Skip to content

Happy Belated Thistle Day!

March 20, 2012


Sunday marked the one-year anniversary of the day I adopted Thistle. Since she’s a rescue, I don’t know her birthday, so March 18th has been dubbed Thistle Day. While not (yet) an international holiday, it was a good reason to spend some time in her favourite park, run through her repertoire of tricks, play lots of fetch with her little squeaky toys, and of course give her a few extra of her favourite treats. ;)

In January and February last year, I was in a hard place, feeling quite lonely and isolated because of my illness and life circumstances. I dreamed of having a dog that would keep me company when I was stuck at home, sitting and reading, or laying in bed watching Netflix during flare-ups, as well as come with me on walks. A dog that would bring me companionship and joy.

I fell in love with Thistle from the beginning (even with her truly unfortunate haircut), and she’s been a great little dog, more perfect than I could have even imagined. Honestly, she has to be the lowest maintenance dog ever; she’s been completely house-broken and perfectly leash trained from day one, she’s happy to do tricks for treats, and’s she’s insanely low energy. Oh, and she almost never barks. She’s also wonderfully sweet and loving, following me around the room and hopping in my lap whenever she sees an opening. She makes being at home so much a pleasure, and she never fails to bring a smile to my face with her silly antics. I am truly blessed.

So here’s to many more Thistle Days, and the best companion a bookish girl could ask for!

P.S. A commenter recently asked if I drug Thistle to keep her so calm in my vlogs. I do actually; her drug of choice is belly-rubs, with head scratches a reasonable alternative. ;)

P.P.S. I conveniently sized the two photos of Thistle at 1200 x 800, if you’re looking for a new wallpaper. Just click to enlarge and right click to save! Heehee </ shameless cute puppy bragging>

33 Comments leave one →
  1. March 20, 2012 6:48 am

    It sounds like you and Thistle are a match made in heaven. What a cutie she is!

  2. March 20, 2012 7:19 am

    It just makes me so happy that she makes you so happy!!! :D And she’s just so blasted adorable!

    Gray has been switching out the wallpaper on our computers daily–most days feature Bacon, Lucky, or Aldo, but he’s thrown in a couple days of Liz (our tarantula) and Sir Stinger (his scorpion) and Darwin (one of our snakes), etc.–we’re all truly missing them, and can’t wait to be in our new home so the whole gang can be back together again!

    • March 20, 2012 10:33 am

      Awwww: that must be hard! And why have I never seen photos of your snakes?! I lurve snakes.

      Thistle’s coming along on our trip to Colorado this summer, but it’s going to be SO hard leaving her when I’m in Mexico. Even though she’ll be w my sister in the same house. *sniffle* My 7 day trip to Colorado in December was the first time I’d left her & the first few mornings waking up w/o her jumping on me for belly rubs was so sad.

  3. March 20, 2012 8:17 am

    I am so happy for you! I truly am. Thistle sounds like just what the doctor ordered and I am pleased that she has made you happy.

  4. March 20, 2012 8:32 am

    Happy Birthday Thistle! I’m glad she’s made you so happy. I’m sure you’ve made her very happy too.

  5. March 20, 2012 9:40 am

    Happy Thistle Day! She is utterly adorable and is obviously as happy as you are. May there be many more Thistle Days!

  6. Shannon permalink
    March 20, 2012 10:25 am

    Best. Blog. EVER!

  7. March 20, 2012 10:44 am

    Happy Thistle Day! You’re so lucky you’ve found each other! Doggies are the best reading companions!

  8. March 20, 2012 11:41 am

    I am glad that Thistle is such a wonderful companion for you, Eva. Here’s to many more Thistle Days. :)

  9. March 20, 2012 1:56 pm

    Aw, happy Thistle Day! I remember we got our Molly a little bit after you got Thistle. We’ll have to have Molly Day at our house. :)

  10. March 20, 2012 1:57 pm

    I can’t believe it’s already been a year since you brought Thistle home! She’s such a little sweetheart.

  11. boardinginmyforties permalink
    March 20, 2012 2:52 pm

    Thistle is such an adorable girl! I’m so glad you found the right dog for you Eva. I love watching Thistle in your vlogs. She clearly adores you and is quite happy to be on your lap. Happy Thistle Day!

  12. March 20, 2012 3:51 pm

    Happy Thistle Day to both of you! How time flies. She’s so totally adorable and I’m very happy you two found each other!

  13. March 20, 2012 3:51 pm

    That first photo is so adorable :)

  14. Amy @ My Friend Amy permalink
    March 20, 2012 4:25 pm

    Aw, I can’t believe it’s been a year already. I’m so glad Thistle came into your life!

  15. March 20, 2012 5:45 pm

    Happy Thistle Day! She’s an adorable dog, and I’m so glad you’ve got a companion like her. The love of a canine is truly quite remarkable. I dunno, I’m just such a dog person—I came out of a drycleaner’s last year on a pretty crap day only to exchange glances with a happy dog on its walk. It brightened me right up. Dogs are amazing.

  16. March 20, 2012 6:06 pm

    happy thistle day great day you choose it is my birthday Eva ,all the best stu

  17. March 20, 2012 6:11 pm

    That dog is adorable! And I still really love the name Thistle for a dog, and it suits her really well. I’m glad she’s been such a good dog for you — oh how this post made me miss my own puppy.

  18. March 20, 2012 6:39 pm

    Oh my goodness, what a sweet baby girl. I’m so glad she’s been such a good companion. I love our Maddie/Thistle talks because honestly, Maddie’s sweet self gets me through some of my days, even without having any sort of major health problems.

    PS – I think the color of your walls is the SAME color as in my kitchen. Love it! (Obviously) ;)

  19. March 20, 2012 7:54 pm

    Aw! Yay for Thistle Day – three cheers all around! I cant believe its been an entire year – I remember reading about adopting her shortly after I brought home my own adopted sweetheart. They always do make everything a bit better, don’t they? :D Here’s to many more wonderful Thistle Days!

  20. March 20, 2012 11:57 pm

    Aw, too cute :) Happy Thistle Day!!!

  21. March 21, 2012 12:48 am

    Happy Thistle Day! I’m so glad that you found the perfect companion to get you through the bad times and enjoy the good times with you!

  22. March 21, 2012 2:21 am

    Yay for Thistle :) I was so happy to read about how happy she makes you!

  23. March 21, 2012 2:08 pm

    Happy Thistle Day! She really is adorable.

  24. March 21, 2012 7:46 pm

    I can’t believe it has been a year! Happy Thistle Day!

    I know how much my cats mean to me, so I am completely with you about loving her little face. Life is so lonely with a warm buddy to snuggle on your lap. :)

  25. samantha1020 permalink
    March 23, 2012 7:14 pm

    I’m so glad that you found the perfect dog for you! Our dog still attacks the leash when we go for walks but it is a work in progress :) Those pictures put a smile on my face :)

  26. March 24, 2012 2:48 pm

    Happy belated Thistle day! I’m so happy that it’s worked out so well for you both :)

  27. March 24, 2012 8:10 pm

    It’s hard to believe it’s been a whole year. It sounds like the two of you were truly meant for each other. It’s amazing how much joy a dog can bring to your life! =D

  28. March 26, 2012 9:30 pm

    Happy Thistle Day! Love that second picture.

  29. March 27, 2012 11:41 am

    She is so. freaking. adorable!! I love the ears!! Happy Thistle Day!

  30. March 31, 2012 10:56 am

    Happy belated birthday Thistle. Dogs are the best, I am so glad you found Thistle.

  31. April 4, 2012 1:08 pm

    Thistle is one cute companion, I have to say. Being a dog-lover myself it makes me smile to read of the joy she has brought to you this past year. I’m so happy for you. And I look forward to more Thistle celebrations in years to come.

Trackbacks

  1. My Great Big Miracle « A Striped Armchair

Thank you for commenting! For a long while, my health precluded me replying to everyone. Yet I missed the conversation, so I'm now making an effort to reply again. It might take a few days though, and there will be times when I simply can't. Regardless, I always read and value what you say.

