Skip to content

To Love As Widely and As Well

December 31, 2011


photo credit

“Everyone’s a critic,” the saying goes, and it’s true: we all make evaluative judgments on what we read. Even as small children we knew what we liked best, what we wanted read to us again and again, and what, conversely, we didn’t care to retrieve after a first encounter. Every nursery has its stock of good-as-new books and its (usually smaller) cache of books worn nearly to shreds by sheer love. Our goal as adults is not to love all books alike, or as few as possible, but rather to love as widely and as well as our limited selves will allow.

-Alan Jacobs, The Pleasures of Reading in an Age of Distraction

2 Comments leave one →
  1. December 31, 2011 8:11 am

    What a good thought for a new year!

  2. December 31, 2011 5:44 pm

    I like the phrase “worn nearly to shreds by sheer love”. I definitely had some books like that as a child, and still have a couple of them with me now. I love the sensation of being in love with the book I’m reading. It never gets old.

Thank you for commenting! For a long while, my health precluded me replying to everyone. Yet I missed the conversation, so I'm now making an effort to reply again. It might take a few days though, and there will be times when I simply can't. Regardless, I always read and value what you say.

