Skip to content

Library Loot: January 4th to 10th

January 6, 2012

Vlog


(P.S.: I recorded this only a couple of hours after my hair cut; since then I’ve played with it more, tried out mousse thanks to Priscilla, and I promise it looks better. Or my eyes are adjusting. Either way, it’s good news.)

Titles Mentioned

  • Castles Made of Sand by Andre Gerolymatos
  • A Rainbow in the Night by Dominique Lapierre, translated from French by Kathryn Spink
  • A New Time for Mexico by Carlos Fuentes, translated from the Spanish by Marina Gutman Castañeda & the author
  • Founding Mothers  by Cokie Roberts
  • The Ethics of Identity by Kwame Anthony Appiah
  • How Philosophy Can Save Your Life by Marietta McCarty
  • Shaming the Devil by Alan Jacobs
  • Dancing in the Dark by Barbara Ascher
  • Cart and Cwidder by Diana Wynne Jones
  • The Three Theban Plays by Sophocles, translated by Robert Fagles
  • The Left Hand of Darkness by Ursula K. Le Guin
  • The Conversations at Curlow Creek by David Malouf
  • Galore by Michael Crummey
  • Spies of the Balkans by Alan Furst
  • The Swan Thieves by Elizabeth Kostova

See more details in my LibraryThing collection.

21 Comments leave one →
  1. January 6, 2012 6:46 am

    You always have such interesting sounding books. I love it. My book group read the Cokie Roberts book, FOUNDING MOTHERS, a couple of years ago. It was well received, although it might be a little light for you. I think there is a sequel-ish one after it that I haven’t read. I want to try to read the Ursula LeGuin book this year. I really enjoy the movie, The Jane Austen Book Club, and that book is mentioned in it several times. Have a great time with your books, Eva.

  2. January 6, 2012 7:01 am

    Nope, haven’t read a single one. Was supposed to have read Left Hand of Darkness with Annie last year for school, but I never got to it. She enjoyed it, but didn’t go nuts over it. Anyway, I look forward to your reviews…even though I *know* it will mean major damage to my wish list. :P

  3. January 6, 2012 7:56 am

    What a wonderful loot you have this week! I would love to read most, if not all, of those books. Well, I must admit that somehow Kostova’s writing does not appeal to me. I’ve read The Historian and found it boring. I tried to read The Swan Thieves and did not get very far. :(
    Of all the books on your loot I have read some of the stories in The Left Hand of Darkness & really loved them. I’m probably going to read the whole book from start to finish for the Back to the Classics Challenge this year. It is a scifi classic & a Nebula winner. :) I have a feeling that you will love her take on gender in those stories, well, I hope you will! :)
    Now I’ll have to check, if my library has any of those nonfiction books you mention. I really should read more nonfiction.

    Have a great weekend! (We are enjoying a 3 day weekend here :))

  4. January 6, 2012 8:50 am

    The pixie cut is a big change but I actually think it looks cute! Maybe it’s because I so often have really short hair, but I think you’ll really come to love it once you’ve had a chance to play with it. It’s very chic!

  5. January 6, 2012 9:11 am

    I am glad you are liking it! Its always a shock to go so short–for your hair, too. (I worked as a receptionist in a hair salon during college, so that’s why I have all this…er, hair knowledge. Plus, I’ve been there.) I agree with Steph–the cut you chose is very chic and looks cute on you.

    The books–I have always meant to read The Left Hand of Darkness. LeGuin was the favorite of many of my professors when I was in school, but I never have gotten to her, so I can’t wait to hear your thoughts on that one.

  6. January 6, 2012 10:24 am

    Happy new year, Eva! Sorry I haven’t been by in a while – life has swamped me (or is that just a newborn? ;) ). Reading your blog has always been bad for my groaning shelves but I’m on a self-imposed book-buying ban this year (impending daycare costs, ouch), so it will be a testament of my self-discipline to visit, read, comment and not get my own copy! And then of course what do I see but your library loot post, which is just EVIL! ;)

    Oh I would have thought you’d already read The Left Hand of Darkness. I’ve read it twice, and it disappointed me both times. It’s very interesting, for sure, but it really highlights to me just how limited the human imagination can be, or how deeply ingrained our own understanding of things, especially society and culture, really is. Very interested to hear what you think of it.

    p.s. love the hair. Envy women who can carry off short hair like that. I never could.

  7. January 6, 2012 10:43 am

    Everybody is reading Left Hand of Darkness–maybe I should think about that sometime.

    I don’t know if I’ve lectured you on the Dalemark quartet yet. Cart and Cwidder is not my favorite one (I like all the others better), but it’s fine. It does not matter what order you read them in, as long as #4 comes last. Hope you like it!

  8. January 6, 2012 11:01 am

    I loved the Left Hand of Darkness. The Swan Thieves is on my tbr list. Too many good books, not enough time!

  9. January 6, 2012 12:13 pm

    Your hair looks adorable! Very cute. I’m interested to read your reviews on Cart and Cwidder (been meaning to have more Diana Wynne Jones in my life) and Dancing in the Dark (looks intriguing). By the way, I adore your Library Loot vlogs.

  10. January 6, 2012 12:59 pm

    I love your haircut! It’s so cute. I can’t wait to read your thoughts on Galore. It’s a book that I’ve picked up several times last year but never read. Happy reading!

  11. January 6, 2012 3:02 pm

    Your hair looks adorable. I enjoyed The Swan Thieves.

  12. January 6, 2012 3:14 pm

    yOUR HAIRDO LOOKS SO CUTE ON YOU.lOVE THE HAUL OF BOOKS.

  13. January 6, 2012 4:04 pm

    I really like the new hair do! I think it suits you!

    A New Time for Mexico is an interesting read-I’m curious to see what you think of it.

    Cart and Cwidder…and the whole Dalemark Quartet are what introduced me to Jones! I love the series, but I haven’t read them in ages!

  14. January 6, 2012 6:18 pm

    As usual, an interesting collection of books! Also, I think your haircut looks cute :)

  15. January 6, 2012 7:21 pm

    I like your hair and you’ll have fun with it as it grows out a little.
    Founding Mothers is the one that jumps out at me this week. My book group read Left Hand of Darkness a couple of years ago and it was a success. I love how Le Guin used her anthropology background to create such a compelling world.

  16. January 7, 2012 12:06 pm

    I love your haircut! Beautiful :)

    I also can’t wait to hear what you think about The Left Hand of Darkness. It is a very interesting read!

  17. January 7, 2012 12:27 pm

    Your hair looks very cute! I haven’t read any of these but Shaming the Devil sounds particularly fascinating. Enjoy!

  18. January 8, 2012 10:15 am

    The Left Hand of Darkness is a must for me and I’m so glad you have it in your grasp. One of my all time favourite SF books. :-) Of the others I think Shaming the Devil sounds fascinating. I read Reading in Age of Distraction last year too, but I fear that I was feeling a little bit peevish with my reading at the time and so didn’t enjoy it as much as I should have. It’s still on my Kindle though, and I think I’ll revisit it soon.

  19. January 9, 2012 10:39 am

    I love all your books and your haircut :)

    I wanted to get more non-fiction from the library too but didn’t find anything that interested me. I’m glad you found so many and happy that we’ll get to read the reviews :)

    I have A Rainbow in the Night too and I loved the previous book I read by Dominique Lapierre. So I’m excited for this one. I hope you review it if you get the chance to read it.

  20. January 10, 2012 3:06 pm

    *laughs* I thought I saw The Wolves of Willoughby Chase in there, but it wasn’t. At all. Still it all looks amazing!

  21. January 25, 2012 11:17 am

    Nice book-picture, Eva! Love the angle! Your new hairstyle looks nice! What happened to your red hair? :) I can’t believe that Penguin changed Robert Fagles to Robert Eagles! Nice to know that you are reading Ursula Le Guin’s ‘The Left Hand of Darkness’. Hope you like it. Have you read Virginia Woolf’s ‘Orlando’? In some ways I think both these books are similar. Enjoy reading your Library Loot! Happy Reading!

Thank you for commenting! For a long while, my health precluded me replying to everyone. Yet I missed the conversation, so I'm now making an effort to reply again. It might take a few days though, and there will be times when I simply can't. Regardless, I always read and value what you say.

