Skip to content

Yes, the Canadians Let Me Leave…

November 25, 2012


photo credit

…in fact, I arrived home a little over two weeks ago and am just now getting around to posting. Whoops! I suspect 2012 will go down as the year I not-blogged more days than I blogged! This isn’t entirely a bad thing; while I’ve still had blogging slumps due to my silly health, often times I’ve been busy doing other fun things and put the blog on the back burner. I’ve been able to embrace far more opportunities this past year, and clearly need to learn how to balance my new, fuller life so that blogging could fit in. I really do miss it though (I think I’ve said that in every ‘first post after blogging break’-we need a shorter word for that-I’ve ever written but that doesn’t make it less true) and I think my new routines will allow it back in. I’ve already got three more posts ready to be published this week, so at least you’ll hear about a few new books!

In case you were wondering, my trip to Canada and upstate New York was magical! This was my first time meeting up with other book bloggers who I’ve known for years, and I learned a bittersweet lesson: it’s exponentially more wonderful to be face to face with blogging friends than it is to connect with them online. I loved every second I spent with Amy and Debi (and her family), who are both insanely gracious hosts. I arrived home with a scratchy throat and husky voice from nonstop conversations, as well as schemes to fit more blogging meet ups into my travel plans! Although, I should warn you that apparently when I visit friends I bring freak weather: my time in Denver with my (non-blogging) friend this summer saw the Colorado wildfires, my visit with Amy in Toronto coincided with Hurricane Sandy, and I ended up spending 28 hours in the JFK airport after saying goodbye to Debi thanks to that lovely November Nor’easter. Ahem.

On the blogging front, I’ve updated my ‘currently reading’ widget. But I just noticed this morning that I haven’t updated my books read page since August, so 2012 might be the first year since 2005 in which I don’t have a full record of the books I’ve read. :o This doesn’t terribly bother me, though, so clearly, I’m relaxing in my old age. I hope everyone’s been well; I’ve been out of the community for so long I suspect I’ve missed a lot of changes. I hope they’ve been good ones! And look for me to appear again in your comment boxes soon, to the extent my r.a. will allow. :D

P.S.: Who else took advantage of Barnes and Noble’s Friday deal on Nook Simple Touch?! I couldn’t resist for $59, and all of my complaints about the first generation Nook have been resolved. Much lighter weight, a battery that last ages, a clock that only appears when you want it to, all your ebooks in one place regardless of source…I’m delighted.

24 Comments leave one →
  1. November 25, 2012 8:29 am

    Wow, what a fun trip! I agree that meeting bloggers in person is so much better than online. Who knew you could make such great friends with a blog?

  2. November 25, 2012 8:32 am

    I thought about it, but I didn’t buy one. I did buy a small stack of books, though. ;-)

  3. November 25, 2012 9:33 am

    It sounds like you had a fabulous trip, Eva! As a Canadian, I’m glad that the northernmost portion of your holiday lived up to expectations. It is fantastic that you’re keeping so busy and are so happy; having a wonderful life is far more important than daily blog posts!

  4. November 25, 2012 9:47 am

    Welcome back, Eva! I have missed seeing you around! (Next time you come to Canada it better be the east coast!) I am glad you had a great time visiting everyone. That’s too bad about the freak weather, though.

  5. jeanlp permalink
    November 25, 2012 10:21 am

    Nice to see you back! I’m happy to hear that you’ve had such a good year. :)

  6. November 25, 2012 10:33 am

    Thank you thank you thank you again for the visit – I had SUCH a great time, it was so fun showing you around, even with less than ideal weather :) You are amazing and I hope you know you can come back any time!

    • November 27, 2012 4:59 am

      You’re amazing too! :DDD I’ll definitely be back at some point, hopefully w less rain so I can take more photos! And you’re always welcome down here, especially if you’re missing warmth and sunshine!

  7. November 25, 2012 12:42 pm

    Nice to see you back & great to hear you had a wonderful trip to Canada!

  8. aartichapati permalink
    November 25, 2012 2:13 pm

    Welcome back, Eva! I did not buy a Nook as I got a Kindle for my birthday last year but I DID purchase 15 books on bookcloseouts for their Black Friday sale, so… clearly, I should start purchasing ebooks at the rate I purchase paper ones for the purpose of shelving.

  9. November 25, 2012 4:20 pm

    I am so sad that I couldn’t meet up with you! I am happy to hear you did meet up with some of us and had such a wonderful time. You have to write what you thought about Montreal and Toronto, and if it will help you envision our novels and writing better (and winters) now that you have been up here! What was your favourite part? I know you can’t always write, so when you are looking for a post to do…..lol :-) I am really glad you had a great time, Eva.

    Welcome back :-)

    • November 27, 2012 12:12 pm

      I’m sad too, but hopefully I’ll be able to visit again for some more days! :) I do plan on eventually writing up my trip on my little travel blog, but since I’ve yet to talk about Mexico except for the first two hours of the first day it’ll probably be a shamefully long time. lol I loved everything about Montreal and I loved seeing Toronto w Amy & all the delicious ethnic restaurants I got to eat at. Hard to pick a favourite part though!

  10. November 25, 2012 11:53 pm

    I am glad to see you back online full of news. Maybe one day you’ll get as far as Australia and you can swan around with this Tasmanian blogger! Look forward to your next book posts and anything else you feel like writing about. Pam

    • November 27, 2012 12:13 pm

      That would be great fun! I’ve heard wonderful things about Tasmania. :)

  11. November 26, 2012 5:37 am

    Hiya so glad you ahd fun on your trip. Amy is so much fun to hang out with in Canada and I bet she showed you all the cool things about her lovely neighbourhood.

  12. November 26, 2012 9:00 am

    Glad you’re back, Eva, and it sounds like you had a wonderful trip and visit with other book fanatics. I’m finding it hard to meld blogging with life right now but I know life is all about change so am not fretting too much. I look forward to your posts!

  13. November 26, 2012 4:45 pm

    Awww, Eva, we should be thanking you! Your visit will definitely make my short list of 2012 highlights!!!! You KNOW you can come back ANYTIME!!! It would truly make me soooooo very happy!!!!!!!!! Love you!!!!
    (I haven’t purposefully been avoiding the computer lately, but it seems to be that I am anyway. I shall email you tomorrow!)

    • November 27, 2012 6:20 am

      Don’t worry about e-mails! I still haven’t managed to get my thank you notes in the mail. *blush*

      And I’m sure you haven’t seen the last of me! :) You guys are also welcome down here: we have enough space, I promise! It’d be an Epic Road Trip for the ages, hehe.

  14. November 26, 2012 6:37 pm

    Aw, you were so close to me and yet so far! Next time you come up this way you should stop by NYC and visit me. I would take you to all the nice bookstores, promise. Glad you had a good trip and also, hi! I know I have said this before, but it is always a treat to see your posts come up in my Google Reader. :)

    • November 27, 2012 4:58 am

      I’ve totally been pricing tickets to NYC lately, so you might regret making that offer! ;) And hi right back to you! I’m so glad you came through the crazy weather ok, and I can’t wait to catch up on your blog posts.

  15. boardinginmyforties permalink
    November 27, 2012 11:42 am

    Welcome back Eva. Glad to hear you have been traveling and having some fun!

  16. November 27, 2012 12:56 pm

    I’m so glad to hear that you have warm, fuzzy thoughts about this city (and Montreal, too, but I’m only a tourist where it’s concerned too) and your hostesses; I’m looking forward to hearing about all the books you bought/fell in love with/read that have been inspired by your travels here.

  17. December 1, 2012 3:50 pm

    Welcome back!! I totally agree about meeting bloggers face to face, it’s the BEST!! I have made a few friends here that I met through blogging,and three of us are in a book club together, and it’s just fantastic. If you ever travel down to Orlando (or anywhere in FL really) please let me know. I’d love the opportunity to meet you!

  18. December 2, 2012 11:58 am

    So glad you made it back safe and sound! I wish there had been a way for me to come hang out with you at JFK!!!

  19. December 5, 2012 3:49 pm

    I ended up with a refurbished Nook Tablet for $79! I was going to get another Nook Color for $59 but the Tablet was only $20 more. This is for my son who loves to read. Except he’s getting my old one. he he he. So delighted. Sounds like you had a great time meeting fellow bloggers…that is always fun. Let me know if you ever head to Chicago suburbia….except my life is quite ordinary these days.

Thank you for commenting! For a long while, my health precluded me replying to everyone. Yet I missed the conversation, so I'm now making an effort to reply again. It might take a few days though, and there will be times when I simply can't. Regardless, I always read and value what you say.

