2013 11:22 pm

    Great to see you once again – I too have missed your videos and posts, and I’m loving the new Field Notes addition to your blog.

    I will have to pop in on the January discussion for A Year of Feminist Classics. I looked up the book but I think it might be a little dense for me. I also have a huge exam coming up at the end of February, and I’m only allowing myself to read poetry (I thought this would make it easier for me but poetry is NOT as easy as one would think…). But I’d like to follow along with the discussions on my infrequent breaks. I know very little about feminism so I doubt I’ll have anything to contribute but it’s something I’m interested in learning about.

    Thanks for sharing your Library Loot with us!

  16. January 26, 2013 6:26 am

    Just added Kalpa Imperial – it sound wonderful! The description kind of reminds me of Jack Vance’s Lyonesse trilogy which I absolutely loved. Have you read it?

Thank you for commenting! For a long while, my health precluded me replying to everyone. Yet I missed the conversation, so I'm now making an effort to reply again. It might take a few days though, and there will be times when I simply can't. Regardless, I always read and value what you say.

