Skip to content

Library Loot March 7th to 13th

March 9, 2012

Library Loot is a weekly event co-hosted by Claire from The Captive Reader and Marg from The Adventures of an Intrepid Reader that encourages bloggers to share the books they’ve checked out from the library. If you’d like to participate, just write up your post-feel free to steal the button-and link it using the Mr. Linky any time during the week. And of course check out what other participants are getting from their libraries.

Vlog

(P.S.: My mom reassures me that my hair actually looks really cute like this in real life. For some reason, it didn’t translate well on the video. Oh well: I’ll remember that in future!)

(P.P.S.: Eek! I was in a hurry editing & didn’t bother to watch the video until just now to make sure it was working. And to my horror, I forgot to edit out my cough at the beginning. Sorry about that!)

Titles Mentioned

  • Oddfellow’s Orphanage by Emily Winfield Martin
  • Still by Lauren F. Winner (Amy of My Friend Amy)
  • Bruised Hibiscus by Elizabeth Nunez
  • The Great Arizona Orphan Abduction by Linda Gordon (Marilyn of Me, You, and Books)
  • How to Talk About Books You Haven’t Read by Pierre Bayard, translated by Jeffrey Mehl (Dorothy, Of Books and Bicycles)
  • Why Read the Classics? by Italo Calvino, translated by Martin McLaughlin
  • Alanna by Tamora Pierce
  • Ninth Ward by Jewell Parker Rhodes (Vassily of 1330V)
  • Deconstructing Tyrone by Natalie Hopkin
  • Fictions by Jorge Luis Borges
  • The Perfectly Imperfect Home by Deborah Needleman
  • Stet by Diana Athill
  • A Breath From Elsewhere by Mirabel Osler
  • Ten Little Indians by Sherman Alexie
  • Is That a Fish in Your Ear? by David Bellos
  • Walking a Literary Labyrinth by Nancy Malone (Amanda of Just Can’t Know)
  • Legacy of the Prophet by Anthony Shadid
  • To ‘joy My Freedom by Tera Hunter (Marilyn of Me, You, and Books)

Covers


See the details in my LibraryThing collection!

15 Comments leave one →
  1. March 9, 2012 9:00 am

    What a fantastic assortment! I love big stacks like these, although I think I spend more time petting the new arrivals in them than I actually spend reading! I enjoyed Alanna quite a bit, and am actually re-reading with my youngest, who absolutely loves the idea of a girl dressing up like a boy and fooling the world. I have Ten Little Indians on my tentative stack, too, as it feels like “too long” since I read some Sherman Alexie. You must be feeling the same way, as I know he’s one of your faves too. Enjoy your selections!

  2. March 9, 2012 9:00 am

    First, your hair looks cute like that. Very Emma Watson-Hermione! :-) (That is good, btw.) Second, good choice of books,half of which I have never heard of… And then every time I watch your vlogs, Thistle cracks me up. I compare her very calm Zen manner with our not-quite-so-calm puppy – it’s a hilarious image. Do you drug her to calm her down to sit in your lap the whole time?… :-)

  3. March 9, 2012 9:29 am

    only read one Sherman Alexie but want to read more
    Is That a Fish is on loan so have to wait until it’s returned…hopefully that will be soon
    Why Read the Classics is worth a read

  4. March 9, 2012 9:57 am

    So many wonderful books! The only bookish friend I had growing up adored Tamora Pierce and was always trying to get me to read her books. I did eventually read The Song of the Lioness series but I have only hazy memories of it now. I’ll be interested to hear what you think of the Osler and Is That a Fish in Your Ear?. Enjoy!

  5. March 9, 2012 10:54 am

    Hey, you mentioned me! I feel so famous. :)

    By the way, I LOVE Tamora Pierce – such an excellent writer. You’ve given me a lot of recommendations and food for thought with this Library Loot, so thank you!

  6. March 9, 2012 11:20 am

    I’m not familiar with any of those but they look fantastic. Enjoy!

  7. March 9, 2012 11:26 am

    I’ve been waiting for “Is That a Fish in your Ear?” to get cheaper on Amazon or elsewhere in order to get it because I love books on translation, especially the translation of literature (Bellos translated the crazy “Life: A Manual” by Georges Perec, which I haven’t read but which I know must have been a pretty tricky book to translate). I am really curious about your opinion on it.

    Also, your thoughts on Elizabeth Nunez’ book got me really interested in her writing (It’s high time I started my adventure with Caribbean literature), so I wonder if (and hope) this next one will be just as good a read as the previous one.

    By the way, concluding from your library loots, your library is really awesome. The one I have the nearest (which is not very near anyway) is not so good. At all.

    • March 9, 2012 11:57 am

      My library is incredible: wonderful selection, free interlibrary loans, & they’re very responsive to purchase suggestions. I’m inexpressibly grateful for it!

  8. March 9, 2012 12:11 pm

    Thistle is just the sweetest, mellowest puppy doggie. Not to mention adorable. :)

    And what are you talking about–your hair looks looks wonderful in the video! (And I thought your cough was cute, too.) Sheesh, woman, you just exude adorableness, don’t you? :D

    As far as the books go, well, unsurprisingly, I’ve read exactly zero of them, so I can’t make any recommendations of where to start based on experience. But based on my own selfish intrigue, I’m going to say The Great Arizona Orphan Abduction.

  9. March 9, 2012 12:46 pm

    What a wonderful selection of books! I’m planning to read the Borges this summer. It’s been on my TBR list for ages, so I’m really looking forward to it. Is That a Fish in Your Ear? also sounds really interesting.

  10. March 9, 2012 9:21 pm

    Great assortment! I highly recommend Diana Athill’s memoirs “Somewhere Towards the End” and “Instead of a Letter”. I hope “Stet” is as good. She is fabulously honest and real.

  11. March 10, 2012 10:42 am

    great selection the Belios is one my wish list Eva read many of his translation so love to see what he has to say on the subject of translation itself ,all the best stu

  12. March 10, 2012 5:26 pm

    A word of explanation.

    The Great Arizona Orphan Abduction is an historical account of what happened when a group of children from a New York orphanage arrived in an Arizona mining town and were put up for adoption. Gordon, a leading women’s historian, describes the conflict that occurred. Chapters describing the key groups involved are interspersed with the narrative. She discusses the mining operation, the Mexican workers, the orphans, the preist and the nuns, and the Anglo and Mexican mothers who want the children. Racism and prejudice are present, but most of all, Gordon tells a good, factual story in an innovative manner.

    Thanks for your inclusion and your kind words.

  13. March 11, 2012 3:45 am

    Is That A Fish In Your Ear? looks wonderful!

  14. March 11, 2012 9:32 am

    I haven’t read any of these but I am loving those covers!!! And I think that your hair looks cute btw :) Hope you get the chance to enjoy all of these!

Thank you for commenting! For a long while, my health precluded me replying to everyone. Yet I missed the conversation, so I'm now making an effort to reply again. It might take a few days though, and there will be times when I simply can't. Regardless, I always read and value what you say.

