Skip to content

Library Loot: April 11th to 17th

April 13, 2012

Vlog

Titles Mentioned

  • The Game of Kings by Dorothy Dunnett
  • Tierra del Fuego by Francisco Coloane, trans. by Howard Curtis
  • Black Juice by Margo Lanagan
  • Michael Busselle’s guide to travel & vacation photography
  • Shades of Milk and Honey by Mary Robinette Kowal
  • On Rereading by Patricia Meyer Spacks
  • The Probable Future by Alice Hoffman
  • The Listener by Shira Nayman
  • A Manuscript of Ashes by Antonio Muñoz Molina, trans. by Edith Grossman
  • The Puttermesser Papers by Cynthia Ozick
  • American Gods by Neil Gaiman

Covers (Featuring my new bonsai juniper tree, a birthday present! I shall include a better photo soon so you can fully appreciate it.)

See all the details in my LibraryThing collection!

18 Comments leave one →
  1. April 13, 2012 6:04 am

    I just started reading Shades of Milk and Honey a few days ago. Its been sitting on my shelf for months, and now that the sequel is out I decided it was high time to start reading it.

  2. April 13, 2012 6:05 am

    I have Black Juice on hold at the library :)
    I hope you enjoy all your books! I know I have heard Alex mention Dunnett, I think, but I have never read anything by her.

  3. Beth F permalink
    April 13, 2012 6:57 am

    I had American Gods on my list already. Dunnett is an author I’ve been meaning to read. Enjoy!

  4. April 13, 2012 11:43 am

    American Gods is on my tbr list. Enjoy!

  5. April 13, 2012 12:15 pm

    Shades of Milk and Honey is great! I just read & blogged about it last month.

    I have to take a closer look at least at The Listener and A Manuscript of Ashes. The book about rereading also sounds very interesting.

  6. April 13, 2012 1:10 pm

    Love, love, love Dorothy Dunnett, and Game of Kings is absolutely the best place to start with her (although it’s nowhere near my favorite). Jenny and I are actually giving away a copy at http://shelflove.wordpress.com/2012/04/09/a-blogiversary-celebration/ if you think you want a copy to keep.

  7. April 13, 2012 2:13 pm

    I hope you enjoy The Game of Kings. Reading the Lymond Chronicles over the last few months has been one of the most rewarding reading experiences of my life.

  8. boardinginmyforties permalink
    April 13, 2012 5:56 pm

    You chose so many good ones this week Eva. I’ve had the Dorothy Dunnett on my shelves at home for about 10 years. It is shameful that I have never read it. Maybe this post will inspire me to move it up my list. I’ll look forward to your review of these.

  9. April 13, 2012 8:12 pm

    Great choices! These are all new to me. I like the sound of the book on rereading – for some odd reason, reading about reading always appeals to me. Enjoy!

  10. April 13, 2012 10:16 pm

    Thistle is particularly adorable this week. I always come away from your vlogs intrigued by your loot but mostly wanting a canine companion of my own. I’ve been borrowing my brother’s dog lately, which is a nice compromise.

    As for that loot, lots of great titles this week! Shades of Milk and Honey was a very nice comfort read for me a couple of months back (eventually, I am going to get around to writing a full review of it) and I’m really looking forward to reading the sequel, which I believe came out this week. The ravings of the ladies at Shelf Love over The Game of Kings have had me running around the house trying to find my dad’s old copy but it seems we either gave it away or it’s in storage – time for a library trip! And yes, a thousand times yes, to needing books with the same feel as “Blink”.

  11. April 13, 2012 11:03 pm

    Enjoy your loot! Shades of Milk and Honey was good but it didn’t personally blow me away. I will be curious to see what you think!

  12. samantha1020 permalink
    April 14, 2012 9:37 pm

    I’m looking forward to reading Shades of Milk and Honey at some point as well. I think the 2nd book just came out (or sequel). It looks like you’ve got some good books. Enjoy!

  13. April 15, 2012 8:19 am

    The Ozick book looks good.

  14. April 19, 2012 9:27 pm

    I love American Gods (rereading it right now)! Is this your first time reading it?

    • April 19, 2012 11:44 pm

      Nope! It’ll be my second reread, so third time reading. But this is the first go I’ve had w the newly released edition. :)

      • April 20, 2012 10:59 am

        I’m reading the same edition! I don’t really see many differences between the two editions. I can’t wait to read your thoughts on it! I hope your weekend is off to a great start! :-)

  15. April 28, 2012 8:41 pm

    Yay Black Juice! I really loved that one. Especially the very first story.

  16. April 30, 2012 1:51 pm

    If I could find one book with the same feel as Blink, I would be ecstatic!
    And I’ve added three books from this to my to-read list (On Rereading, A Manuscript of Ashes and The Puttermesser Papers). A Manuscript of Ashes makes me think of Carlos Ruiz Zafon as well as A.S. Byatt’s Posession.

Thank you for commenting! For a long while, my health precluded me replying to everyone. Yet I missed the conversation, so I'm now making an effort to reply again. It might take a few days though, and there will be times when I simply can't. Regardless, I always read and value what you say.

