Skip to content

Library Loot: February 29th to March 6th

March 2, 2012

Somehow, I managed to get a bit mixed up these past few weeks! So you’ll see a couple cover/title duplicates today; sorry about that. The good news is, I’ve got myself sorted again. Also, I forgot to include Diana Wynne Jones’ Drowned Ammet in the vlog, since my mom stole it from me and was reading it at the time. It’s the second in the Danemark quartet, which is why I requested it! Now on to the books.

Vlog

Titles Mentioned

  • The Secret History of Moscow by Ekaterina Sedia
  • The Secret River by Kate Grenville
  • The Town in Bloom by Dodie Smith
  • Drowned Ammet by Diana Wynne Jones
  • The Girl from Foreign by Sadia Shepard
  • No One Will See Me Cry by Cristina Rivera-Garza
  • Monkey Beach by Eden Robinson
  • Istanbul by Orhan Pamuk
  • Hiroshima in the Morning by Rahna Reiko Rizzuto
  • The Hurricane Party by Klas Ostergren

Covers

See the details in my LibraryThing collection!

21 Comments leave one →
  1. March 2, 2012 6:45 am

    I don’t know anything about these books, but they all look like books I’d read. Enjoy them. Glad you are better!

  2. March 2, 2012 8:46 am

    I’m quite jealous that your library has The Town in Bloom! I’m hoping my library will purchase the three Smith titles that are being reissued but there’s no sign of that yet. I’ll be excited to hear what you think of Monkey Beach. It got a lot of press here in BC when it came out. Kitimat/Kitamaat, where the novel is set and where Robinson is from, is an absolutely stunning place.

  3. March 2, 2012 8:49 am

    I am still on the hunt for I Capture the Castle by Dodie Smith. I will have to look for it when I go to B & N. It is not available on Kindle. The Town in Bloom is another that I would like to try. Thank you for sharing these great reads. Enjoy.
    -FABR Steph@FiveAlarmBookReviews

  4. Urbana permalink
    March 2, 2012 9:06 am

    Hope you enjoy Monkey Beach. It’s set in my part of the world. Thanks for bringing The Town in Bloom to my attention too. I didn’t know Smith wrote anything except I Capture the Castle and 101 Dalmatians. Sure hope my library has a copy!

  5. March 2, 2012 10:36 am

    I’m not familiar with any of these but they sound good. Enjoy!

  6. March 2, 2012 11:06 am

    OH MY GOSH! I did not know that Dodie Smith had another book apart from I Capture the Castle (other than 101 Dalmations)! How did I never know this?!?! Must. Find. This. Book. Immediately! (And I’m so excited to hear that she has other adult novels that are being reissued! Life just got so much better!)

  7. March 2, 2012 12:02 pm

    Great selection of books. I thought that The Secret River was simply brilliant!!! Me and Dodie didn’t gel sadly. I wanted us to so much. Oh well…

    I have to mention at 2.06mins Thistle gives you the most adorable look and cuddle… I want a pet!

  8. March 2, 2012 12:26 pm

    Thistle looks like the best reading partner ever! I’ve heard Hiroshima in the Morning is great!

  9. March 2, 2012 7:33 pm

    The Dalemark Quartet is what introduced me to DWJ, so I have a huge soft spot for the series. I’ve been meaning to reread them, but I just never seem to have the time!

  10. Ellen permalink
    March 2, 2012 8:19 pm

    Eva,
    I love your choice of books this week :-) Yes I headed to the library AGAIN after I saw your list.
    Also loved your post on book shelves. I’m trying to organize my books and your suggestions were very helpful.
    Thanks again for sharing and hope you are feeling better! Off for a week-end of reading :-)

  11. March 3, 2012 4:17 am

    I will be interested to see what you think of The Secret River. There isn’t a lot of historical fiction with an Australian setting that is successful in overseas markets.

  12. March 3, 2012 6:34 am

    Ooh I loved Hiroshima in the Morning. Let me know what you think! Also I have The Secret River on my bookshelf but haven’t gotten around to reading it… very interested to hear your thoughts on that one too.

  13. March 3, 2012 8:23 am

    You’re going to Turkey?!! Oh Eva, how freakin’ awesome is that!!!! Is it going to be another Mother/Daughter trip? I always hate the after-vacation-blues feeling. It’s so wonderful that you’ll still have an amazing trip to look forward to after Mexico.

  14. March 3, 2012 12:50 pm

    Ooh a Dodie Smith – what a find! Do let us know how you get on.

  15. March 3, 2012 6:47 pm

    Your puppy is so adorable! The Secret History of Moscow sounds good, I’m getting more into Russian books now, since I am absolutely loving my reread of Anna Karenina. (And the author’s name Ekaterina Sedia sounds so beautiful. The Russian names in Tolstoy are difficult to wrap my tongue around but sound so enchanting when I hear them pronounced properly.) I’ll have to browse your blog for more Russian book recommendations! ( Are there any you especially love?)

  16. March 3, 2012 9:11 pm

    I read that bio of Frida. It was cool.

    I’ve flirted with the idea of working in Turkey. I hear both good and bad, so I’m still trying to sort that out.

  17. March 4, 2012 4:04 pm

    I have read Hiroshima in the Morning twice and still have mixed feelings about it. The writing was beautiful – it is just such a thought provoking work.

  18. March 5, 2012 2:47 pm

    There are so many here that I will add to my list. You are one of the few bloggers that consistently give me good non-fiction recommendations. BTW, Thistle is such an adorable girl!

  19. March 7, 2012 11:09 am

    a great selection look forward to your views on pamuk I just brought a mind at peace the book he called best on istanbul ,all the best stu

  20. March 7, 2012 7:19 pm

    I haven’t read any of these but I have Kate Grenville’s book on my TBR list. I’m eager to hear what you think about it if you end up reading it. Hope you enjoy all of these!

  21. March 8, 2012 8:52 pm

    I tried reading Istanbul late last year and gave up about 2/3rd the way through. He wrote a lot about other writers who wrote about Istanbul and the way it came across – at least in the translation – was like it was a compulsory exercise to discuss every author who has written about Istanbul. There were some cool memoir bits, but it was overall pretty dry. I haven’t tried any other Pamuk yet.

Thank you for commenting! For a long while, my health precluded me replying to everyone. Yet I missed the conversation, so I'm now making an effort to reply again. It might take a few days though, and there will be times when I simply can't. Regardless, I always read and value what you say.

