Skip to content

A Library is a Good Place

February 4, 2012


photo credit

A library is a good place to go when you feel unhappy, for there, in a book, you may find encouragement and comfort. A library is a good place to go when you feel bewildered or undecided, for there, in a book, you may have your question answered. Books are good company, in sad times and happy times, for books are people – people who have managed to stay alive by hiding between the covers of a book.
-E.B. White

12 Comments leave one →
  1. February 4, 2012 8:30 am

    Thank you, Eva. I love it when you post bookish quotes.

  2. February 4, 2012 9:19 am

    LOVE this quote. Thanks!

  3. February 4, 2012 10:29 am

    So true! Love libraries, love books. Life would be poorer without them.

  4. February 4, 2012 4:35 pm

    What a lovely quote and sums up quite nicely how I feel about books!

  5. February 5, 2012 10:56 am

    I love libraries too – the only problem I have with them is that time tends to disappear much faster there. But what wonderful places they are – to be surrounded by so many wonderful friends, waiting patiently to be released from between the pages by our imagination . . .

  6. February 5, 2012 11:22 am

    Applause! :)

  7. February 5, 2012 4:47 pm

    Wow! I couldn’t have phrased it so well, and how true it is!

  8. February 5, 2012 5:21 pm

    Yes!

  9. February 6, 2012 4:15 pm

    great quote Eva ,all the best stu

  10. February 7, 2012 11:39 am

    I totally agree! And most librarians are quite wonderful too – they’re usually the first people I meet in a new community because that’s where I go..as the quote said. :)

  11. February 11, 2012 5:46 pm

    “books are people – people who have managed to stay alive by hiding between the covers of a book.”

    How I love this image! Thanks for once again finding a lovely quote to share.

  12. February 17, 2012 3:12 pm

    Couldnt have said it better myself. I am going to be reporting on a wonderful book called The Library Book in die course. Watch out for it, I think you would love it!

Thank you for commenting! For a long while, my health precluded me replying to everyone. Yet I missed the conversation, so I'm now making an effort to reply again. It might take a few days though, and there will be times when I simply can't. Regardless, I always read and value what you say.

