Skip to content

Library Loot: February 22nd to 28th

February 24, 2012

Vlog

Titles Mentioned

  • The Alchemy of Race and Rights by Patricia J. Williams
  • A People’s History of Christianity by Diana Butler Bass
  • The Lost and Forgotten Languages of Shanghai by Ruiyan Xu
  • The Night Watch by Sarah Waters
  • Queen of America by Luis Alberto Urrea
  • The Secret History by Donna Tartt
  • Little Heathens by Mildred Armstrong Kalish
  • Longitude by Dava Sobel
  • The City & the City by China Mieville
  • Fury by Salman Rushdie
  • Behind the Beautiful Forevers by Katherine Boo

Covers

Find out more via my LibraryThing collection.

16 Comments leave one →
  1. February 24, 2012 6:25 am

    The Lost and Forgotten Languages of Shanghai & Queen of America look good.

    The City and The City is much better than Kraken, which is his worst book. And that’s a fact. :)

  2. February 24, 2012 6:26 am

    plus I must try a Rushdie…I had Midnight’s Children, on my shelf but never could be bothered with it.

  3. February 24, 2012 7:15 am

    They all look good, but Behind the Beautiful Forevers and Queen of America capture my eye!

  4. February 24, 2012 7:22 am

    I have the Boo book and wonder about the Lost Languages of Shanghai. A nice haul of books!

  5. February 24, 2012 10:06 am

    Little Heathens sounds really interesting and I’ve been hearing a lot about Boo’s book. I’ve lost track of the number of times I’ve checked out The Secret History only to return it unread after other books distracted me. One day I will actually make it past the first chapter! Enjoy your loot!

  6. February 24, 2012 10:21 am

    I read The Secret History for the first time last year and I am in the same camp as you – I liked it a good deal, but I just didn’t love it unabashedly. There was nothing ostensibly wrong with it, but it just didn’t make my spirits soar the way some books do. I’ll be curious to hear about how re-reading it goes!

  7. February 24, 2012 10:47 am

    A People’s History of Christianity sounds interesting. Enjoy your loot.

  8. February 24, 2012 2:16 pm

    Glad to see you back on your vlog! You have so many I could comment on but I am especially looking forward to the Boo book. Apparently she spent years in the slums so hopefully she has offered a good perspective on things.

  9. Lizzy permalink
    February 24, 2012 2:34 pm

    So glad you’re going to read Longitude. I loved it!

  10. February 24, 2012 7:15 pm

    You have a couple here I’ve read and a couple that are on my TBR list. Can’t wait to read your thoughts on them!

  11. February 25, 2012 11:39 am

    I read People’s History of Christianity a few years ago and I’d have to agree with Steph. I thought it was good, maybe very good but not outstanding.
    Here’s a link to my review in case you might be interested:
    http://maphead.wordpress.com/2010/11/15/following-in-the-footsteps-of-howard-zinn/

  12. February 25, 2012 4:18 pm

    Hooray, a vodcast, I love these. Though e-books… oh Eva, I don’t know what to say ;)

    Liked Sarah Waters The Night Watch very much, however I think her Victorian ones were her best? Am I allowed to say that?

  13. February 26, 2012 1:21 am

    I’ve heard very good things about The City and the City. I haven’t read any of Mieville’s books but my friends who have read his books tend to agree with A Damned Conjuror’s comment above. They seem to enjoy The City and the City the most of his books.

    The Alchemy of Race and Rights has been on my to-read list for years…I think someone recommended it to me *before* I started law school but once I was a student, reading legal-oriented books for fun was out of the question. Now that I’ve graduated and had some time to recover from the experience, I I may be prepared to give it a shot, though I look forward to your thoughts on it as well.

  14. February 26, 2012 4:33 pm

    Yay for Sarah Waters! I’m hoping to read another of her books soon…I haven’t read The Night Watch yet but I definitely plan on it at some point. The City and the City is another book that I want to read as well. I’m looking forward to reading your thoughts on both of these!!!! Enjoy!

  15. ana permalink
    February 26, 2012 11:01 pm

    Thanks for including e books this time, Eva!! It is a wonderful service from public libraries. Our local has a limited collection, but there are some gems to be found. It is a joy to be able to download from home, particularly for readers who have limited mobility for whatever reason. As you have blogged previously, they are also such a gift for readers who live with fibromyalgia and fatigue. And, that added benefit of NO FINES!!

  16. February 27, 2012 10:37 am

    Ooh, you have three of my favourite books (Waters, Tartt and Mieville). Hope you enjoy them!

Thank you for commenting! For a long while, my health precluded me replying to everyone. Yet I missed the conversation, so I'm now making an effort to reply again. It might take a few days though, and there will be times when I simply can't. Regardless, I always read and value what you say.

