Skip to content

Library Loot: February 9th to 15th

February 17, 2012

Sorry, no vlog this week. The roof above my room has a leak, and we’ve been getting a lot of rain, so now my parents have to fix that, which means I’m temporarily kicked out of my room. And I haven’t gotten a time this week when I’m alone in the house and can record it elsewhere! I’m hoping I can get back to vlogging next week though.

Titles

  • Treasures in Heaven by Kathleen Alcalá (I’m reading books set in Mexico for my upcoming trip.)
  • The River of Lost Footsteps by Thant Myint-U (I love reading about Burma.)
  • The Kingdom of Gods by N.K. Jemisin (This is the third in an excellent fantasy trilogy.)
  • The Invisible Heart by Nancy Folbre (I’m always intrigued by non-conventional economics.)
  • Miss Pettigrew Lives for a Day by Winifred Watson (The movie is one of my favourites, so when I was browsing and saw the book I decided to give it a go!)
  • Never in a Hurry by Naomi Shihab Nye (Not sure where I came across this, but it’s an essay collection by a Palestinian-American poet who also lives in south Texas.)
  • The Secret History of Moscow by Ekaterina Sedia (I want to get back into fantasy this year, and I’m always on the lookout for Russian women authors.)
  • Being Wrong by Kathryn Schulz (I watched an interesting TED talk she gave, so now I want to read the book.)
  • Prospero’s Daughter by Elizabeth Nunez (I can’t resist Caribbean lit, and I’m especially excited since this is inspired by The Tempest.)

Covers

See the details in my LibraryThing collection.

18 Comments leave one →
  1. February 17, 2012 8:34 am

    I enjoyed the miss Pettigrew film Eva also I had a teacher at school called mr Pettigrew for some reason I always think of him with the book but he was a favourite teacher at school and I really enjoyed the film have a copy of boom unread at home as well all the best stu

  2. February 17, 2012 9:00 am

    Oh I really hope you like Miss Pettigrew Lives for a Day! It’s much different than the movie. The movie is set closer to WWII to use the war as a dramatic element in the plot. The book is a bit earlier but still as charming (I think even more so) than the movie. I ladore both but I love the book especially.

  3. February 17, 2012 10:43 am

    Great pile of books there. Enjoy!

  4. February 17, 2012 10:44 am

    I didn’t love Miss Pettigrew as much as many others did when I first read it, but after I saw the film and thought back on it, I definitely appreciated it more so I think you’re well poised to enjoy it!

    And I can’t wait to hear more about Prospero’s Daughter… sounds so good!

  5. February 17, 2012 12:10 pm

    I just picked up The Invisible Heart too, so I’ll be really interested to hear what you think of it! I remember reading parts of it in university and being entertained but not particularly impressed and I wanted to try it again and read it in its entirety.

  6. February 17, 2012 12:10 pm

    I tired the first in Nesmin’s trilogy and it wasn’t for me, but I’m not a fantasy reader. Enjoy your new books!

    • February 20, 2012 12:25 pm

      Yeah, I imagine for a non-fantasy reader Nesmin might be a bit difficult to get into. She throws a lot of world-building stuff at you right away! The pay off is good, though, in case you ever decide to give it a second shot. ;)

  7. February 17, 2012 12:28 pm

    I like all your books, especially the ones about Burma and the Caribbean.Enjoy your reading!

  8. February 17, 2012 12:28 pm

    We had to get an entirely new roof in the fall. That was fun times… All the noise and chaos. I am glad that is over with. Hopefully it goes a bit better for you.

    Enjoy your new loot! I really need to move on in Nesmin’s trilogy…

  9. February 17, 2012 1:50 pm

    Enjoy your books Eva. Hope your roof leak issue gets resolved soon so you can move back into your room and do your vlog again.

  10. February 17, 2012 3:06 pm

    No vlog, no vlog? I am playing catch up and there is no vlog? Hahaha, only joking, sorry about the leak, I had that happen and it ruined several books, I wasn’t happy as you can imagine.

    • February 20, 2012 12:26 pm

      Eek! Mine is just slowly melting the paint behind my reading chair, lol. No books have been damaged, knock on wood.

  11. February 18, 2012 4:27 pm

    I haven’t read THE SECRET HISTORY OF MOSCOW yet, but I had a wonderful time with Sedia’s most recent release, HEART OF IRON. Enjoy!

  12. February 18, 2012 5:38 pm

    I also love the film Miss Pettigrew Lives for a Day. The book is charming but different in several aspects (Delysia is not as insecure in the book, a change in dynamic which placed a little more emphasis on Miss Pettigrew’s blossoming),

  13. February 18, 2012 6:54 pm

    Looks like you found some good reads as usual :) I’ve been meaning to begin N.K. Jemisin’s trilogy for some time now…I’ve heard nothing but good things about it. I hope that you enjoy all of these!!

  14. February 19, 2012 6:38 am

    Thanks for the photo credit. Glad you could use the image.

    • February 20, 2012 12:27 pm

      I’m guessing you’re referring to the next post? Thanks so much for putting in creative commons: it’s a gorgeous photo. :)

Thank you for commenting! For a long while, my health precluded me replying to everyone. Yet I missed the conversation, so I'm now making an effort to reply again. It might take a few days though, and there will be times when I simply can't. Regardless, I always read and value what you say.

