Skip to content

A Quiet Sort of Heroism

February 11, 2012


photo credit

It’s a quiet sort of heroism, the making and keeping of books. You don’t get medals for sitting in the library each day, scratching away, writing it all down. Still less for dusting the shelves. But it is what civilisation is made of: the collective memory, passed on, passed down.

-Katherine Swift, The Morville Hours

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Terri B. permalink
    February 11, 2012 11:42 am

    A collective memory … One of the many things to love about books.

  2. February 11, 2012 4:55 pm

    Yes, the collective memory, “passed on, passed down.” I had forgotten to look at the books on the shelves towering beside me in this way. Now I can almost hear them buzzing… they’re having a conversation… all the things they’ve seen… the things they have to tell…

  3. February 11, 2012 5:42 pm

    Lovely quote. Especially for the book dusters! So true, as Julia says, I often feel as if I’ve just walked into a room where conversation has abruptly ceased when I enter the library :)

  4. February 12, 2012 12:01 pm

    What a beautiful passage!

  5. February 13, 2012 12:44 pm

    Lovely quote and photo of old books to go with it. As much as I have embraced my eReader for travel I can’t imagine my life or home without printed books.

Thank you for commenting! For a long while, my health precluded me replying to everyone. Yet I missed the conversation, so I'm now making an effort to reply again. It might take a few days though, and there will be times when I simply can't. Regardless, I always read and value what you say.

