Skip to content

Yes, Virginia

December 24, 2011


photo credit

Yes, Virginia, there is a Santa Claus. He exists as certainly as love and generosity and devotion exist, and you know that they abound and give to your life its highest beauty and joy. Alas! how dreary would be the world if there were no Santa Claus. It would be as dreary as if there were no Virginias. There would be no childlike faith then, no poetry, no romance to make tolerable this existence. We should have no enjoyment, except in sense and sight. The eternal light with which childhood fills the world would be extinguished.

-Francis Pharcellus Church, The Sun

9 Comments leave one →
  1. December 24, 2011 6:14 am

    Eva, this picture is so precious. Thanks so much for sharing it! A very Merry Christmas to you. Looks like we may get a wet day tomorrow, but we’ll take the rain won’t we? Hope the rest of 2011 is wonderful for you and your family and I wish you the same for 2012. Hugs!

  2. elizabethannewrites permalink
    December 24, 2011 8:17 am

    I love this, I love reading it no matter how many times I’ve read it before. Thank you.

    All the best for the season, and throughout the coming year to you and yours.

  3. December 24, 2011 12:48 pm

    Such a wonderful photo…especially with the added sentiment :) Have a wonderful Christmas!

  4. December 24, 2011 4:00 pm

    I do love this letter, although I don’t think I’ve read it for some years. Thank you for sharing and Merry Christmas!

  5. December 24, 2011 4:14 pm

    Have a lovely Holiday, Eva–hope it’s filled with family and many good books!

  6. December 24, 2011 5:24 pm

    Have a wonderful Christmas.

  7. December 24, 2011 8:14 pm

    I got this (in child’s picture book form) from the library last week – a wonderful tale :)

    Merry Christmas!

  8. December 25, 2011 11:22 am

    Merry Christmas, Eva! :)

  9. December 27, 2011 6:39 pm

    I love this letter; it makes me feel sappy every time I read it :) I found a lovely image of the original letter in Virginia’s handwriting that I posted last Christmas, if you’re interested — http://fourrooms.ca/2010/12/yes-virginia-there-is-a-santa-claus/

Thank you for commenting! For a long while, my health precluded me replying to everyone. Yet I missed the conversation, so I'm now making an effort to reply again. It might take a few days though, and there will be times when I simply can't. Regardless, I always read and value what you say.

